We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Out. Of. This. World.”
other travellers have booked this property
Monument 1740s bell gable house overlooking the famous Prinsengracht
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Monument 1740s bell gable house overlooking the famous Prinsengracht
Cosy ambience in the evenings Old features provide plenty of character, blending in with beautiful artwork
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Monument 1740s bell gable house overlooking the famous Prinsengracht
Cosy ambience in the evenings
Old features provide plenty of character, blending in with beautiful artwork
Kitchen opens to large dining table
Feature window allows you to sit and gaze out at canal life
Charming historic staircase;
Top of the range Jura coffee machine makes amazing coffee
Spacious chef's kitchen - fully equipped
Patio provides beautiful backdrop to upstairs living.  Laundry also opens to patio.
Relax reading or watching TV in front of a warm cosy fire
Snug couch in 2nd living room to watch TV
Main Living Room on first floor, with library of books
2 Living Rooms on first floor
View from the Amsterdam desk - cyclist passes by along the canal
Living Room - desk overlooking Pulitzer Hotel
Master Bathroom - bath and separate shower
Master Bathroom
The Master Bedroom, with walk in robe area
The Master Bedroom with TV (with walk in robe area)
2nd Bathroom / toilet (next to bedrooms)
The Queen Bedroom - 2nd bedroom can be 2 x king singles or joined for large double bed for couples
Laundry Facilities
The Building - angled towards the canal, window boxes featuring seasonal flowers
Entrance
View of canal from entrance - what a picture perfect way to leave the house each day!
Canal area surrounding New Holland House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
pacaldwel...
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“Out. Of. This. World.”
Reviewed 14 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

No words can do this gem justice. Stunning, fabulous location, so comfortable after busy days, but equally enjoyable just staying in.

Truly sublime

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NFNoel
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best rental yet!”
Reviewed 27 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is a thoughtfully renovated charmer! The kitchen has everything you need to cook a big dinner, if you choose. The furnishings are comfy and cozy. Though renovated, the basics of an old Dutch home have been maintained, including the steep staircases. With small children, I'd ask for a few safety gates to be made available. The location is perfect - we walk a lot, but public transportation is a block away. The Nines are nearby for fun shopping. We found the beds to be comfortable and the whole house was immaculately clean. Rental perfection with a view of a beautiful Dutch canal!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Dec 2016
We are glad you loved the experience - and yes, guest with small children can request the portable stair gate to be in place (we keep this off for adult guests).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaudH_12
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Charming House in Great Location for Tourists”
Reviewed 22 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The owners had done an excellent job in restoring this old house. Not easy! I have first hand experience. It was lovely to have an open kitchen with an adjoining large table, where non working bees could sit and chat.

The location was excellent. As it happened I had stayed practically across the street at a hotel for 5 days, and had gotten to know parts of the neighborhood before my family arrived. Some great restaurants, but also some overly touristy crap places, etc. Yes, I would love to return to this neighborhood.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FiP123
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful canal house in central location”
Reviewed 26 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

New Holland House lived up to every expectation - we stayed for 3 nights with our 3 children aged 9,11,13 . The house is beautifully renovated and very comfortable. It was very clean and extremely well equipped. It does have steep stairs so may not be suitable for very young children. The location was perfect as we could walk everywhere and found the flexibility of being able to self cater made a big difference with the children . There is a supermarket and a tram stop just round the corner . I would definitely recommend this property it is a real gem and hope we can stay again when we return to Amsterdam .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tmatteo
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay in Amsterdam”
Reviewed 8 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I was visiting Amsterdam with my sister and our two 19 yr old daughters. It was the most beautiful place in a great location. We were within walking distance of everything. I cannot say enough about how great this canal house is. I would definitely stay here again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myra P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Amsterdam Experience!”
Reviewed 22 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My family of 4 (husband and two girls, ages 20 and 16) stayed at the New Holland House for 6 fantastic days! The home was fabulous with every detail thought through, along with instructions for everything from how to use the cool Jira coffee machine to how to start the fireplace! Hardwood floors throughout, comfortable seating places for everyone, beds were fantastic. Lovely outdoor garden area on the second floor for having coffee or breakfast. Used the bikes to go around on the last day. Walked everywhere! Just a couple of blocks from the Anne Frank House. We had the pleasure of being shown the house by the owner, Mark, who was staying in the apartment below at the same time. He was a terrific host!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The proximity to everything!
Liked least: The bell from Westerkerk was a little loud but we got used it it after a couple of days!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Reviewed 25 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing