We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complete Perfection!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Ranked #55 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Complete Perfection!”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I took a city break in Amsterdam recently, Staying at the Golden Tulip Amsterdam west. Date of stay November 2013.

We arrived at the Hotel around 2pm after a 10am flight from Leeds bradford with KLM, we took a direct train from Schiphol airport to sloterdijk station (Journey time 10 minutes), from Sloterdijk station you can walk to the hotel in around 15 minutes or catch tram 2 towards Amstelstation but leave the tram at Haarlemmerweg which is the 2nd stop on the Tram after it departs from Sloterdijk. It's roughly a 5 minute tram ride. The tram stop (Haarlemmerweg) is just across the road from the hotel.

Tickets for the Tram can be bought from ticket machines at Sloterdijk station or on board the tram. I would advise buying them from the ticket machine's at they offer more ticket choices (for example, you can't buy 3 day tickets on board the trams, whereas you can at the ticket machines. Remember to hold your ticket in front of the card reader when entering / exiting the trams. Tip: Leave you ticket in your wallet and just hold your wallet up against the reader (The machine can detect your ticket, even when it's in your wallet) as it saves you time.

Don't be put off by the exterior of the Golden tulip hotel, as inside it's modern, clean and contemporary; just like any modern city centre hotel.

When we arrived at the Golden tulip a polite English speaking receptionist checked us into our room and issued us with our key cards, Our room was on the 2nd floor. We booked a Standard Twin room for 3 nights, with Breakfast included.

The Hotel lifts are very modern, well lit, with nice marble flooring!

We were very impressed with our room. Why.....It had Fantastic beds, a massive headboard, lots of pillows, modern decor, A Nespresso coffee making machine that was free to use, with coffee pods and mugs provided, Flat screen TV on wall (With good choice of english channels), Complimentary toiletries, a FREE safe (Fantastic), Air conditioning, Mini bar (Fee's applied), Iron and ironing board and fantastic modern washroom with a walk in rain shower!

Each night we slept really well, with zero external and internal noise. Bed's were very comfortable too.

Breakfast is served buffet style; and the choice is fantastic.
I'd suggest you walk around the buffet first to see what they is; as the breakfast room and buffet are massive! At Breakfast you could choose from a continental style to fully cooked breakfast. The presentation of Breakfast was excellent!

The Golden tulip also has Wifi (worked fine), A Restaurant and a bar located on the ground floor, along with a 24 hour reception. Our room was serviced daily by maids, they would make bed's and changed towels (if needed) So after a day exploring Amsterdam we always returned to a clean room.

The Golden Tulip is Located in Sloterdijk about 3 miles from central Amsterdam. However getting to the centre is easy enough! You can either catch the Tram 12 from Haarlemmerweg towards Amstelstation but leave the tram at the Adm.de ruijerweg, then wait at the stop you exited the tram at, and wait for tram 13 towards central station, then get off at Dam (Dam square) or central station for central Amsterdam. This takes around 25 minutes, However it was the most economical way, as we had 3 day tram passes.
A quicker way of reaching the centre would be to take a train from Sloterdijk station to Amsterdam central (Journey time 9 minutes) However this would mean using the national rail network that are tram passes cannot be used on (Meaning we would need to pay for a ticket) However, Dutch trains are cheap and very efficient, we used them when Travelling to and from Schiphol airport.

I would recommend the Golden tulip as it's clean, Super modern, Great Facilities, Great rooms, Great Breakfast and Great staff! and only a short commute to Amsterdam centre.

I booked this hotel via Travelrepublic and paid £250 (Total cost) for 3 nights, breakfast included for 2 adults in a standard twin room.

Room Tip: Best tip for this hotel is buy a tram pass that cover's the duration of your say, so yuo can rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jon365athen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,920
    1,446
    269
    81
    44
See reviews for
734
1,750
115
234
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

I was appalled when we arrived at how rude the woman on reception was when checking in. We them phoned to request a double bed rather than two singles and she hung up on my girl friend. I then phoned back and she was rude to me and hung up. Then at the bar I ordered one gin and tonic. Then after he poured a requested another one and he said Jesus Christ and was off with me. Terrible customer service

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We werent supposed to be staying at this hotel but were transferred here after a technical error, and I am so pleased we were. The facilities were amazing, the room was perfect and came with a coffee machine and tea and coffee! The breakfast was incredible as was the buffet dinner! I would recommend this to anyone staying in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2013

My husband and I stayed for 13 nights at this hotel and cannot fault it! It was the perfect location for our needs - 5-10 minutes walk from Sloterdijk station or a tram ride from the centre of Amsterdam. The room was spacious, comfy and quiet, the walk-in shower was fabulous and the breakfast and evening meals were excellent. My husband and I would especially like to thank Bharat and his team for their welcome at breakfast, and Marcel and Desiree for befriending us and encouraging us to practice our Dutch, which we are learning. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerry w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel in May for our four night trip to Amsterdam. Absolutely cannot fault it at all, the rooms were amazing and the bed was so comfy! We had a huge room and bathroom including walk in shower. You can get two trams into the centre, make sure you buy the 72 hour pass as it's a lot cheaper to travel around rather than paying separate. We paid for breakfast one morning, it was expensive but definitely worth it. Also the staff were all really nice especially the bar lady! Great hotel :-)

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Christie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2013

had a 2 night stay in this brilliant hotel.The standard rooms although not large are extremely comfortable with a superb walkin shower and bathroom,The room also has a neopresso machine and mini bar.

We enjoyed the evening buffet which had a great selection equally the breakfast sets you up for the day,highly recommended,

The location is a 2 tram ride to the dam centre and only takes 15 mins.

overall we really enjoyed this hotel and would use again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anthony g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Volkshotel
#41 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 368 in Amsterdam
4,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Property: Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Address: Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Tulip Amsterdam West welcomes you in Amsterdam! It has a restaurant which is open for breakfast and dinner, and a nice non-alcohol bar for lunch, bites and refreshments. The hotel has a lounge and business centre, two meeting rooms and a parking garage underneath the hotel. Situated just of exit 103 of the A10 ring way, Sloterdijk train station is just around the corner (5 min walk), and the city is only a tram ride away (15 min). Whether you come to our city for business or pleasure, by car or public transport, we are the ideal start of your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Prestigia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing