We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel within what appears to be an office/apt. building”
Review of Amadi Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amadi Park Hotel
Ranked #175 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
westchester, new york
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“hotel within what appears to be an office/apt. building”
Reviewed 28 October 2012

On the whole, I would rate this hotel as "GOOD", though not an option like that available, and areas that are rated as "average" would be considered "good."

This boutique type hotel is located on 2 floors of an office/apt. type building, and there are 2 other hotels within the same complex. There is a key card entry and we did not see very many other people through our stay-I honestly felt I would like to have seen more people. The hotel is just a few blocks from the metro and not far from the museum area. The rooms are small but nice enough, though the shower is absolutely flat into the bathroom and while there is a short half wall rather than a shower curtain, water gets in the whole bathroom and was causing leaking into the bedroom area. The room was a little dark by the afternoon since it rained a lot, despite numerous small bed lamps and an overhead light. The bed was very comfortable.

The hotel staff were extremely pleasant, offering ideas for what to visit and how to obtain tickets, and they were helpful. We had a problem with the toilet and they came and fixed it promptly. We did not take the hotel breakfast because there are many close options that were very good within walking distance.

Restaurants, shops and cafes within close walking distance. Often were not too many choices open late (other than bar type places) since it was a little bit removed from the touristy areas. However, most spots were easy enough to get to and we enjoyed all restaurants we tried.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swk_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    136
    47
    13
    14
See reviews for
32
154
38
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Kind staff, On check-in we the recepcionist made a little mistake, but they were kind with my and my family, the room is clean and confortable, excellent bathroom. The location is not that far from the main part of the city (Dam square) but walking distance 30'

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VictoRodrigues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We loved Amadi Park Hotel!
The room the decoration the free drinks in the mini bar the bathroom...
Also the the staff was very helpful and friendly!
Wood recommend whit-out hesitation to any visitor of Amsterdam!
Green hotel and ecological towels are also a bonus..

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amadues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Close to the Leidseplein, Museumplein and all three great museums is the nice hotel. As a good boutique hotel the Amadi Park offers a good stay in the centre of the city for a very good price. Even more important there is a carpark below for just 20 euro/day which is peanuts in A'dam. The technical state of the small rooms may vary as my room had problems with the safe, tv and window. However a call the the front desk (on the 4th floor?!) and with in minuits a handymen arrives fixing you problem. All in all a very good basis for a city trip in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flateric09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

I am a local Amsterdam guy living abroad and I chose the Amadi hotel for a 3 night stay as well. To be honest: I have mixed feelings…
I have now stayed in about 5 different (3 to 5 star) hotels in Amsterdam and this one, sadly enough, was the worst!
The hotel is new and the building is less than 2 years old (probably more like 1 year). Well, I would have expected way more from a brand new development: Our room was ridiculously small. We could hardly walk around the bed and there was NO place in the whole room where we could lay down 1 bag! It is rather annoying that you have to close your bag every morning (for cleaning) and night (for sleeping), as you don’t want to sleep with your bag in your bed. Even though the bed was good and materials used were of decent quality, it did not look good or special. Our rain-shower had typical Amsterdam-water pressure (none); (which is something other hotels have solved). There is again NO space in the bathroom to put any your stuff. The toilet-paper (which was 1 layer recycling paper) was about 50 cm behind you! Soap and shampoo come from dispensers and was of the cheapest kind as well. In our room the ‘hottest’ thing was the minibar: It was like an oven. A warm beer in the evening? Rather not. Luckily beer is cheap and easy to find in Amsterdam.
So, from a complete new building I would expect some more. Having the reception in the back on the 4th floor? Having to look for the entrance of the hotel? Such a mini-room while there is a huge inner court-yard? That is just a big miss from the development!
We paid about 130 eur per night. For sure you can get much much worse in Amsterdam, for similar money; that is completely true. But there are also some other hotels, even closer towards Leidseplein, which offer bigger rooms for a similar price.
So: if you don’t care about the minus points I have just discussed I can only help you with some hints: make sure you get a bigger room. Also, we have not tried the breakfast: but right outside, 2 buildings eastwards there is a ‘Vlaams Broodhuis’: Lovely breadies with coffee. 1 corner further there is another coffee-place and across the road there are more “Amsterdam Pubs with lunch food”. So: plenty of choices.
To conclude: the staff is very friendly and efficient!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a bigger room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ski-fanatic-73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We loved our stay at Amadi Park and thoroughly recommend it. Getting into the hotel was easy and it was in a great location with plenty of restaurants and cafes nearby.

Reception were very efficient, charming and helpful and our room was spotlessly clean and modern. There were lots of plugs for charging our gadgets and the free WiFi was fantastic. Simply enter the password once and that's it - you are online and it works for your phone, iPad, netbook or whatever. It was incredibly easy to use and it would be fantastic for a business trip. There is a really big laptop sized safe which lights up inside as you open it. We had a netbook, iPad, 2 Kindles, 2 handheld Garmin GPSs (great for getting around a city), camera equipment plus passports, keys and money etc. There was plenty of room for it all.

There is a free minibar in the room which is replenished every day with water, cola light or iced tea and lager/beer. A little tip - on our first day there were a couple of cans of beer but on the second there were bottles (but no bottle opener so you might want to bring one along). I would have liked to have had a kettle with tea and coffee in the room but this was available all day in the breakfast area behind reception.

The bed was comfortable and the duvet made us feel like we were enveloped in a warm, cosy cloud. The pillows were the comfiest pillows ever. We are going to have to upgrade ours at home now! We had a deluxe double room and there was plenty of space to move around and plenty of space to store our clothes.

The walk-in rain shower was bliss and there was a second shower head if you wanted to shower but not wash your hair. The showers were powerful with plenty of hot water. There was plenty of lighting in the bathroom, from the ceiling light to the light up shaving mirror and a strip light above the mirrored cabinet. There was also a hairdryer. The towels were soft and fluffy.

We booked via Booking.com and our rate did not include breakfast. The small breakfast was 9 euros (coffee, tea, juice, croissants and jam) and the large breakfast (same, plus cereal, salad, mozzarella pearls and ham) was 18 euros. For convenience we had the small breakfast a couple of times but this didn't really fill us up. The view is nice from the breakfast area and it is comfortable. The coffee is great. On our last day we tried a continental breakfast at the Street Kitchen on the ground floor of the building. It was comfortable and relaxing and we got tomatoes, cucumber, mozzarella, gouda, salami, fried egg, croissant, butter, jam and coffee for 10 euros - no contest, this one filled us up!

Finding the hotel is easy - the letterbox has a big mint-green sticker with 26G Amadi Park on it, you can't miss it, so you know you are in the right place (there's a photo on Booking.com). Go to the glass doors and to your left is a number pad. Type in "26G" and press the bell symbol. Reception will open the glass doors for you (the first time - after that, you get a card so that you can open the doors yourself). About halfway down the courtyard on the left is a door leading to two large lifts. Go to floor 4, come out of the lift and turn right, through the glass door and turn right. Reception is the last door on your right, it's easy to find. The breakfast area is behind reception.

Our room was on the 2nd floor so it felt more like being in an apartment than a hotel which was fine for us. We really enjoyed our stay.

A note for the hotel - some information in the room would have been helpful as we forget things when we've had a long trip and are tired. (How to get an outside line on the phone, taxi numbers etc). There are lots of mini cards in reception with ideas for things to do which also include discounts.

If you are looking for good restaurants, I recommend Kartika (fabulous leisurely evening, try the Ramayana ricetable, it's like Indonesian tapas) and Thai Khorat (quick, tasty and very large tea). We also went on the Lovers dinner cruise at the recommendation of RobertM which we thoroughly enjoyed - the food was excellent.

The highlight of our city break, without a doubt was getting the Intercity from Amsterdam Centraal to Dordrecht to see the life-size replica of Noah's Ark. It's 1.2 miles from Dordrecht station so easily walkable, or get a taxi outside the station. The ark is breath-taking and very interesting. It takes a couple of hours (about 2 miles round it!) with all mod cons. I don't think Noah would have had movie theatres, a large well-priced restaurant, clean toilets and a gift shop - but I think he would be impressed!

Finally, we used Schiphol Travel Taxis for our transfer. They were very efficient, although the confirmation number took a bit of working out when we had to ring to confirm our return. We had the same chauffeur both ways and he was lovely.

To summarise this hotel, book Amadi Park now, you won't regret it!

Room Tip: We chose a Deluxe Double and were very happy with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jazzmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

I arrived in front of the Hotel after 10pm and had some difficulties to find the entrance. One has to type in the Hotelname on the bellboard and only than the gates open. The building does not show the Hotelname from the street. The reception is located on the upper fllor and looks as they just moved in. Check un was efficient and friendly. The Hotelroom looked new, wooden floors, nice wall fabrics and overall very good impression. Enough light, good Aircon, good bedding, spaceous shower with rainshower and marbel on floor and walls. Very good value for your money. 4 soft drinks in the complimentary minibar and comlimentary breakfast were offered as well.

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Grand Hotel Downtown
Grand Hotel Downtown
#133 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,262 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#129 of 367 in Amsterdam
868 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#160 of 367 in Amsterdam
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#163 of 367 in Amsterdam
962 reviews
Hotel De Hallen
#30 of 367 in Amsterdam
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amadi Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amadi Park Hotel

Property: Amadi Park Hotel
Address: Eerste Constantijn Huygensstraat 26G, 1054 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amadi Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amadi Park: comfortable and eco-friendly hotel in the cultural heart of AmsterdamAmadi Park is a brand new, comfortable and eco-friendly boutique hotel located within walking distance of Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Concertgebouw and Leidseplein. Public transport stops right in front of the hotel.A comfortable stay Our guests enjoy all modern facilities. All 33 rooms are elegantly designed and decorated with comfort and contemporary chic in mind. The luxurious bathrooms are equipped with rain showers and hairdryers, all rooms are provided with Wi-Fi and wired internet access and most rooms have balconies. Guests who arrive by car can use our parking. Breakfast is optional. You can enjoy a small breakfast (€ 9) or the extended Amadi Park breakfast (€ 18). Close to the hotel you will find many cafés and restaurants. Our staff will be happy to show you the way!Hospitable and eco-friendlyThe eco-friendly Amadi Park Hotel is located in a newly built sustainable building, meeting the latest environmental requirements. Throughout the hotel energy-and water-saving measures have been implemented, there is led lighting everywhere and we use geothermal heat for heating. The Green Key application is 'en route' and we have no doubt that we will soon be able to place the certificate at the door.But there is more. Besides obvious measures like waste separation, waste restriction and use of eco-friendly cleaning products, we use as much organic and fairtrade products as possible in our breakfast and all our rooms are furnished with towels and bed linen made of organic cotton.In short, in our hotel your stay is eco-friendly! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Amadi Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing