We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely apartment in a great location with a very pleasant host” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Artist House Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Artist House Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment in a great location with a very pleasant host”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We had no practical idea of what we would find when we arrived at The Artist House Apartments. On arrival Arvin was extremely helpful and his staff took our luggage up to our top floor apartment. Amsterdam is a very special city and this apartment made us feel right at home. It is well supplied with teas and coffees and we were able to eat breakfasts in our apartment. It is very well situated and easy to get form it to almost anywhere you might want to be. When we return to Amsterdam, we will definitely try to stay there.

Room Tip: Top floor has a steep staircase to access but is worth the trouble.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank johndan10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    8
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
71
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

I love this hotel. It was recommended by a friend and I was very impressed. The welcome we got was very warm and special. The room itself was class A. Very clean and beautiful complete with a well equipped kitchen plus unlimited coffee supply. I love this place. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Adrian110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed at Artist House Apartments for 3 nights. The place is comfortable and cozy, very clean and well maintained. There are stairs to the apartment, but the staff was very friendly and nice, and took our luggage up- and downstairs. They also allowed us to store the luggage on the last day and to repack before we left to the airport.
The location is great, just a few minutes walking from the Dam and very close to the central station. Koningsstraat is on the border of Red Light district and China Town, but the neighborhood is surprisingly quite. There is a lot of nice bars and restaurants around, a super market and a street market with flowers and cheese just around the corner.
We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vetiks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liege, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

The apartment is spacious, extremely clean and well maintained and is very well located. All details were designed to provide a pleasant stay. The owner is very friendly and approachable and always professional. I strongly recommend to stay at this location, one of the best, if not the best, where ever stayed.
In summary, great!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cátia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
forlimpopoli
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

From August 14 to 17 we spent a short holiday in Amsterdam. Through Booking.com we made reservations for a small apartment the ‘Artist House Apartments’. The apartment is located in a central area from which you can walk to the museums and the main attractions of the city.
All apartments in this property are distributed along a steep staircase that can be an obstacle to the transfer of luggage or just to get in and out of the building.
The apartment we had been assigned was located on the 1st floor and was composed of a kitchen with a sofa and TV, a bedroom and a bathroom.
The kitchen is a bright room with a large window overlooking the street, while to the bedroom is very dark as it’s only window overlooks a backyard 3x2 meter, dingy and dirty, where the only view is the wall of the neighboring buildings and it is infested with mosquitoes in this season.
The apartments do not have a reception, and if need any assistance you have to rely on people contactable only by phone.
Our real bad experience started on 17 August during the return to Italy when we received a text message from the bank informing us that we were charged € 250.00 from 'Artist House Apartments’ in Amsterndam. Upon arrival in Italy we e-mailed an urgent request for clarification to this charge. The morning of August 18 we received a first notice of apology for the fact that there was a mistake and they would return the money. Then in the afternoon we received from Booking a note informing us that the owners of 'Artist House Apartments’ claimed 250 euro against alleged damage to a bench at the foot of the bed. The accusation was an iron burn on this bench. Damage we have absolute certainty of not having caused. Upon arriving we promptly removed the duvet and layers of extra bedding and cushions and placed them on the convenient bench at the foot of the bed until our departure (it is summer and all this extra bedding was too warm). We were on a short vacation and not there to do our ironing! We did not used the iron during our stay (and an iron is not something you use by accident!).
We have written the owners and Booking.com and to clear our position but nobody believes us, we feel completely helpless and rather ripped off, beyond the money, basically we have been considered liars and unjustly accused for damage by someone else. The assistance from Booking.com has been absolutely non-existent.
The extent of damage was calculated at the sole discretion of the owners of ‘Artist House Apartments’ – a brown iron mark on a brown fabric bench (difficult to see even in the photo they sent). The apartment therefore cost us an additional 250 Euros.
On important piece of advice that we would like to give to travelers who are interested in renting this structure: take care, at the time of delivery of the keys, to check the conditions of the apartment and the furniture and then record and report any damage in order to avoid paying a heavy extra fee. Upon departure, insist that there is a manager or person of responsibility to hand over the apartment. (In our case we were only asked to leave the keys inside and go out.) Also do not expect any help from Booking.com as their concept of customer service is to simply wash their hands of any problems!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank antonella s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

It is my pleasure to recommend the one-bedroom at Artist House. Everything was just perfect. From the apartment, the amenities, the services and the owner himself. We had a vase of beautiful tulips, a bowl of fruits and a box of dutch biscuits upon arrival. The one-bedroom was artistically furnished, the appliances worked, and the owner thought of everything that a guest would need. The bed was extremely comfortable, the bathroom was spacious and well stocked with amenities. There was no stinging.
The apartment is within walking distance of the railway station, about 5 minutes from the flower market, and 30 minutes from the Van Gogh museum. You do not need to buy a transit pass. Arven took the time to show me the different routes to all the tourist sites. Some of the brand hotels can certainly take some lessons from Arven .. He was friendly, accomodating and always available to answer any requests. All in all - one of my very best hotel stays,

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheila026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

The rooms were immaculate, everything was new and in great condition. The location can't be better for being in Amsterdam. For a european apartment, the space was quite big. The staircase could be a challenge for some older/less mobile people but we had no problems with it, in fact a lot of the smaller building in Amsterdam had similar staircases. Grocery store close by, so the functional kitchen is great to have. Can't say enough about the friendly people there, Arvin, Hans and Bong were incredibly friendly and helpful! Highly Recommended!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Randman59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
misc eatdrinksleep
misc eatdrinksleep
#11 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#61 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Centrum
Amsterdam At Home
Amsterdam At Home
#22 of 329 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Yays Oostenburgergracht Concierged Boutique Apartments
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Keizersgracht Residence
Keizersgracht Residence
#6 of 225 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist House Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist House Apartments

Property: Artist House Apartments
Address: Koningsstraat 5, 1011 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 225 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Artist House Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing