We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Ranked #55 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed here for four days at the beginning of November. It was easy to get here from the airport by catching a train to Sloterdijk station (just a short inexpensive journey) and then walking for about 10 minutes to get to the hotel. From the station hall, look for the exit leading to the buses and trams, go down the stairs and keep straight on, with the rail tracks on your left side. You'll pass a small café, like an old railway carriage. The footpath transfers to the other side of the road, and goes under a big road bridge. Keep following the road as it curves right then cross over when you see the Golden Tulip ahead and follow the road as it goes left. Cross over the tram tracks and go along the side of the hotel to the glass entrance porch. It's really very straightforward and an easy walk.
When we arrived, before being given a room, we asked if it was possible to have a room on a higher floor, as we'd read on Trip Advisor that these were good. The receptionist searched carefully for us and found us a splendid room on the sixth floor. We only learned later that this was a 'Comfort Room' which was large, nicely furnished and as the title suggests, very comfortable.
On our first day we had a small expedition searching for somewhere to eat in the vicinity. We found several restaurants but they were a bit of a walk and since it was raining by the time the evening meal time came we decided to eat in. There was such a good choice of excellent food that we ate in every evening from then on! Our upgraded room also went with a free bottle of wine if two people ate in, so we were doubly lucky. The breakfasts too were lovely, with lots of choice and very good food. The only thing to criticise was the scrambled egg, which you might want to avoid in favour of the freshly cooked omelettes...
We found the staff unfailingly helpful and pleasant. Each room has a wonderful Nespresso coffee machine, and the staff at reception are happy to give you more supplies if you run out. Decaffeinated coffee capsules are available, but as I need decaffeinated tea too, I took my own teabags and dried milk powder - the machine will do just hot water if you need it.
We bought 4 day travel passes at reception, which covered all our tram journeys. It's useful to have a printout of the tram routes to plan your journeys - there are computers and a printer available to use near the dining room. You swipe your tram pass on a reader inside the tram when you get on, and swipe it again on a reader inside by the door when you get off. The entrance and exit to each tram is through different doors, and there's a helpful conductor in a centrally positioned part of the tram if you need to buy a ticket. It's important to remember to swipe the card as you get off or otherwise it becomes invalid. The name of the next station is displayed in the tram, so choose a seat from which you can see the display board.
The tram outside the hotel is the 12, and goes direct to the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh Museum. It needs 2 trams to get to other places of interest, but isn't difficult. When we were there, there was a diversion for the 1,2 and 5 which were turning left after the Rijksmuseum instead of going straight up to the Dam.
We would certainly stay at this hotel again, for the comfortable well-equipped and modern room, and for the wonderful food. It's not difficult to get into the centre of Amsterdam using the trams, and the area around the hotel feels safe and mostly residential. There is a busy road along the front of the hotel - we enjoyed the view of it from the 6th floor! - but the glazing is good and no noise reached the room. Altogether an excellent place to stay.

Room Tip: We loved our room on the sixth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wendyp50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,941
    1,465
    273
    88
    46
See reviews for
745
1,774
116
238
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This was the second time in a few months that we stayed in the Golden Tulip. I love this hotel, the staff, rooms, food and value are exceptionally good! We had dinner in the buffet restaurant and the quality of food was extremely good with something for the fussiest of eaters, superb value.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosTraynor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, General Manager at Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
So nice to read that we are getting better in the eyes of our guests. Hopefully we can welcome you a third time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

So easy to get to this hotel. The train station is very close, a tram stop is just outside and the airport is only a fifteen minute journey. We came with our young daughter and stayed in the family room. It was smart and had space for us all. The breakfast buffet was a big one, and you had a choice of continental or hot full english. The sausages were delicious. The staff were affable and keen to help. Super hotel where the customer comes first.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tirana, Albania
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

This hotel is located only 5 min by walk from Sloterdijk Station ,which is only one station from Amsterdam Centraa.The area is really nice ,not busy ,you can see only people running or biking.

Late at night we also saw some rabbits near the hotel.

Golden Tulip is very warm & modern .The room was furnished with high quality materials,especially the bathroom.

Cleaning can be better.

Many Thanks ,
E.Prenjasi

Room Tip: Upper rooms have nicer view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megik2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

A great hotel, not in center of Amsterdam, but convenient to reach by tram, only 7.50 for 24 hour tram pass. Only downfall was the food in the bar area. We waited 45 minutes for an omelette, and it was burnt, didn't eat there again, 9.50 for an omelette...outrageous!! Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank EmzyT1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umberleigh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed here in June (but I have only just become a Tripadvisor member!). Excellent location, easy to get to from Schipol airport via train and a short walk. Number 12 tram stops nearby & will take you into town, stops at Museumplein, convenient for the Van Gogh & other museums. Be sure to visit a pub called “In de Wildeman” situated in Kolksteeg for a warm welcome and a comprehensive selection of beers. The hotel room was huge, nice coffee machine, big bed. The food at the hotel was superb, especially the 'live cooking' stir fries - choose all your own ingredients & the chef will cook it there & then, in front of you.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed here 12th November 2013 for 4 nights, wow what amazing hotel, Room was spacious and the bathroom was FAB! We so loved the underfloor heating lush! All the staff were very helpful, and great sense of humour, Hotel location for us was ideal peaceful and quiet, use tram 12 then the tram 14 or 13 take you direct outside magna plaza, we bought av chiparkt card put 20 euros on it lasted 4 days, train tickets are bought at machine, charge 50c extra at desk, Food in dream hotel was good such a variety too choose from, complimentary bottle of wine was a plus, If we come back to amsterdam so would stay at this hotel again, fab place! :-) x

Room Tip: comfort rooms were big enough, plus got 50% off room service and a free bottle of wine, we were on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Volkshotel
#40 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#143 of 367 in Amsterdam
4,980 reviews
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#104 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Property: Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Address: Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Tulip Amsterdam West welcomes you in Amsterdam! It has a restaurant which is open for breakfast and dinner, and a nice non-alcohol bar for lunch, bites and refreshments. The hotel has a lounge and business centre, two meeting rooms and a parking garage underneath the hotel. Situated just of exit 103 of the A10 ring way, Sloterdijk train station is just around the corner (5 min walk), and the city is only a tram ride away (15 min). Whether you come to our city for business or pleasure, by car or public transport, we are the ideal start of your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Southall Travel, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Prestigia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing