We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous base”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Ranked #62 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Loved this hotel! We were a little weary because it was so reasonably priced but so pleasantly surprised.The room was spotless and all the staff were so friendly. We got in early in the morning and after a very friendly greeting were allowed straight up to our room for a much needed shower. Our room had everything we needed, comfortable beds, plenty of room and a great bathroom. The Nespresso machine was a welcome touch. We hired comfy bikes from the hotel and it was a lovely, easy cycle through a park into the city centre. Such a nice way to explore Amsterdam. Back at the hotel the buffet dinner was fabulous, beats many 5 star hotels. Chef stations, sushi, great salads and soft drinks included. Breakfast the next morning was just as good.
Tram station right outside to get train to airport, or tram around Amsterdam. Will definitely stay here if back in Amsterdam again,

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luciloo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,917)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,284 - 2,290 of 3,917 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

Very nice hotel, spacious, clean, 20min away cycling from city center(they have bikes to rent). Room was great, clean, many towels, minibar,a/c, very impressed with the bathroom. Amazing breakfast, many options, you can make very quickly your own fresh orange juice, fast seat and greet. Staff was helpful, but can be improved. Overall we had a nice experience in this place.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Florin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed in the Golden Tulip for 5 nights in late September very comfortable rooms but pricey for what you get because breakfast not included. Catering staff in the restaurant very good, that can't be said for the front of house staff at reception,one of the women at the desk in the evening was so rude it was unbelievable.We had run out of euros and ask if we could pay in sterling there is a sign at reception saying we except all currencies, she laughed in our face and said this not England we only take euros and when we enquired about if there was a train timetable for the station which is local to the hotel as we were leaving the next morning we were told in a very brisk manner no and if we wanted one we would have to go to the station as this was late at night and both my partner and I are over 60 it was totally inappropriate. That women not only let the rest of the staff down she let the hotel down.

Room Tip: Get a travel card.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank barcode333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Easy access from the airport by train or #69 bus and #14 tram. The room was quiet and clean. The breakfast was worth the extra fee. Center of Amsterdam was easy to reach with #14 tram and transfer to #13 that also goes to Central Station. Direct access to museums on #14 tram.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wmoore26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The hotel is located in a very bad location as it is far from the city center with no any nearby commercial area close to. No shops, No coffee shops, No restaurants, When you are at the hotel, you feel isolated and if you want to drink or to eat something you find yourself forced to use the terrible services of the hotel as it will be explained later.
The hotel is also located far from the city and it takes about a half hour to arrive to the city center and it is a waste of time if you add to it also the time you have to wait for the tram. This hotel is a very low quality hotel from a lot of aspects with a general manager that do not know to serve the guests and with hotel staff that is not providing the service that you would expect to receive in a hotel. There are many other hotels in Amsterdam that are a better value than this hotel with better location and better standards.
This review is pure authentic and based on facts during our stay at this hotel !!!!!!!!!!.

1. Prior making the reservation to this hotel (about 2 months before the vacation) we wrote an email to the hotel asking them for the size of the bed. The answer we received from the hotel is that the size is 180 cm. Based on this information we made the reservation to this hotel prepaid.
After we checked in and entered to the room we found out that the bed in the room is a very small bed and not as promised in the email. We measured the size of the bed and the size was 157cm. this is of course not the 180cm they had promised. We called the front desk and showed them the copy of the email that they stated that the size of the bed is 180 cm but they said that maybe they had a mistake and the general manager of the hotel will speak with us. The general manger was in a meeting and therefore we waited and wasted time 3 hours of waiting for her until she finished the meeting. We would expect that she will make a break for a few minutes during the meeting to meet us and not letting us to wait 3 hours. The general manager met us in the bar and said that when they stated 180cm they mean the length of the bed .did you ever saw in a hotel a bed that is long 180 cm? The minimum length of the beds are 200cm. what a stupid answer of the general that is lying saying that they meant the length of the bed. However, in addition to lying with this answer she told us that if we don’t like what they offer we can look for another hotel. what a impudence of the general manger that not enough they had a mistake, she tell the guests to look for another hotel from now to now when all of the other hotels are full booked and busy and in spite that we already prepaid through the travel agency the full cost for the stay in this hotel.

2. The service of the hotel
We stayed in this hotel for 6 nights. Every evening we ordered a wake up call. At the first morning we received the wake up call but they called with about 1 hour later. The 4 mornings after that they did not make the wake up call at all. When we asked them why each day they do not provide the wake up service and what is the idea that they accept the request for service and not Performs the service, they told us that this only a service and they are not committed for the service. What a stupid answer. I wonder what would happen if we would ask the wake up call for being on time at the airport.
The service in the rooms was very poor. Each evening when we returned to the hotel we found that the housekeeping forgot to put cups in the room, they forgot to put coffee capsules for the coffee machine. They forgot to put shower gel tube in the bathroom and because of it we had to waste time to collect all this from the front desk and from the restaurant. You will agree that a 4 star hotel should not function like this.

3. Breakfast in the hotel- Every day they offer the same variety, so if you stay at the hotel for a few days you feel boring with what you get there. There is a variety of choices in the breakfast but of a low quality. Also a lot of things are doubled trays to give you the impression of a big variety but actually it is not. Like as an example, in the cheese section you will find 2 trays of each cheese . There is no herring fish, no variety of white cheese, The yellow cheese is of the simple standard. Jams, chocolate spread etc are in bowls, open and not in individual packs .I saw a child putting the finger in it to taste the chocolate and this was enough for me not to eating from it there. Also, in the cereals section there was a bowl with dried fruit (black plums, apricots, etc) with a lot of flies on it !!!!!!. The cereals are not a much variety and you find there Quaker with different variations but similar one to each other.

4. Dream restaurant Gril Buffet is absolutely not a dream - Avoid !!!!!!!!!!
We entered to the restaurant and they did not say that they close within 30 minutes. we wanted to have a soup but the soup was finished and they said that they do not have any more soup. The rice was finished. Most of the buffet was empty and it was at 21:30 .we wanted to order something from the meat buffet but all the meat they had in the grill section looked so old and tired , dirty and so not freshly like what you can find in the street market, that we asked from the guy there to bring from the refrigerator a fresh piece of beef fillet . He brought a fresh one, took it out from the sealed nylon package which was with full of blood and water and he even did not rinsed it but put it directly on the grill. So not esthetic and very dirty at all the meat area.
All the buffet they offered in the restaurant was cold and very not tasty!!!!!!!!!!!!
The steak that they prepared was very not tasty and not professional and we did not eat it as it was really awful.
This was not worth €60 that we paid for it.
Without notice, about 30 minutes since we entered to the restaurant they turned off the light and closed the buffet. We found ourselves paying for a meal while we almost did not eat anything at that evening.
The only thing that was perfect in the restaurant was their follow up to receive the payment from us. First they came and asked us for the room number, than after they were watching like dogs to make sure that we sign on the bill so they will able to charge the room.

5. Checking out
We asked the guy at the front desk for a late check out as a service and he said that there is no problem for late check out for 19.00 if we pay for it an additional fee of 10 Euro per hour. He can let us have late check out to 15:00 without any additional fee. We saw the general manager and we asked from her to extend the late check out to a later hour as we had the flight on that day on 22:30, but instead of helping she said that they are full and therefore she can not approve this. The general manager was lying to us, as a few minutes before the guy in the reception said that they are not full and can provide the late check out with the additional fee.

After you read all this ask yourself if you would like to stay in such hotel.
I will not recommend this hotel for any of my friend or any of my family.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank YakovY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, General Manager at Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Dear guest,.. After check-in we upgraded you in one of our best rooms, you seemed satisfied with the solution we gave you. During your stay we spoke several times with you and gave lots of tourist infomation and you told us it was much appreciated. it seems now that you were not happy at all and unfortuenately we cannot correct that anymore. It is well known that our location is not in the centre of town, but we have excellent connections to the centre. Just opposite the hotel is a small supermarket and also some really nice restaurants.
We are sorry you ,feel we are dishonnest, we try to give all our guests the best service possible,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

It's a short tram ride away from Leidseplein, the Dam Square, some 20 minutes away. The reception staff were very helpful, especially the night staff who were there in the morning when I couldn't sleep from really bad jetlag. Breakfast was good, staff very accomodating and very friendly :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

First of all, you need to be informed upfront that this is not an in-city hotel. This means that you cannot walk to the city center. However, if you walk to the tram station for less than five minutes from your room, it is a matter of minutes (around 15 mins) to get to the city center. The hotel is such a newly-furbished one with perfect staff. The wide-range breakfast tastes great and parking facility is reliable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erbacioglu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 371 in Amsterdam
5,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Volkshotel
#37 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,385 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#104 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Address: Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £72 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Tulip Amsterdam West welcomes you in Amsterdam! It has a restaurant which is open for breakfast and dinner, and a nice non-alcohol bar for lunch, bites and refreshments. The hotel has a lounge and business centre, two meeting rooms and a parking garage underneath the hotel. Situated just of exit 103 of the A10 ring way, Sloterdijk train station is just around the corner (5 min walk), and the city is only a tram ride away (15 min). Whether you come to our city for business or pleasure, by car or public transport, we are the ideal start of your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing