We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay, couple of issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #159 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

First off the hotel is in a great location. Close to amsterdam centraal and within walking distance of most things. To start with their is a tiny elevator that doesn't go to the top floor and only has room for one person. We were located on the 3rd floor and without warning had to climb 3 extremely steep staircases with 20kg suitcases. Beware that these stairs are not recommended for elderly people (which they do not tell you) and those who have bad legs and backs. We got to our room to find that it was incredibly small and squashed together you basically had to close one door to get into another. After looking around we found rubbish left in the cupboards that hadn't been cleaned up before we arrived. On the first night at 11pm when plugging a phone charger in, it caused a spark in the room and all the power went out in the whole hotel. The power was then fixed for the rest of the hotel but our room, after figuring out how to get ours back on, we tried plugging in the charger again (having been slightly re-assured that it shouldn't happen again) it did. Same scenario. We were then told there were no other rooms in the hotel for us to move in to, but after checking on the computer we were assured we would move to an upgraded room for the next 2 nights. (The rest of our stay). All & all this hotel is in a good location, with friendly staff. The main thing I would stress is the stairs, they are incredibly windy & steep. A big thank you to 
Max for helping us out with the power situation and managing the whole issue very professionally. (Max made sure the power for the other guests was fixed ASAP).

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ant3420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 632 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

Rooms are newly done hence the bathroom as well as the room furnishing is fine and the size is also okay. Reception is managed efficiently 24 hrs. The main problem was we had to climb up two floors with the luggage while the stairs were narrow and steep.

The room did not have any view, windows opened into a narrow courtyard.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Divyat18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This hotel is within walking distance to the train and Metro stations. We had a flight of stairs to walk up because of where our room was located but that was ok. They do have an elevator. The breakfast had variety with some protein: cheese, two kinds of meat, and hard boiled eggs. The desk is manned for 24 hours a day.They were very attentive and most helpful. Wifi was available only in the main public areas. It was free and worked fine. It was on a very busy street but our room was in the back and so the noise did not bother us at all. I loved that this room had tons of plug in and they were in great locations. We have found this a problem in older hotels in Europe.I was pleased with my stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madge464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank babajimi s
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Apparently it is a very busy time in Amsterdam right now. My recent college grad daughter and friends are travelling through Europe and had difficulty booking a room in Amsterdam. She had no idea how busy a time it is right now! But City Hotel Amsterdam responded to her request for a room but indicated upfront it would be in the basement. The girls were fine with that and appreciated the heads up. It was literally the last room in Amsterdam. They were very happy and booked their flights in and out accordingly. However, the day before they were leaving for Europe they got an email cancelling the reservation. (have literally never had a hotel cancel on me!) If there were alternatives to be had easily, this wouldn't have been a big deal, but we already knew from weeks prior how difficult it was to find a room... we were looking at hostels, hotels, vrbo, apartments and we had 3 different travel agents looking for anything under $200/night- which is a lot compared to what they are paying on the rest of their travels... The hotel tried to be a little helpful but didn't quite feel it was their obligation to find them comparable accommodations. When a nicer room became available for a higher price, they actually wanted to charge us the higher price which I found outrageous. They were the ones that were completely cancelling on us, leaving us in a big bind. I felt they should have done more to help us out and certainly if a room became available, not charge us more!! It was only for the 2 of 3 nights needed so it wasn't helpful and caused us to spend the entire day before they were leaving again on the phone, on the computer looking for a room. It was very stressful as the girls were not going to be able to easily work on this while they were travelling and needed to know that they had a place before they got to Amsterdam. To cancel and change their flights etc would have been costly. Fortunately, they found an apartment that was comparably priced that worked out perfectly. In fairness, I have to say that the next day we did get an email saying a triple opened up. By then, they were on the plane and had spent an anxious 12 hours on the phone/computer trying to secure another place to stay. Needless to say, they did not choose to stay at this hotel. Even other hotels in Amsterdam felt they should have done more to accommodate them if the room really wasn't available as promised. The call should have been... we are sorry to cancel, but we have secured you reservations at this comparable or nicer place nearby.... Fortunately all turned out well, the apartment on the canal was fabulous and they had a great time in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank LJucha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Very good location close to the train station, all places interest within easy walking distance. Room was small, but had all basic amenities (well, it could use a shelf for the toiletries). Breakfast was all right – boiled eggs, all you need to make sandwiches, cereals, fruit salad. Staff very helpful. Tours available at a discount, or at least you get to skip the ticket line.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inga_K_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I recently stayed at the hotel for 2 nights with my hen party of 23 girls, its in a perfect location within walking distance of central station, Dam Square and RLD. Rooms were cleaned everyday and breakfast though not a huge selection was still fresh and tasty. Due to numbers we were split over various rooms including the apartments (sleep 6 though our rooms were messed up therefore did sleep 7) which were excellent, would highly recommend if you are in a big party as very spacious even with 7 beds and equipped with 2 bathrooms and kitchen area. Lobby/bar area and breakfast area aren't overly large but enough for a meeting point before heading out to see the sights. All staff were friendly and helpful, I do not believe we had any complaints against us for noise. The hotel has no lifts though this did not cause any problems for us but to note if you do have difficulty with stairs to ensure you request a low level room.
If you are visiting Amsterdam in a large party (hen/stag) weekend I would highly recommend hiring a beer bike and an organised bar crawl, this helped kick start the day and also take you to bars which you may not necessarily find on your travels, in a city you can sometimes wonder for hours looking for fun places to go
I would also recommend taking a hotel business card (on reception desk) to show taxi drivers the address as they kept telling us there were many 'city hotels'
Would definitely return to this city and use this hotel thank you for your hospitality

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loubank82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Library Amsterdam
Hotel Library Amsterdam
#196 of 376 in Amsterdam
276 reviews
Centrum
Fine Seasons Hotel
Fine Seasons Hotel
#195 of 376 in Amsterdam
235 reviews
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#176 of 376 in Amsterdam
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#56 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,004 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
#216 of 376 in Amsterdam
278 reviews
Centrum
Avenue Hotel
Avenue Hotel
#163 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 130, 1011 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £94 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your City Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing