We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good service, ok rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Ranked #14 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very good service, ok rooms”
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Staff is very well trained and attentive right from the moment you are walking into the hotel. Complementary drink when checking in and between 17.00 and 19.00 (?) is a nice extra. If you choose to drink at the bar instead you have to be prepared to pay quite lot ( e.g 15,- for a GT), but that is not much different in other 5 star hotels.
The gym is quite small, but has all you need, good equipment and free bottles of water and towels.
The rooms are quite stylish, but definitely not my style ( a question of taste of course). Too overwhelming and too much, somehow gives it a kind of cheaper look and feel. Materials used in bathroom and toilet also do not have a top quality look, although it is definitely ok. Would definitely have preferred a much bigger mirror in the bathroom, not outside. Matrass is good
The (free) bicycle rental service is great. It is so much more fun to explore the city on the bike and it saves time and tired feet as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vacationjudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,882 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,489
    273
    75
    29
    16
See reviews for
276
923
93
264
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Very welcoming reception, large quiet room view of the garden.
The decor is very contemporary and fun at the same time
The first day my breakfast was 45' late and they apologized a lot and gave it to me free.
Next time I go to Amsterdam I will stay at the Andaz again ..

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the garden, very silent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lahulpe80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west sussex, england
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

A wonderful experience with helpful staff. The room, although not enormous, was marvellous with a large walk in shower, dressing table and walk in wardrobe and together with theview of the canal this room did not disappoint in any way.

Room Tip: If you opt for a canal view be prepared for a some noise at the weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k_flossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hollywood, CA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This is a fine hotel, but it lacks warmth and good customer service.
We booked our room through Jetsetter, so we didn't expect much, and I'm glad about that. Our room overlooked the interior lobby, no exterior view at all. And the "bathroom" was in the middle of the room with zero privacy. When stepping in and out of the shower, you are in plain view of the rest of the room. The hotel is new, and it feels new...it's clean and well-appointed, with a very comfortable bed, and complimentary Nespresso in the room. The location of the hotel is perfect...very central and beautiful...and the lobby bar is great and has a wonderful cocktail menu...but my problem with this hotel was the absolutely horrible customer service.

There is no formal front desk at this hotel, they utilize three open round tables in the lobby, with ipads and laptops. It feels very disorganized and confusing. The "front desk" staff was cold and unwelcoming. When we arrived and finally figured out who among the crowd were the employees, they took our name and checked if the room was ready. But the person helping us couldn't figure this information out with her laptop, so she had to radio to someone else to ask, and then she disappeared. A few minutes later, someone else asked us if we were being helped, and we told her we were. She disappeared. Finally, after being asked by four different people if we were being helped, someone actually stuck around was able to help us. They handed us a room key, and that was it. They didn't ask for ID or passport, and didn't even take a credit card to have on file. Nobody offered to show us to the room. We were just given the room key and sent on our way. We were told that our bags, which had been left at the hotel earlier before check-in, would be waiting in the room. Well, some of them were. One was missing, and we were given a bag that wasn't ours. This was quickly straightened out, though.

And then there was check-out. Another confusing mess in the lobby of too many employees scrambling around, not really knowing what they were doing. A very friendly man offered to help us check out on his ipad, but when he realized that we had an outstanding balance to settle (because they didn't take a credit card at check-in), he told us that he couldn't help us with that, and told us to wait for one of the other employees who could. We ended up waiting 20 additional minutes for someone to help us.
Bottom line is that this hotel really needs to work on their customer service...we felt like unwelcome house guests. We ended up spending our last night in Amsterdam at the Hotel Pulitzer which was less expensive and a million times better.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erc421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

Very trendy hotel that reflect the Andaz concept
It a nice new stylish hotel

Very nice location on the canal with a nice view from the room that is well equiped

If u r looking for a errorless experience this is your hotel but if u r enjoying the city and only booking a hotel to sleep u will definitly find it expensive


  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zee71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I will definitely stay here again! In my opinion, this is one of the best hotels in Amsterdam!!! This new hotel offers nothing but the best. The staff provides the most friendly service and goes above and beyond to make sure you have everything you need. They are extremely efficient and are always attentive. I felt quite at home. The food at this hotel is also worth a try. Great atmosphere and high quality meals! This hotel is located right on the beautiful Prinsengracht canal in the Jordaan district. It is close enough to walk to everything but far enough from the crazy crowds. The room was amazing, clean and very comfortable...a good size for a couple. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Express T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

You will not easy to find the hotel as it is not in the main street, hotel main entrance is facing to canal but i feel okay and it is only about 4-5 mins walk to get tram or some shops and resturants. I take taxi from train station to the hotel cost Euro 15, cheaper than what i expected. Overall staff service is good and helful but can be better. Hotel lobby decoration is trendy but bit too small. There is a lounge just next to the lobby, you can stay there for a rest and enjoy some wine during the evening hour and it is free of charge. We've got an upgrade to a conor room on 4/F, size is spacious and with i-pod dock and coffee machine but no view can see from the window. Again, trendy hotel nowadays like to make the toilet and bathroom seperate but it is not good for friends or colleagues stay a room together.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eastway501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 368 in Amsterdam
708 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,290 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,582 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,701 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Property: Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Address: Prinsengracht 587, 1016 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing