We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location and great house!”
other travellers have booked this property
Sonnenberg amidst original canal houses
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sonnenberg amidst original canal houses
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
76 reviews
Sonnenberg amidst original canal houses
Watch the boats and cyclist go by
Awesome views
Shared entrance
Jack and Jill bathroom
Bedroom with ample cabinet space
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 76 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
susiecath...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect location and great house!”
Reviewed 6 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We stayed in this lovely house for our work team Christmas party weekend and it didn't disappoint. The house is spacious and stunning with beautiful views of the canal (made even more special by the light festival). The house is well furnished and equipped, with three bedrooms over two floors. I can highly recommend for those who are looking for a traditional Amsterdam property that's in walking distance of the best places in town!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaWoo...
Alsager, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent House”
Reviewed 20 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at the Grand Sonnenberg House in December 2016 with 3 friends. The house was lovely, well equipped and very clean. The location was a massive plus point, within easy reach of all of Amsterdam's main attractions.

The only negative would be that 1 bathroom was only just about ok, had there been 6 of us we would have struggled. The bathroom is located between 2 of the bedrooms and there's no lock on the door so everybody had to be made aware when you were using it so that they didn't burst in! The stairs are extremely steep so definitely not recommended if you are not fit and healthy.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennInSD
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fabulous Historic Home in Great Location”
Reviewed 29 November 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This property was a great find! My husband and I along with our 4 adult children stayed at the Grand Sonnenberg for two nights prior to taking a Baltic Sea cruise. We wish we could have stayed longer. The property was perfect and in a perfect location to walk everywhere, which we did! Although the shower was small for our very tall guys, it was still fine. The property was clean, spacious and exactly as described. The location couldn't have been better. We would definitely stay here again. Wyste allowed us our privacy, yet was there when we had questions and was very helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location! And the fact that the building was 400+years old
Liked least: Nothing negative to report.
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ktown6
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“excellent stay perfect location”
Reviewed 28 November 2016 for a stay in July 2016

beautiful, more than enough space and kids loved staying in house that was 400 years old. you could not find a better location. so centrally located almost everything was within 5-10 minute walk. everyone loved it and would definitely stay again. great communication from host

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald N
Healdsburg, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and in a great location”
Reviewed 27 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We arrived just before the one day per year the museums are open for a special promotion from 7:00PM till 2:00AM. Tickets were only available to local purchasers. We contacted Wytse Bonnema who immediately purchased the tickets for us so they would be available upon our arrival. Great customer service. The residence is in a great location and was walking distance from the main train station. All instructions were clear, the home clean, well stocked, and very comfortable. Wytse was very accommodating and helpful. I would definitely stay there again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hergeEuro...
europe
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Beautiful apartment in Great location”
Reviewed 27 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Had a great time over 3 nights - family with 3 teenager and was plenty of room - 3 separate rooms - kids loved the fact the could just walk out door and have some freedom whilst feeling very safe as is a lovely area. Close to all attractions, we walked everywhere as was very central. Host very good and printed some tickets out for me within minutes. Apartment well furnished and we all felt special staying in this lovely historic property in historic city.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCSOA
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 26 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Excellent apartment in the heart of the city. Would definitely recommend the place and would definitely stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Mosquitoes
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing