We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bachelor Group Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #174 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Excellent hotel in a perfect location. The apartments for 6 people are a dream. The hotel staff very helpful and always cheerful. We were super-added despite our size group of nearly 30 people and will certainly come back again. For us this is the only hotel in Amsterdam for the future.
Especially I want to thanks Mrs. Ghazal for everything.

Greetings from Germany (S. Kokal)

Room Tip: Apartments for 6 people ( Amazing)
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SerKok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (591)
There are newer reviews for City Hotel Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 591 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2013

I was once told that if I couldn't say anything nice, then I shouldn't say anything at all, but I will try..Staff were friendly on arrival - plus point there. Our room (B13) billed as a Superior Double by the booking agent was, in my opinion, anything but... The double bed was in fact 2 singles held together by a double sheet, leaving a ridge down the middle and of course, moving further apart during the night.Here is something I never thought I would say about hotel beds in general - it was too soft! Yes, you heard me - too soft to the point where you were almost sinking making it a very uncomfortable night! I expect beds to be, on the whole, quite hard and consider myself lucky to get a softer mattress, but this was too far the other way on the scale.Some people like soft beds, but this was crazy! Two cleaning issues were put right immediately by an obviously overworked chambermaid, so well done to her. They have been renovating the place and you can see that they are doing so, but attention to detail is essential; one of the light fittings fell out when we tried to adjust it, and lino tiles that are coming away from the internal stairs: oh yes, those.. it is totally suicidal to try to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night as it is at the top of 3 steps and in the dark you face the real possibility of falling down them and doing serious damage to yourself!! So you have to switch a light on (or take a torch) and, inevitably, waking your partner too. Next grumble: to make this a double room, one side of the bed is crammed right up against the outside wall making it impossible to get into bed, so no bed-side table for your glasses, water, etc. You have two options for getting into bed - 1: make sure you are the 1st one in (but you still have to clamber over the aforementioned gap between mattresses) or 2: clamber up from the end of the bed, do a 3 point turn and get under the duvet. At almost 60 (yes, I will admit that) and with 'dodgy' knees I am not impressed with this.There were spots of paint missing on the wall the other side due, I am sure , to people trying to get into bed, as the space between bed and wall was very very narrow, too. Nearly done... The only source of fresh air was a door that led to the outside (a concrete yard with a high wall, yep that was our 'view' of Amsterdam) it is not the most secure way to get some air. I read one view recently that mentioned having a window they could open - lucky them... Yes, I am aware that we could have asked to be moved, but it was only one night and it was very busy. Other plusses I have thought of: it is only a 10 minute stroll to the station and breakfast was okay in a very nice, bright room where you could overlook the water. Oh yes - another plus: it was the nicest bathroom we have had since we first started visiting Amsterdam!!

In my opinion they could have made better use of the room by making it a large single room so at least you can get into bed in one simple move, not clambering into bed like a 6 year old! I am sure that there must be nicer rooms, but just not B13...

Apologies for such a negative review - I always try to give a balanced insight, but this time with a cost of 100Euros for the night for 2 including city tax, it was impossible to do so.

Room Tip: try to get a room on floor A as you have a chance to get a view that is better than a walled concret...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trotty73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Just returned from a long weekend staying at this hotel. It's in a good location, very close to the central train station (come out and go left) and very close to all the must see places.
The hotel staff are very helpful and polite which is very important.
The breakfast is continental, basically bread, ham and cheese not my cup of tea so gave it a miss the next morning.
I have to say the beds are amazing, lovely foam mattresses and good quality bedding.
Just one thing - please be aware that if you are on the 1st floor up you are in for a very scary staircase that gets steeper the higher you go so not good for older people or asthmatics etc.
I would recommend this hotel purely on the lovely staff, its good location and great nights sleep.Enjoy!

Room Tip: Go for a low floor if you hate steep stairs. And if you expect a double make sure you ask at recepti...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We were unsure about City Hotel after reading some negative comments but found it to be more than acceptable. There is no lift so carrying suitcases up two tiny, curvy flights was difficult but the room was worth it. Very clean, nice view out the front and a window that opened wide. All of the staff were friendly, competent and extremely helpful. Breakfast was not quite what I expected since we have just spent two weeks in Scotland and England but was good. The hotel is minutes from Central Station. Overall a hotel worth recommending.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

i come here every two or three months when I need to get away for a few days .
You get what you pay for , it's not about the luxury , but location and staff , and the possibility to come here with your partner or with (many) friends .

Staff are very friendly , and as said , the location is great ( rembrandtplein) not far from red light district and many , many pubs and restaurants

bacis , comfortable rooms , enjoy !

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Just came back from a 3 day trip to amsterdam where i stayed at this hotel and found it fitted in with my plans perfectly. When booking this hotel they said it was a small room up front so i was not expecting a lot as it only cost 70 euro per night so i was surprised when i stayed how comfy the bed was and the shower and bathroom were so clean and it had a small wardrobe and dressing table what more do you want for the money. Also the price included cont breakfast which meant i could have coffee in the morning. While they i needed to travel to other parts of holland on day trips and the reception staff were brilliant even printing out timetables and giving tips and it is about a 5 minute walk to the train station.The hotel also has a bar but on the negitive side could do with a lick of paint around the place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bill w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

You all made us feel at home. Always with clear information and assistance whenever necessary. The room we had should have sound proof windows due to the noise from the street. Thanks and hope to see you soon!


  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Rui S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Fine Seasons Hotel
Fine Seasons Hotel
#191 of 371 in Amsterdam
208 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Library Amsterdam
Hotel Library Amsterdam
#202 of 371 in Amsterdam
243 reviews
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#171 of 371 in Amsterdam
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#56 of 371 in Amsterdam
947 reviews
Centrum
Avenue Hotel
Avenue Hotel
#172 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,533 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
#204 of 371 in Amsterdam
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 130, 1011 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £86 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your City Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing