We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most comfortable beds!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #163 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Just returned from a long weekend staying at this hotel. It's in a good location, very close to the central train station (come out and go left) and very close to all the must see places.
The hotel staff are very helpful and polite which is very important.
The breakfast is continental, basically bread, ham and cheese not my cup of tea so gave it a miss the next morning.
I have to say the beds are amazing, lovely foam mattresses and good quality bedding.
Just one thing - please be aware that if you are on the 1st floor up you are in for a very scary staircase that gets steeper the higher you go so not good for older people or asthmatics etc.
I would recommend this hotel purely on the lovely staff, its good location and great nights sleep.Enjoy!

Room Tip: Go for a low floor if you hate steep stairs. And if you expect a double make sure you ask at recepti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (625)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 625 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2013

We were unsure about City Hotel after reading some negative comments but found it to be more than acceptable. There is no lift so carrying suitcases up two tiny, curvy flights was difficult but the room was worth it. Very clean, nice view out the front and a window that opened wide. All of the staff were friendly, competent and extremely helpful. Breakfast was not quite what I expected since we have just spent two weeks in Scotland and England but was good. The hotel is minutes from Central Station. Overall a hotel worth recommending.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

i come here every two or three months when I need to get away for a few days .
You get what you pay for , it's not about the luxury , but location and staff , and the possibility to come here with your partner or with (many) friends .

Staff are very friendly , and as said , the location is great ( rembrandtplein) not far from red light district and many , many pubs and restaurants

bacis , comfortable rooms , enjoy !

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Just came back from a 3 day trip to amsterdam where i stayed at this hotel and found it fitted in with my plans perfectly. When booking this hotel they said it was a small room up front so i was not expecting a lot as it only cost 70 euro per night so i was surprised when i stayed how comfy the bed was and the shower and bathroom were so clean and it had a small wardrobe and dressing table what more do you want for the money. Also the price included cont breakfast which meant i could have coffee in the morning. While they i needed to travel to other parts of holland on day trips and the reception staff were brilliant even printing out timetables and giving tips and it is about a 5 minute walk to the train station.The hotel also has a bar but on the negitive side could do with a lick of paint around the place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bill w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

You all made us feel at home. Always with clear information and assistance whenever necessary. The room we had should have sound proof windows due to the noise from the street. Thanks and hope to see you soon!


  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Rui S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Five of us booked to stay in the City Hotel and found it to be exactly what we paid for. No frills, but no fuss either. Centrally located, easy going staff and a place to crash. Nothing special, but no massive complaints either. Oh, don't buy the crisps when you're drunk. They're expensive.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Reception staff very helpful, some buiding work going on when we were there but very little disruption and handled well by staff. Room small but not a problem bed extremely comfortable good continental breakfast, would return next time in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Trevor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Library Amsterdam
Hotel Library Amsterdam
#201 of 375 in Amsterdam
266 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#118 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,262 reviews
Centrum
Fine Seasons Hotel
Fine Seasons Hotel
#202 of 375 in Amsterdam
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#178 of 375 in Amsterdam
964 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Cafe Corner House
Hotel Cafe Corner House
#160 of 375 in Amsterdam
436 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
#217 of 375 in Amsterdam
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 130, 1011 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £89 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your City Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing