We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel-very helpful staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel Downtown
Ranked #128 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“great hotel-very helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

Well what can say about this hotel. Firstly, the minute i walked in the door the staff were very helpful, the woman at the font desk was very friendly and helpful got us checked in and immediately told us about what was near us and how to get around the city. I was very impressed with this, no stigma about speaking English with us.

our room was quite small, but very clean and a big comfy clean bed. you get what you pay for as this hotel is a little walk away from the centre of the bars and "red light district", however you are a ten minutes walk to a square with lots of bars and shops, i felt this area was very central but you were half hour away from train station- i preferred this area as it was quieter at night.

we managed to find two amazing little restaurants in this area which had amazing service and food.

i very much enjoyed my stay here.

the only complaint i have is that the shower is very small, and the door to get into the shower opens into the shower and there is a shelf within the shower, therefore making it very tight for getting in and out, if you were feeling a little overweight i would advise to ask for a bigger shower.

Room Tip: ask for a bigger shower within the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    400
    482
    185
    60
    53
See reviews for
138
693
53
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

Excellent hotel within walking distance of main attractions (or tram stop right outside). Lovely receptionists and room was splendid. Lovely cafes aroubd the hotel. Free safe in room. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
4 Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
264 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

We loved this hotel!! i was abit nervous when i first booked here, as compared to many other hotels in Amsterdam this one was rather cheap, but as soon as i got there i realized i had made the perfect choice:).
The staff at the front desk were friendly and helpful.
The hotel was in a great location its not in the hustle and bustle of things so you get a great nights sleep :) but at the same time its within walking distance to all the tourist spots. Anne franks is about a 15 minute walk, vonderpark 5 minute walk, dam square 20 minute walk the main station is about 25 minutes away, van gogh is also close by.
We stayed in a penthouse suite and it was perfect! clean, tidy and modern. The bathroom was lush with great lighting and the balcony wow what a view :). oh and the little mini bar is free what more could you want :)!!!
We would definitely stay here again. It was perfect!!!!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank ALCBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Me n my partner were very excited about this hotel especially as it has got such good reviews. I have to admit, the hotel looks good, rooms were clean but there is no insulation whatsoever in between walls and you can hear every word from the rooms next door.

The first night we went to be around 2am after a party in Amsterdam hoping to sleep in and be well rested for the next day. At about 7am, there were noises outside the door, of people banging doors and we could hear every single word from the girls staying in the room right next to us.. chatting, giggling... If that wasn't enough, as the hotel is only a floor, the housekeeping trolley noises, vacuum cleaner sounds.. Everything could be heard. We finally decided to wake up and get out as we were already up and decided to ask for a room change. Upon going to the receptionist we were told that the hotels full so rooms can't be changed however they will ensure that they out a sign outside the corridor where our room was for people to be quiet. When we returned at night, there was no sign!! As we hadn't slept well the previous night, we were tired and decided to come back a bit early n go to sleep hoping for no noise but surprise surprise, yet again we were woken up at 7:15 by the excited girls next door, housekkeping and people banging doors and this time despite having a Do not Disturb sign on our door, the housekeeping attendant decided to walk in. #NOT HAPPY

Overall, I feel that our trip was ruined because we were really tired as we hadn't slept in and didn't have much energy to go out the next day or party late at night, the sole reason of coming to Amsterdam. So if you like your sleep n a good rest, my suggestion would be stay far away... It's defy not worth €150 each night if we can't even have a decent sleep :(

Room Tip: If you have to go here, ask for a room at the end of the corridor to avoid noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zchops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liepaja, Latvia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

Very nice hotel, i would come back there. Excellent breakfast and very great staff.The rooms were nice and then buffet breakfast had good variety. There is really nothing to complain about, we highly recommend this wonderful place! I recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Like_to_eat_eat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

We stayed in nearby Amersfoort for a few days and then moved to this hotel. The hotel is less than a year old and everything is modern and brand new. The rooms are modern with great decor, clearn and well furnished. The beds were new and very comfortable.

The staff are a group of young professionals led by Hasen who gave us a warm welcome to his hotel which he is very proud of. The hotel is within walking distance of the downtown core but it is much better if you get a day pass for the tram and metro services. The main tram stops are located a short block away and lead to the Central station downtown - you can also stop along the line to get off in the heart of the city where all the sites are located. If you are adventurous, the walk is about half an hour to get to the downtown core. The hotel is also surrounded by restaurants that are open throughout the day. They are mostly local places that serve lots of tasty meals for a good price. If you are arriving (like we did) after moving your luggage around, there is even a restaurant with great sandwices and salads right next to the hotel.

Room Tip: Try to add breakfast into your booking reservation if you can for a good price. Breakfast at your ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tipintnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

This was one of the best deals we ever had in our travels in Europe. It is not right downtown but very close and the transportation in Amsterdam by bus, tram and train is so good that it was just a short walk to catch a tram anywhere into the center and other parts of the city. The hotel was clean, offered breakfast, had great beds and is very, very new. We had a great stay with good free wifi, tea/coffee in the room, mini fridge, best beds ever, fantastic bathroom and helpful staff. Hasen the manager and his staff greeted us like long lost friends and they were really the best staff we have ever seen in a hotel. This is the place to stay in Amsterdam for the quality and great price. We loved our stay.Note: accidently clicked on the pool question....there is no pool but trip advisor does not allow to correct once you have selected.

Room Tip: Make sure to tip when you get service like the quality these people provide. Times are hard in Europ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mike8067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#135 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#61 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Vondelpark
Amadi Park Hotel
Amadi Park Hotel
#176 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#106 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Hotel Arena
#97 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,435 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#45 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Downtown

Property: Grand Hotel Downtown
Address: Eerste Constantijn Huygensstraat 10A, 1054 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a modern and stylish 4-star hotel with the best of Amsterdam within reach? The Grand Hotel Downtown meets all your expectations and welcomes you. The hotel is situated in the trendy Oud-West area, only a 10 minute walk from the Leidseplein (Leidse Square). Centrally located between the lively hart of the city, the lovely Vondelpark and the cultural richness of the Museumplein, the Grand Hotel Downtown is an excellent base for your stay in the metropole city of Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing