We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
City Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mauro Mansion(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Botel Zebra(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (654)
Filter reviews
654 results
Traveller rating
116
254
193
50
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
116
254
193
50
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationsuperior double roomthe red light districtdam squarecontinental breakfastfirst floorwet roomboiled eggssteep stairsperfect locationminute walkwalking distancedecent sizewould stay againstayed for nightshotel roomyour luggage
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
281 - 286 of 654 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 October 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Great location for a trip to Amsterdam, but the rooms are very cold and loud as there are cars driving by all night. The breakfast is also very bland and boring, just something eat, nothing to look forward to. Unlike most hotels that don't have enough warm water, this hotel doesn't have enough cold water. Once while showering the cold water stopped completely and I was burned with boiling water. very friendly staff. Its an ok place to stay, no great shakes.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank todd r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 September 2012

The location is great, just a few minutes' walk to Centraal Station.

The staff was cheerful and helpful. A short time before our trip, we called and asked [because there were 4 of us] if we could change our reservation from two double rooms to one quad. Although it saved us quite a bit, they thanked US, saying it freed up those rooms for two other parties. Also, when my 80-ish parents arrived [a few hours before we did], the staff kindly carried their bags up to the room.

Our room was simple but clean. Yes, the rooms are not large and the stairs are steep, but hey, it's in densely-populated Amsterdam, not on the wide-open plains of West Texas.

Despite what a few others have written, I thought the breakfast was perfectly adequate. As a small family-run establishment in Europe, I wouldn't expect them to serve a large American/British style breakfast. If I want that, I could always stay some place like the Hotel Intercontinental. (Of course, at 5 times the price!)

Room Tip: Our room was in the back and pretty quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews