We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Italian Meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Classico

Restaurant Classico
Reserve with
Restaurant Classico is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #610 of 3,729 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Description: Restaurant Classico is nestled between the narrow, little streets of South Amsterdam, boasting authentic Italian cuisine, fine wines and a romantic atmosphere. Our welcoming and cozy restaurant invites all guests to delve into a delicious pear and asparagus salad or spinach and cheese ravioli before heading out for a day of sightseeing in the city. We are located conveniently close to the wonderful Vondelpark and we are just steps away from the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh Museum. Gather your friends and family together before an exciting concert and meet-up at Restaurant Classico, to be greeted and pampered by our friendly and attentive staff. Our place is also suited for organizing small events for groups. The relaxed atmosphere, the variety of dishes (including vegetarian meals and smaller portions for children) and the quick service will surely have you coming back for more! They say that eating outdoors is part of the Amsterdam experience! The good news is you can do that at our restaurant whilst doing some people watching, eating mouthwatering Italian food and drinking a fine bottle of Valpolicella Classico, all at the same time!
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

After 8 days on a Bike and Barge Tour (it was great BTW), my wife and I were looking for a change of pace - something intimate, with a friendly atmosphere and great food. Classico was recommended and certainly delivered. I highly recommend this restaurant, and will return when next in Amsterdam.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    58
    18
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Andorra la Vella, Andorra
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

I am sure the food is very good but our meal was ruined by the incredibly slow service- one hour for our pasta to appear. The waiter seemed to think this unexceptional.

Helpful?
Thank 204Noggin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denham Springs, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Prego! Best Italian Food Found in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

This quaint, romantic restaurant was the greatest find during our stay in Amsterdam. The staff was wonderful and the food was delicious! From the fresh tomato in the bruschetta to the wine, we totally enjoyed the experience. It was within walking distance to our hotel and was reasonably priced. We enjoyed the outside dining experience on our first visit while eating the 3 course meal. Our second visit was on our last night in town where we enjoyed magnificent ravioli. A definite must for anyone visiting the area! Thank you to the staff for the dining experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
79 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best Italian Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

On our first night in Amsterdam we found this restaurant just across the road from where we were saying; as there were not many people inside and I hadn’t checked it out on Trip Advisor we carried on to another restaurant. After checking it out we went the next night and it was one of the best Italian meals we have ever had. Starter melanzane, an aubergines bake with 3 cheeses, homemade ravioli stuffed with asparagus & shrimps both very yummy. We enjoyed it so much we went again the following night, this time hubby had the marinated tuna salad followed by saffron lasagna and I had carpaccio of salmon followed by the sea bass, again wonderful. Some very good wines, staff are very generous and friendly giving free drinks.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jeanTYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant with a nice atmosphere and good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

We were looking for the Pulpo but think that the Pulpo and Classico are actually the same restaurant (possibly under new management though we don't know)
We asked for the 29.50 Euro menu and were offered a lovely red pepper soup, a choice of veal or fish for our main and tiramisu for desert. All were delicious especially the fish which was beautifully cooked with a delicate flavour. There was a nice selection of vegetable served with the fish as well. We also had a glass of house wine which was good and reasonably priced.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank enlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Classico also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Classico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing