We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An all right place for a reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
City Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #171 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Freetown, Sierra Leone
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“An all right place for a reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Very good location close to the train station, all places interest within easy walking distance. Room was small, but had all basic amenities (well, it could use a shelf for the toiletries). Breakfast was all right – boiled eggs, all you need to make sandwiches, cereals, fruit salad. Staff very helpful. Tours available at a discount, or at least you get to skip the ticket line.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inga_K_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    209
    169
    44
    38
See reviews for
61
230
57
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

I recently stayed at the hotel for 2 nights with my hen party of 23 girls, its in a perfect location within walking distance of central station, Dam Square and RLD. Rooms were cleaned everyday and breakfast though not a huge selection was still fresh and tasty. Due to numbers we were split over various rooms including the apartments (sleep 6 though our rooms were messed up therefore did sleep 7) which were excellent, would highly recommend if you are in a big party as very spacious even with 7 beds and equipped with 2 bathrooms and kitchen area. Lobby/bar area and breakfast area aren't overly large but enough for a meeting point before heading out to see the sights. All staff were friendly and helpful, I do not believe we had any complaints against us for noise. The hotel has no lifts though this did not cause any problems for us but to note if you do have difficulty with stairs to ensure you request a low level room.
If you are visiting Amsterdam in a large party (hen/stag) weekend I would highly recommend hiring a beer bike and an organised bar crawl, this helped kick start the day and also take you to bars which you may not necessarily find on your travels, in a city you can sometimes wonder for hours looking for fun places to go
I would also recommend taking a hotel business card (on reception desk) to show taxi drivers the address as they kept telling us there were many 'city hotels'
Would definitely return to this city and use this hotel thank you for your hospitality

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loubank82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergele, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. The staff are lovely,the room was clean but very small, it does have very comfortable beds and pillows. and we slept really well. We had no window just a skylight which was a disappointment as booked this room ages ago and was hoping for a canal view.
The décor is in need of a repaint in our room of 302, lots of chipped walls, there is a wet room with an excellent shower but we were subjected to the most horrendous smell from the sink or shower, we informed the staff but it didn't really improve. Thankfully we were out most of the time. We went armed with a kettle so lots of cups of tea possible. :)
The stairs are not for the faint hearted, the lift goes to floor 2 only, so a battle with the cases up to the top floor. It seems all old Amsterdam buildings have similar staircases, would be a hazard for the elderly or with young children.
Breakfast was fine, rolls, ham, cheese, cereal, I would recommend the tea cakes, downside, you can't toast them.
Central location for exploring, you will need a map.
We booked 2 excursions before travelling with Viator, we went on the city sightseeing tour which was really interesting then on a river cruise pm, you can go on the cruise whatever time suits you, which I liked.
We went on a walking tour of the red light district for safety reasons, it was crowded and a sight to be seen! (booked this when arrived, would have been cheaper if booked prior to travel)
The final tour was a 10hr which on reflection was exhausting.
Am was Keukenhof gardens, a must see with 3 hrs to wander around, a truly lovely place, but don't buy the tulips, they are much cheaper on the Flower Market on the Singal canal.
Then off to Zaanse Schans windmills which were nice, again pricy gift shops, cheaper on the Damrak road in Amsterdam city centre, same items.
Further trip to Marken to watch clogs being made (by this time in need of a cuppa), then a boat ride to Volendam, time for a quick tea, then to a cheese factory and finally back to Amsterdam.
On hindsight would have split the days, but pushed for time, and also cheaper to do as one trip.
Damrak is the main street with many shops, advanced warning crossing roads is a death wish due to the volume of bikes, a truly crazy place.
Great city to visit, walked many miles over many canals, transport system excellent from the airport to the city would recommend. Lots of drugs in the air as expected but cafes clearly marked so can avoid.
The Dutch people we met were very nice and they speak excellent English, a very enjoyable trip :)

Room Tip: Ask for a window view, only go on the 3rd floor if fully fit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MazzaH2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We had one of the top floor rooms which sleeps 4, had a great view outside and large kitchen area (although we didnt use it). The beds were so comfy! There was so much room in the main area- they could have made the bathroom bigger and added a tub.

Walking distance to all the main areas. Staff were friendly and helpful, we were allowed to leave suitcases until our flight later on in the evening.

Breakfast was nice, pretty standard. cereals, cold meats and cheese and fruit.

The only complaint i have is the steep stairs esp when youre on the top floor!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aliceangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We booked a triple room for us and our 13 month old and 7 yr old. We booked it through a 3rd party website who said it had a travel cot. They didn't but as we had gone non-refundable we couldn't cancel it. After some complaining about misleading info and my hubby getting a bit shirty with both the hotel and the booking agent, the hotel gave us an upgrade to a 6bed apartment but we had to bring our own travel cot.
The staff were friendly and we could leave our buggy downstairs rather than carrying it up the stairs each time. The room was huge! It had 4 single beds and still had loads of room. We also had a separate double bedroom. The bathroom was small and didn't have a bath, but this wasn't too much of a problem. There was a kitchenette with fridge which was great.
The breakfast was fine, meats, cheeses, some cereals, bread and most importantly according to my eldest, Nutella (or something similar).
We would probably return to that room but not a smaller one, if we could afford it.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Fine Seasons Hotel
Fine Seasons Hotel
#179 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Library Amsterdam
Hotel Library Amsterdam
#187 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
#189 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#67 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Prins Hendrik
Hotel Prins Hendrik
#182 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#117 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Amsterdam

Property: City Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 130, 1011 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your City Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing