We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Downtown
Ranked #131 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cozy Hotel”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Pleasantly surprised with the hotel. It was just outside the "main" area - about a 5 to 10 minute walk to the main shopping district. We found the hotel with no problems but I had read some previous reviews that it was difficult to find. It was not difficult if you have any sense of sight and direction (although the street names are a little challenge). The check in process was easy; however, the first time navigating to our room was like a maze (but with no turns). Our room ended up being great (Junior Suite on bottom floor). It had 2 of the most comfortable beds/pillows, 2 little couches, big TV, storage space/closet, in room safe and a great bathroom (heated floors). We did not pay for the breakfast in the hotel but it looked good. Instead, we opted to eat at some of the little local cafes all around the hotel. We also found some great neighborhood bars in the evening. I would recommend this hotel because it was very clean, nice staff (provided a map of Amsterdam with interesting sights) and it was extremely quiet. Once we were in our room, we never heard any other hotel guests. Because it was not in the main "tourist" area, people we met were very friendly and helpful (i.e., if they saw you standing looking at a map they would offer to help you locate where you wanted to go).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CPAscubagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay! That makes us really happy. Thank you for your recommendation. We are looking forward to welcome you back to the hotel when you visit Amsterdam again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    414
    508
    194
    65
    54
See reviews for
145
726
55
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Renens
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I selected this hotel because it is located just outside the city center (thus avoiding night noises from the bars and discotheques) . The Leidseplein is a 5-10 mins walks or easy to reach by tram)

Reception: professional , friendly and quick

Rooms: clean , noiseless airco,

Bathroom: clean and towels

Minibar: only two bottles of water

Disappointments:
hotel has a parking , but using it is a fuzz

Breakfast: is disappointing for this class of hotels

Would I use it again: probable not

Room Tip: Choose a room on the higher floors to reduce noise from the streets
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vinylmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for writing this review and feedback. I am really sorry to hear that you won't be using our hotel probably. We really hoped that we could exceeded your expectations. Your feedback about the parking is taken into account and we will discuss this with our contact person of the parking. The parking belongs to the City of Amsterdam.
Togheter with our breakfast employees and manager we are brainstorming what we could improve so your feedback was really helpfull. Despite the fact that you won't be returning back to the hotel we would still love to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

A modern and clean hotel in a quiet part of the city. Still close enough to the main areas via tram number 1 (a few minutes walk away). You could also walk into the city within twenty minutes.

Small compact rooms with everything that you need (good quality internet and facilities) and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Modern bathroom which was very clean, but the shower cubicle was not that well designed and the water pressure was average.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattyW9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to write a review. This is really appreciated. Our maintenance department checked all the rooms for the water pressure and increased the pressure if necessary. Because of your feedback we could fix it!
Looking forward to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Really good hotel, friendly staff and great rooms. Little way from the centre, but easy to get to to by tram. Staff was really helpful and friendly, would definitely stay in this hotel again. Room was big and very clean and facing away from the street - nice breakfast shops down the street

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Naude77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you very much for writing this review. We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you would stay here again. We would love to welcome you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Excellent stay. Had a slight issue work the room at first bit was addressed very quickly and efficiently. Staff are friendly, room is modern and clean. Also only a 5 minute walk to the number 1 an 17 tram. 5/5

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Brit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for writing this review. We are really pleased to read you had an excellent stay. That makes us really happy. We would love to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Fab hotel... modern, clean,very helpful staff & the rooms with a roof terrace is a must.. Our weather wasn't the best but was still great having a roof terrace Fantastic,quiet location but close enough to the main drag.will be going back very soon :)

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank VMCWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. It is always nice to know that people take the time to write a review and I would like to thank you for that. We would love to welcome you back and hopefully during a sunny period so you can enjoy the roof terrace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flemington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
140 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed in a jr. suite room for 4 people. Aesthetically the room is very modern, clean and appealing with very nice decor. Size wise it is a bit small. We had 2 double beds put together as the main bed and a sofa bed for our 2 kids. Not too much space left in the room when the sofa bed was open. The bathroom was small as well with little space for 2 people at the same time but with all required amenities: toilet, shower, sink, and heated floors. Free Wi-Fi is offered and the hotel breakfast is fresh and with good options. The hotel location is excellent with tram and public transportation around the corner and within 15-20 min walking to the main attractions (Jordaan district and City Center). There are many good restaurants to choose from around the hotel. The hotel has a parking garage available for €25 a day that is a good option if you are taking your car. DO NOT USE THE CAR IN THE CITY. In overall, we had a very good stay and I recommend the hotel mainly due to the location and modern appeal.

Room Tip: Rooms tend to be a bit small
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmejias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for your review and recommendation. We really appreciate this. We will take all your feedback into account. Looking forward to welcome you back when you will visit Amsterdam again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#71 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#136 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
Vondelpark
Amadi Park Hotel
Amadi Park Hotel
#176 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#110 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#90 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Hotel De Hallen
#29 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Downtown

Property: Grand Hotel Downtown
Address: Eerste Constantijn Huygensstraat 10A, 1054 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a modern and stylish 4-star hotel with the best of Amsterdam within reach? The Grand Hotel Downtown meets all your expectations and welcomes you. The hotel is situated in the trendy Oud-West area, only a 10 minute walk from the Leidseplein (Leidse Square). Centrally located between the lively hart of the city, the lovely Vondelpark and the cultural richness of the Museumplein, the Grand Hotel Downtown is an excellent base for your stay in the metropole city of Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing