We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Changed my entire prespective on accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Artist House Apartments
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We booked this accommodation entirely by accident, out of a desire to experiment with something more than just a normal hotel. Boy were we in for a surprise!

This little apartment is literally a home away from home. The couple who run it are nothing short of amazing, and their reception was impeccable. The apartment was very tastefully decorated, and needed absolutely nothing additional on our part (other than our own food and clothing).

Although taking up luggage can be a challenge, it is absolutely normal for an old city like Amsterdam; most houses are very narrow so staircases tend to be steep and narrow. This should come as no surprise to anyone who has lived or traveled extensively in Europe.

Overall, we have vowed we would never stay anywhere else in Amsterdam given the choice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amhelmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
There are newer reviews for Artist House Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

It's unusual to find holiday accommmodation where one just wouldn't want to change anything about the room or facilities. This was an example of that though. Very comfortable, spacious, stylish. Good kitchen facilities, excellent wifi reception, very nice cafe-bar next door, easy access to all the sights and nightlife.
Very warm, efficient and helpful welcome too.
Nothing at all to criticize.

Room Tip: stairs are a bit narrow and steep, but our room was on the first floor so that wasn't a problem...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TJBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This is a really great appt. Flowers, fruit and biscuits were waiting for us on arrival and the friendly owner talked us through the best places to go according to our tastes. Although this is on the edge of the red light district you can easily avoid it if you wish and nowhere is more than around a half hour walk away. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Corin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The best position in Amsterdan to visit all you want just walking (bike rental available in 2 minutes, too).
Very nice apartment: really comfortable, with all facilities you need (included free wifi), very modern and very clean (also with daily cleaning service, silent.
Staff so kind!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Very romantic hotel, suitable for couples. Each room is beautiful decorated. Huge bed, well filled mini bar, very kind employees, nice reception, lovely prosecco and delicious antipasti. Every day breakfast in the room (breakfast is slightly poor). Location is perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ugur Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Perfect location a stones throw from the Red Light District and Dam Square. Lovely clean little flat with a big comfy bed. No noise at all as it's on a quiet street. Couldn't have been happier. Will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 81Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

What a beautiful apartment. Literally a road away from the red light district and everything you want to see. Personal service, so polite and helpful. Excellent apartment I could have just stayed there the entire time! If I went back I'd have to stay in the same apartment no doubt about that. I'd request a low floor as the stairs are noisy and quite steep, but not really a problem if you don't have walking difficulties. Cute little roof top place to sit in the warm. Honestly I want to live there!! Must stay xx

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank x-Lolz-x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Centrum
Amsterdam At Home
Amsterdam At Home
#26 of 337 in Amsterdam
200 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Canal Boutique Apartments
Canal Boutique Apartments
#34 of 238 in Amsterdam
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Yays Oostenburgergracht Concierged Boutique Apartments
Centrum
Budget Hotel Tourist Inn
Budget Hotel Tourist Inn
#14 of 238 in Amsterdam
917 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist House Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist House Apartments

Address: Koningsstraat 5, 1011 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 238 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: £177 - £326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Artist House Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing