We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a good one!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Ranked #14 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This has got to be the coolest hotel I've stayed in. This was our first time to Amsterdam and I am so happy I picked this hotel to stay in. Located in the perfect location of the town with shopped and restaurants all around right on the canal. Friendly staff and cool and swanky bar was great. The rooms are very comfortable and decorated funky and fun. All I can say is this a great hotel in a fantastic town.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joolsforester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,987)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,366 - 1,372 of 1,988 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

I've been to Amsterdam several times, mostly on business, and this is my absolute favorite hotel to stay at! The rooms are comfortable, the staff is helpful, the decor is unlike anything you've ever seen and the location is wonderful. If you've never been to Amsterdam, splurge on the Canal-view room. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

So many cool, chic hotels believe that their service can be second rate. Not at the Andaz. This hotel chain knows that most travelers who select these types of properties have stayed in other beautiful hotels. What visitors want more than anything is great and attentive service. And here you get it.

The hotel lobby is extraordinary. The rooms are spacious and funky (ask for a room overlooking the canal). The location is great. The food is wonderful (order the Herring salad). But more than that, every one who works there, understands the meaning of hospitality.

We have become Andaz converts, having stayed at their property in Savannah Georgia. The service there was also incredible. And that is why we chose the Andaz in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: select a room overlooking canal. ask for extra blanket for bed if you visit in the winter. also ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCMomInChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

It is good to see real 5 star hotel service still exists! I spend a lot of time at high end hotels on both business and pleasure, and in the last 5 years few have impressed me as much as this one. The property is stunning, unique and romantic! The service was seamless, everything seemed easy and all needs were pre-empted and met even before you ask. Although I have dined at andaz in NYC this was the first stay and will be looking for the brand for future trips. And when returning to Amsterdam this is where we would stay.

Room Tip: Tee up a canal view room, the expense is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RalitzaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Marcel Wanders outdid himself with the design of this fabulous hotel, formerly a dilapidated library on one of the most famous " grachten" (canals).  Lots of superimposed items, as is Wanders' signature style, such as the gigantic bells / lamps over the " check in" area, which is more like a hangout place anyway, and the giant statues. The rooms show evidence of this style as well, with a giant wallpapered fish right over the bed, which looks quite real and not flat al all. There are many authentic Dutch touches all throughout the room, from a wallpapered Delfts Blue bathroom to the dressing table (in the middle of the room) inspires by the famous "Amsterdammertjes" which are concrete poles preventing cars to park in many places of the city.  I can talk about the bed (fabulous), the location (in walking distance of many museums, prime shopping, the food etc., but it's all about the design of the hotel - in one word FANTASTIC.
One thing that bothered me was the smell in the hallways. It smelled of old carpet, which might have been a remnant of the old library but it quite offensive, and on at least 2 floors. If the rooms would have smelled like the hallway, I would not have been able to stay.  

.

Room Tip: Book a room with a view of the canal, it's so worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsklnknbrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
61
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed here in March this year and I just loved it. Artsy hotel with beautiful and modern rooms right in front a nice canal in the canal loop area, close to nice shops and restaurants. Check in was the nicest I've ever experienced. Would definitely stay there again

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

my Wife and I stayed at the Andaz in Amsterdam located on the beautiful Prinsengracht canal between Septemeber 13-15.

First and foremost, I must give a compliment to Manuel at the front desk. A wonderfully funny and exceptionally helpful man who had many ideas for us regarding food and places to see. It wasn't my first trip to Amsterdam (I've been about 4 or 5 times in my life) but he gave us some insider information and some recommendations for places that were in plain sight yet I had never noticed in my previous trips. The great service from Manuel started upon check in. We arrived at 8 AM and eventhough check in isn't until the afternoon (and it was a very busy weekend with some sort of television based conference in town) he was quick to offer my wife and I coffee and beer (respectively) complimentary as he figured out a way to get us a room ASAP (Which, he did. we were able to shower and unpack by 10 AM and hit the town!)

the rooms are done in a tastefully modern style with hints of Dutch-ness all over.

The mini-bar has complimentary drinks and snacks that get replenished once a day...a fantastic concept that I wish more hotels back in the States did. Complimentary water bottles and coffee in the lobby was nice to grab on the way out toward the city center.

breakfast at the restaurant is a choice of a buffet or a chef-prepared meal.

the hotel itself is a 10 minute walk from the city center ( a leisurely 10 minutes) and is located close to both "de 9 straates" and the Joordan neighborhood. Many restaurants and cafes are located close by and the view from the lobby of the majestic canals can't be beat.

if you are looking for a new hotel that really strives to please, the Andaz must be on your list

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#11 of 372 in Amsterdam
790 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,357 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,633 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,129 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Address: Prinsengracht 587, 1016 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £260 - £496 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing