We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Perfect location, wonderful apartment, and...”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property
MODERN LOFT IN THE JORDAAN
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
MODERN LOFT IN THE JORDAAN
dining / kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
30 reviews
MODERN LOFT IN THE JORDAAN
dining / kitchen
living area
tv
bedroom
bedroom
guest
The building
Luxury sofa bed
Luxury sofa bed
our rabbits
Bathroom
shower / bath tab
Detail
9 streets at the corner
The neighborhood
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marin1227
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Little gem in the Jordaan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Perfect apartment to enjoy Amsterdam from. The location couldn't have been better, close to everything but on a quit non-touristy, residential street. Great little casual restaurants, grocery store, and boutiques where all close. Walking distance to many of the main sights, easy and quick transportation to the many more. Just a few blocks from the de 9 Straatjes (the 9 streets), Anne Frank House, dam square.

The apartment is a small one bedroom perfect for a couple or small family. It is on the 2nd floor (3rd to Americans), is modern and quit. The apartment is appointed simply and very comfortable. The stairs up to the apartment are steep but not anything out of the ordinary for Amsterdam. We found them easy enough, as did our 3 and 5 year old. The main bed was comfortable, the futon was less so, fine for the kids. The bathroom has a shower stall and separate large bathtub. The kitchen was typical of a rental, the necessities all present but less than what you find in your own kitchen.

Smadar was a very gracious host. She was waiting for us when we arrived and check in a few days later to make sure everything was as expected. She was very helpful and courteous. All fees where clearly stated before we even agreed to the rental and transactions where easy.

I would highly recommend the apartment to a couple or family with one/two small children.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York Mills, New York
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 for a stay in April 2014
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jennifer...
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Disappointing and overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

My wife and I booked and paid for this (advertised as 4 person) apartment months in advance. A few weeks before we arrived 2 of our children found they were free to join us. We advised the owners and were told a extra fee of 35 euro per person per night was required. We would have lost our full payment if we cancelled so we agreed to pay an extra 350 euro. We believe this is false advertising. The apartment was very poor and very select photography was used in advertising. As it was approaching summer it was hot and stuffy inside but when you opened one of the front glass doors the street noise was deafening till at least 3 am and you were attacked by mosquitoes. It was recommended we use the laundromat down the road instead of the apartments washing machine. The iron was cracked and broken. On the positive side the apartment is in a good location. If you are slightly impaired you won't make it up the tiny steep stairs and if you want a good nights sleep don't go there.

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 2 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 3 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
1 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Requiring extra money for our children
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2014
We would like to clarify a few points:

a. The guest made the booking for 2 people a few months before his arrival. About 2 months before arrival he asked if his two adult daughters could join them for five nights. We told him explicitly that the apartment has only one bedroom, that there is an additional charge for an extra guest (and in this case at a lower price than it is mentioned on the website) We have also offered him another place in town. He wanted to stay in this apartment and agreed to the additional amount of 35 euro a person . We even offered an extra bed for one of his daughters so they would not have sleep together in one bed. During the check in he saw the situation and didn’t showed any dissatisfaction what so ever.
b. The guest made the booking through Flipkey. We are not aware of any penalty for canceling. For our part, we never have asked for a penalty.
c. The complaint about mosquitoes during the summer in Amsterdam on the canal area or street noise (especially during the World Cup) has nothing to do with the apartment, but with the situation at that time. The Hazenstraat is absolutely not a busy noisy street and the mosquitoes are not specific to this apartment. If you want to avoid street noise or don’t want open windows, you should to go to a hotel near the highway and not in the old center of Amsterdam.
d. Out of kindness, we suggested that the launderette on the corner of the street the same day washes and dries: because there is no dryer in the apartment (which was mentioned on the site).
The apartment was cleaned and the towels were changed during their stay. We do not want slander, but this family was not exactly clean, and they have “redecorated” the whole apartment by moving furniture (including the TV from its stand on a high table). Our apartment is known as spotless clean, but not durin their stay.
e. It seems that this guest is performing a personal vendetta because if you really want, you can criticize the hotel room in the upscale “Pulitzer” too (and we ask ourselves: what else do you want from an iron?). We understand that someone might be disappointed, but from disappointment to "do not go there" is a personal retribution (the fact that their daughters didn’t stay for free), and we find it completely unjustified. Until now we only had very positive comments from our guests. It can not be that the apartment is so bad as reviewed and that the previous guests never noticed it?
Therefore we ask our future guests to neglact this action revenge and give us the ability to continue hosting grateful and happy people as we always did
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna B
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect apartment in great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Delightful to be met with keys, information, wine, fruit, wine and chocolates by the owner. The area of Jordaan is very central, lively and full of Art galleries and excellent restaurants. A walk along beautiful canals to all the major Museums and Galleries.
The apartment lacks nothing we could have needed. Good supermarkets, shops and patisseries for breakfast around every corner. The refurbished Rijksmuseum is unmissable. The apartment is highly recommended.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna B
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect apartment in great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Delightful to be met with keys, information,wine,fruit and chocolate by the owner. The area of Jordaan is fantastic. Lively, young, full of Galleries and excellent restaurants. You can walk along beautiful canals to all the major Galleries and Museums, so very central. The apartment lacks nothing we could have possibly needed. Good supermarkets and patisseries for breakfast. The refurbished Rijksmuseum is unmissable plus has wonderful cafe. Highly recommended.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Loved it all
Liked least: nothing we did not like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale1948
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely comfortable apartment in great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a wonderful time. The apartment is really quiet, warm, and clean and has absolutely everything you need. It is light and airy and the bed is very comfortable too. Martin met us at the apartment and showed us how everything worked. He also left presents of wine, chocolate and oranges to make us feel welcome. We really appreciated being able to leave our bags in the apartment on the last day, as our flight was in the late afternoon.The apartment is about 20 metres from a canal, and the area of Jordaan is lovely to explore. It is a very safe area and has lots of little shops and restaurants within two minutes walk of the apartment. It is within easy walking distance of the museums and centre. We hired bikes for one day, from a place just up the road too. We loved this apartment and hope to return soon. Thank you Martin and Smadar for a memorable stay.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: the quiet and comfortable apartment and the great location
Liked least: there was nothing we did not like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$163
/ Night
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Make Enquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an enquiry to the owner using the above make enquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Payment Protection
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing