We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow what a place!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Ranked #53 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wow what a place!!!”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Loved this hotel, its a little ojut of the way but is only a couple of tram stops away from all the night life which i liked and the reception staff told us exactically what to do and where to go. Everyone was happy and very helpful. The room was a little bit smaller than what i would have liked but for just the two of us it was fine we stayed in 408. very quiet during the night didnt hear anything i.e traffic, room neighbours, people walking past ther door. Big windows but not much of a view. Beds were like laying on a cloud. very clean and free coffee machine aswell. Free wifi with good connection doesnt keep on throwing you out. Breakfast although a bit exspensive was great such a big selection of different foods. we stayed for 2 nights and would definately stay here again!!! thanks!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,751 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,917
    1,441
    269
    81
    43
See reviews for
732
1,748
115
232
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Petersburg, Saint Petersburg City, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Very nice location, close to tram and train station Sloterdijk. Very nice rooms. Clean. Nice Internet. Business center. Not expensive. 4 star +. Very nice bathroom, warm floor. All accessories. Very kind personal.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lev A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Went for a mid-week mini break and had a wonderful stay. Staff are incredibly helpful and friendly. Massive diverse breakfast buffet; while it may look expensive, if you have a large stomach you definitely get your money's worth. Rooms are very clean and modern. The bathroom is incredibly spacious with a large shower stall. Also, heated flooring! (What's not to love?) Good location as well. While not in the city centre, there is a tram stop literally across the street which goes very frequently into town and to a train station where you can catch a train to Schipol airport. Would highly recommend and stay again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank AMT410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

5 mins walk from sloterdijk station room was spacious clean and beds were very comfortable. The dream restaurant was absolutely fantastic staff were very friendly and accommodating this restaurant is 1 of amsterdams gems the only issue I found with this hotel is the fact the bar shuts at 1 am there was no way that I could get a cold beverage anywhere else in hotel or close and when I asked reception they said I would have to wait till breakfast next time I'll be taking bottle water for my room but I will definitely be returning thank you for a pleasant and relaxing stay.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank cafc4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, General Manager at Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you for the nice review. We would like to note that for guests who would like something to drink after 1 at night, the minibar in the room can provide cold drinks if the guest provides us with a creditcard guarantee. If there is a malfuction in the minibar, we can bring something to you, also after one. Hopefully we can welcome you again as our guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I stayed here this month on short personal visit to Amsterdam having made my booking through tripadvisor. The young(inexperienced) reception staff was unwilling to accept a cash deposit in USD(stating that only Euros were accepted) and made me walk to the currency exchange outlet 15mins away. He was quite loud and lacked basic etiquette. I had taken a long flight from Dubai(with an emergency landing inbetween) and was quite tired. They should have been more accommodating.
Rest of my stay was avarage - nothing to write home about...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saikat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

If you do not want to pay center prices but want a nice comfortable affordable hotel then this is it. The hotel was spotless and clean with nice staff and a bar with reasonable bar prices. The only minor issues are a walk fron Sloterdijk station and the journey into the centre. You cannot walk it to the center just buy a day or multi day tram ticket as the number 12 stop opposite the hotel goes very near to the center. We had nice room and it was quiet so after some heady drinking and.... it was nice to go back to the hotel room. Well worth the money if you do not mind the travel into the center of Amsterdamn.

Room Tip: try 432 or this floor as it was away from the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EyeSpy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schweinfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Great hotel! Super close to tram! Great hotel for staying outside of the city. Fabulous breakfast and amazing buffet supper; totally worth the price!!! Parking onsite. Front desk was very helpful with directions.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaraJ4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Volkshotel
#41 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#145 of 367 in Amsterdam
4,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Property: Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Address: Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Tulip Amsterdam West welcomes you in Amsterdam! It has a restaurant which is open for breakfast and dinner, and a nice non-alcohol bar for lunch, bites and refreshments. The hotel has a lounge and business centre, two meeting rooms and a parking garage underneath the hotel. Situated just of exit 103 of the A10 ring way, Sloterdijk train station is just around the corner (5 min walk), and the city is only a tram ride away (15 min). Whether you come to our city for business or pleasure, by car or public transport, we are the ideal start of your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing