We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful”
other travellers have booked this property
Wharf House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wharf House
Entrance, hallway Table with maps and information in the hallway
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Wharf House
Entrance, hallway
Table with maps and information in the hallway
Toilet and bathroom
The bed
The bedroom
The bedroom in the evening
The living room upstairs
Living with pantry in the back
Living room, desk / table view
Wharf House plus surroundings
Wharf House plus surroundings
Sloop for making private boattrips
Street view Wharf House
Wharf House garden, you can sit here
Look at the canal from the garden
Take a private boat trip
Rent our bicycles
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
Soojinho
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 21 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

From the moment we were greeted by the friendly Wharf House host at airport arrivals I knew we were in for a pleasant experience; the late hour of our arrival into Amsterdam made it more difficult to make our own way into Prinseneiland, so the 45euro meet & greet option was more than worth it.

As it happens, due to an (apparently unprecedented) double-booking error we ended up being guests of the Harbor House, which is right next door to the Wharf House; we were assured that it was a larger and better equipped apartment that was offered to us at the same rate.
Our host was Henk, a very pleasant man and one of the partners in the business; after the half hour drive in from the airport and despite the late hour he helped us all the way into our apartment and gave us the full tour, showing us all around the place, explaining how things worked and the dedicated mobile with all stored contact telephone numbers to call in case of emergencies; he even made the effort to help us orient ourselves on the local map and recommended us things to do in the city during our stay!

The open-plan apartment was incredibly spacious with long clean lines: entering the apartment you're greeted by a VERY well-equipped kitchen space, which separates the comfortable sleeping area (with associated bathroom and walk-in wardrobe) from the beautifully large & modern living/ dining area that overlooks the pretty canal harbour.

Prinseneiland is a peaceful wonder; cobbled streets, beautiful stone buildings and of course the canal all around gave a fresh atmosphere of utter calm despite the occasional cars that trundled down those same narrow streets that one would imagine only suitable for pedestrians and the city's far more preponderant bikes! It's location, northwest of the city centre is far enough away to give it an air of serene remoteness from the hustle while remaining very accessible to it's attractive bustle...

We didn't actually seek out the very local shops as our daily destination was downtown Amsterdam, which we always sought out by public transport; the tram stop we used was a 7 min walk along the canals, which if not for the gale force winds and vicious rain would doubtless have been more pleasant!
(There's an option to hire their bikes for 10 euros/day for that more authentic 'Amsterdam experience', which we would have done if not for the extreme weather!)

Best thing about the Harbor House: apart from the obvious picturesque location, it's the hospitality of the hosts!
Worst thing: nothing! (there was just an issue with lack of wifi, but that could've easily been resolved had it been a priority. We, like most folk these days, had 3G roaming so it wasn't a problem)

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED :)

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FL
Reviewed 27 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
likesabit...
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Absolutely Awesome!”
Reviewed 4 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

If I need to go back to Amsterdam and the Wharf House isn't available, then I'm not going! This place was great. I stayed for 5 nights (in town for a conference) and was supremely comfortable. The owners are near by and wonderful hosts, providing me with information, free coffee and tea, (and snacks upon arrival), and lots of information. They even arranged a lift to the airport. The apartment is well supplied with all the comforts you could ask for. The village in which it sits is quiet and idyllic while being a 5 minute walk to active Amsterdam!

Don't hesitate--book this place. And if you need more room, they have other rentals that offer 2 bedrooms.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about it!
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Reviewed 22 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
curlygram...
Ventura, California
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Our stay in Amsterdam was magical.”
Reviewed 19 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed on the top floor of the Harbor House, which is the gray building next to the red Wharf House. It has corner sliding glass windows that open on to two canals, so the view is magnificent. The kitchen is fully equipped with everything we could possibly need, so dinners on the glass dining table overlooking the canal were wonderful. There were fresh flowers on the table, wine in the fridge, cheese and wonderful Dutch cookies to welcome us.

We used the bikes that Wouter has available to rent, and thoroughly enjoyed wandering all over Amsterdam. It was a little bit rainy while we were there, but we just traveled like the locals ... which takes some courage and aggressive bike riding. One of the days, I got my jacket stuck in the chain of my bike, and Wouter fixed the chain with a smile and sent us back on our way.

The location of the Wharf House, on Prinseneiland is perfect. Pretty much in the center of things, yet quiet and away from the hustle of the city. Wouter picked us up at the airport and showed us where markets are. He was away when we left the city, so he arranged for a taxi to pick us up. It's an easy walk or ride to the main pedestrian area where there are shops and cafe's on every corner.

I cannot think of a nicer place in Amsterdam to settle in and absorb the city.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The apartment is fitted out like a fine yacht - which makes sense since Wouter was a yacht builder.
Liked least: There was not a thing we did not like.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen T
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to stay!”
Reviewed 26 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

This place has it all! Wouter and Liesbeth are wonderful hosts, the house is amazing and spotlessly clean. Just down the road from the house is a wonderful restaurant, Bickers a/d Werf, which was recommended by Wouter. We had a delicious dinner there, sitting outside watching the boats on the canal and then returned the following afternoon for a quiet drink in the late afternoon. Wouter took us out on his boat for a tour of the canals, which was very reasonably priced, and so much better than the crowded tourist boats.

Absolutely perfect!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna K
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed 23 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

The Wharfhouse is on an island, which used to be full of warehouses which have become rather arty apartments. It is just minutes from the centre of Amsterdam but the area has a mellow feel and the apartment is immaculate. We hired bicycles from the owner and this is easily the best way to get around Amsterdam. He also collected us from the airport, took us for a trip on his boat around the canals and recommended places to eat. Having help and advice from a local made for a lovely relaxed visit and when we go back to Amsterdam we plan to stay with Wouter again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, condition of apartment, friendly owner who lives next door
Liked least: Spiral staircase
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing