We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow this Hotel is amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Ranked #15 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2013

The Andaz Amsterdam is one of the most amazing hotels that I have had the pleasure to stay at.

The hotels service facilities ambience and decor are of a very high standard. If you are looking for a hotel for business or pleasure you can find no better.

Thank you to all the team for a very special stay.

Room Tip: The Anne Frank House is very close, try the cocktail bar and the Spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jason337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,034)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,525 - 1,531 of 2,035 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2013

We had a fantastic stay at the Andaz Amsterdam when visiting the city for a couple of days. Great location, looking straight out onto the Prinsengracht canal. Lovely area of Amsterdam within the Nine Streets, with plenty of restaurants, cafe's and bars around - we had a great time exploring the city from here. So much character about the hotel, with lots of local history represented throughout, while the rooms have great personality, with books and maps a nice little touch. Decor was fantastic, matching tradition with great modern design.

We had dinner in the BlueSpoon restaurant, and were thoroughly impressed. Service was excellent and knowledgeable, yet relaxed and friendly without ever being overbearing.

Great stay, would fully recommend and look forward to staying again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanJCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

I stayed at the Andaz amsterdam recently for a weekend break with my husband.

Check in was very friendly and the welcome glass of wine was a nice touch! The design of the hotel is amazing. Ultra modern, everything shiney and new. Reminded us a lot of the Mondrian South Beach Miami which I believe was designed by the same person. Really good atmosphere.

Throughout our stay we found the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful. Our rate included breakfast which was well worth it. The breakfast was lovely! The location of the hotel is perfect. Surrounded by lovely shops and cafes. Really nice area.

We will definately return! I don't have any negative points about the hotel. It was what we had hoped for and more!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAndazAmsterdam, General Manager at Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Dear Tracey409,
I am glad you liked your stay with us. Thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Best regards
Toni Hinterstoisser
General Manager - Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

The hotel is well located on the Prinsengracht, in one of the quiet parts of that area. The zone of the 'negen straatjes' - a trendy shopping and restaurant area - is just around the corner. And the Leidse Straat and the Dam are on walking distance.

The check in is at a professional level, the rooms are as should be expected in one of the top hotels of Amsterdam. They seem to have been designed by Marcel Wanders. Sometimes a bit complex and sought after but at the right level of comfort, with the usual amenities.

The restaurant part needs improving on two levels:
- service: I'd call it commitment to excellent service; easier said than done; the service is mechanical and not at all enthusiastic or committed;
- the style of the "cuisine" is outdated and a bit suffering from the "big chain" approach and this is no exclusivity for the Andaz (i.e. king crab that doesn't taste any longer as king crab because of too many aromates - large dishes/big portions etc); the skills are present, it just needs updating to the level of light modern cuisine.

For a hotel of this price level, everything must check out well and on this point, there is still some work to do.

Room Tip: garden rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank riva97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAndazAmsterdam, General Manager at Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Dear riva97,

Thank you for staying with us and for your very constructive feedback. Feedback like yours help us to get better and move forward.
I will share your comments with the team and we will work on bringing everything up to par as you expected.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards

Toni Hinterstoisser
General Manager - Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Liked this hotel very much.
Good location on the prinsengracht.
Beautiful room in terms of space and lighting.
Interesting decoration, cool and cosy atmosphere. Liked the "all in" formula for non-alcoholic drinks.
Extremely professional and gentle personnel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrunoMBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAndazAmsterdam, General Manager at Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2013

Dear BrunoMBrussels,
Thank you for staying with us and the nice review.
We hope to see you soon again at the Prinsengracht.
Best regards
Toni
General Manager - Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

What a lovely surprise - I came on business, but this would be a great hotel for any stay. Sadly did not get to check the spa out... but the service was great, the rooms are cool, love the free standing bathroom island, and breakfast was yum (not included in my booking). Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StephanJudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAndazAmsterdam, General Manager at Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2013

Dear StephanJudge,
Thank you for staying with us. We hope that you come back for business or leisure next time.
We are happy that you like the design and the service and we promise to keep the breakfast yummi.
Best regards
Toni
General Manager - Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Spent one night at the new Andaz in Amsterdam. Located in former municipal museum, this is a true gem! Combination of minimalistic and "Dutch Design". From the moment you enter you are their guest. Attentive staff, tasteful design, spacious and well designed rooms and excellent restaurant (Blue Spoon), serving fresh local produce. We had the Tomahawk steak! The juiciest steak you can imagine, and from Holland (which is better known for pork & lamb)! The rooms have their own Nespresso coffee maker and all non-alcoholic drinks included.
The location is perfect! Nice specialty (mom & pop) stores around the corner and walking distance to Spui, Kalverstraat and other important attractions.

Room Tip: I was with my son and needed two twins. We stayed on 5th (top) floor and besides big window had this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAndazAmsterdam, General Manager at Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2013

Dear RobertV,
Thank you for the nice review and for choosing Andaz Amsterdam!
We are very happy that you were satisfied with your experience at our hotel.
Make sure to let us know when you come back so that we can have your favorite room ready for you.
Best regards
Toni
General Manager - Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 373 in Amsterdam
862 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,671 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,177 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Address: Prinsengracht 587, 1016 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £224 - £466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing