We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food, lovely staff, excellent microbrews” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Restaurant In de Buurt

Cafe Restaurant In de Buurt
Ranked #232 of 3,722 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$22
Cuisines: Dutch, Bar, European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: In an old warehouse situated at the Amsterdam Lijnbaansgracht (a Dutch canal) a new cafe restaurant has been opened. It is a new hotspot close to the Leidse Square, In de Buurt is frequented by locals and it's conveniently located at 4 minutes walking distance from the Museumplein, the cultural heart of Amsterdam.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing food, lovely staff, excellent microbrews”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Excellent food and a great find! We always look for unique and local restaurants whenever we travel, and although this restaurant is somewhat out of the city center, it is well worth a visit! We are both vegetarian, and although the restaurant no longer is, the organic, soya burger and the croquettes were amazing! Not to mention it has the friendliest staff and great local beer. Thank you for a great meal :) if we find ourselves in Amsterdam again we will definitely pay another visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Iulia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    116
    27
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Good pub food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Very noisy restaurant as we visted on a saturday night. We were told we would be seated within 10 minutes, but ended up sat at the bar for over half an hour. However, we were offered complimentary drinks and bread, and the bar staff were very kind and apologetic. When we finally had our meal, it was worth the wait. Had a lovely fresh satay chicken dish, and my sister enjoyed a vegetarian pasta. Both were very fresh and homemade. Worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank jemimarose
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bucks
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“First and the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

This was our first weekend in Amsterdam and this was the first bar/resturant that we visited, and we are very glad that we did.
Nothing matched this place all weekend.
It was a first night wander form the hotel that led us here, initially for a sit at the bar for a couple of drinks.
As the night went on we were impressed with the food that was coming by us and by the service that people were getting. We chanced for a table and we didn't have to wait long.
Food was fresh, well presented and unpretentious. Service excellent.
What more would you want form a restaurant. Also it was backed later in the evening, always a good sign.
Keep up the good work.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mgrt09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Based on the reviews on here and its proximity to our hotel me and my friend chose to have dinner here and we are so glad we did.
Relaxed atmosphere, excellent service and the food was amazing. The pasta had to be one of the best pasta dishes I've ever had, the flavours were amazing, well worth paying just a little more than cheaper places. The wine was also quite reasonable.
Definitely recommend!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RachelRobbins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere, lovely food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

We found this place just wandering around at about 6pm. It looked quaint and just the sort of place we were looking for. As soon as we walked in to this restaurant, we loved the atmosphere and ambiance. The staff were immediately very friendly and helpful. We were served drinks quickly and approached for our food order in good time without being left hanging. When the food arrived, the presentation was very good, and it was hot. I had the dish of the day for my main course...guinea fowl. It was delicious. For desert I had the home made chocolate brownie with white chocolate ice cream. I'm not normally a pudding person but the brownie was to die for!! It wasn't a cheap meal, but that was because we loved it so much that we did the whole coffee, brandy etc. I will definitely be using this restaurant again next time I am in Amsterdam.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Restaurant In de Buurt also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Cafe Restaurant In de Buurt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing