We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not really a restaurant”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Buuf

Buuf
Ranked #920 of 3,753 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Dutch, International, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not really a restaurant”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

This is not really a restaurant but rather a student's cantine. There is no service, no reservation, no arrangements with tables. You need to order food at the counter and pick it up yourself. Portions are really small and very limited choice but cheap ...you don't have to wash dishes though :-) I won't recommend if you intend to have a nice dinner out. But if you are just starving and on budget that can be something ok for you. Probably is a ok place for Lunch or coffee.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Danifloor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    47
    15
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lekker! Would definitely come back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I don't usually do restaurant reviews but I have to make an exception for this place. It belies the Dutch tradition of boring food. A funky cafe complete with menus on TV screens a la MS-DOS/Space Invaders. Order at the counter and pick it up yourself when ready - keeps prices here down (and it is very reasonable). Strongly suggest the fish soup - I have had bouillabaisse that costs twice as much and tastes half as good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank viability
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Delicious, excellent price quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Delicious burgers and sandwiches for lunch, limited evening menu but for less than 9 euros 6 choices that change every few days.... We will be back more often!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank reneve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

We had a fabulous meal. Fresh food and very friendly staff! Not at all annoyed by our lack of Dutch. We brought our kids along and they enjoyed the meal as well. Great prices!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeniffer715Jeniffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“This place has it all!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

This isn't a place I would have selected as my partner is very picky when it comes to his diet but a friend who lives in Amsterdam took us here. I prefer to eat local cuisine but he only eats what he knows. The menu was amazing & suited us both. It took me a while to contemplate the choice.
I've got a real taste for truffle oil now!
I couldn't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank suziebloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buuf also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Buuf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing