We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved this place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Ranked #13 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Philadlephia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“We loved this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

My wife and I spent the past long weekend here and loved it. The room was spectacular, the staff extremely friendly and accommodating, the breakfasts were divine, and most of all we loved the unlimited 24/7 coffee and snacks in the library. The neighborhood is wonderful - close to everything. No complaints - everything was great and we can't wait to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajlcdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-AndazWS, General Manager at Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Dear ajlcdl,
Thank you for your short and sweet review of our hotel.
We are very happy that you liked your stay.
Be back soon!
Toni Hinterstoisser
General Manager - Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,352
    238
    65
    24
    14
See reviews for
235
834
86
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

I can't say enough good things about this hotel. From the moment our cab dropped us outside we felt welcome and at home. Check in was a breeze on an iPad sitting in lounge chairs with coffee. After that was taken care of we were shown to a stunning room overlooking the canal. The room was modern but still very warm and inviting with decor evoking a cool Dutch vibe. Bathroom was fun with the vanity in the room, the toilet walls covered in Amsterdam history, and the shower was great. We really enjoyed the books that in are the rooms and the complimentary healthy minibar was filled with yummy snacks. The location is close to everything you want to see and do.

The service in this hotel was some of the best I have had anywhere I've been. The staff was very attentive to detail, remembering drink preferences and calling us by name. The desk had great restaurant recommendations sending us to really interesting and tasty restaurants. They arranged tours for us and let us know the best times to see attractions to beat the crowds. The bar and restaurant servers were efficient and informative. Every person I encountered there seemed to really enjoy what they do and it shows.

We ate several times in the restaurant and bar. The food was excellent and beautifully presented. The drink menu was really interesting cocktails. It was really fun to watch the bartenders carefully mix the delicious drink. The complimentary wine and snacks in the library was great to come back to after a long day of museums and walking. We always brewed a coffee to go in the morning on our way out.

I would stay here again in an instant!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chi_Expl0rer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-AndazWS, General Manager at Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Dear Chi_Expl0rer,
Thank you for choosing Andaz Amsterdam for your visit in April 2013. I want to thank you for taking the time to wirte us your review after almost one year. I am very happy that we left you with a positive impact and I hope we will see you and your family soon again in Amsterdam and in our hotel.
Toni Hinterstoisser
General Manager - Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

My husband and I spent a lovely weekend at this hotel. The building has the most interesting architecture and decorations, which added to the enjoyment of our stay. When we arrived, the staff offered us coffee and got us museum tickets while we were enjoying our coffee. The staff was very helpful, including calling every Indonesian restaurant in the city when we didn't have a dinner reservation for Saturday night. There is complementary coffee all day, which is great for those of us with jet lag, and complementary wine before dinner. Both were served in the "library" which was an attractive little room/

Our hotel room was particularly interesting. One could spend hours reading the walls of the toilet room. The bathroom is sort of integrated into the room rather than a separate room, which isn't my preferred arrangement, but was fine.

The only thing that wasn't perfect was the TV in our room wasn't working right, but the staff was apologetic and helpful about getting it fixed.

Room Tip: I think there might be interior rooms, so make sure you get an exterior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boysmomNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
233 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

This Marcel Wanders designed Andaz hotel is truly wonderful. The design of everything big or small is very nicely coordinated even when they go out on a limb like with the lighting of the enterance hall. The eye for detail is magnificent. And of course the room was great. Very good breakfast too. Very attentive and helpful staff. Why not a 5? At breakfast we had to ask for our coffee two or three times… the only minus of the whole stay. And of course they should add Laphroig to their single malt selection in the bar ,-)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank platinumcitytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

We loved the hotel from the minute we arrived. All the staff were very good. The hotel looks really excellent and perfect boutique hotel in great location in Amsterdam. The hotel had upgraded us to a large garden view room, as we were travelling with our 5 year old son. The room was really good size, had everything you would need.
What makes the hotel special is the staff, location and all the small touches such as free coffee and muffins in the morning, and wine between 5 and 7 in the evening.
We would really love to stay in this hotel again, and has set the standard for hotel stays going forward.

Room Tip: I would really recommend the large garden room, very quiet and big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gull5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Such a great hotel. The location is fantastic and beautiful. Their attention to detail made it a great stay. Upon arriving we were offered wine and told that between 5-7pm there was a seperate wine room for guests. Moments after we got to our room, someone knocked on the door and gave us a cupcake (it was valentines day). Staff/concierge were young, knowledgable and eager to help. They also had great recs. Nice touch that you can also take beverages and snacks from
Mini bar.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Jade B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

We visited Amsterdam this weekend and based on Tablet Hotels and MrandMrsSmith, we went with the Andaz for our long weekend stay! From the moment we entered the lobby to departing this afternoon, we experienced amazing customer service! The staff FOH and BOH go out of their way for you and also remember a few things about you which is special! The hotel itself is stylishly decorated and rooms are very spacious! Their breakfast buffet is really lovely and I looked forward to this. Every evening from 5-7pm they offer guests complimentary wine which is a fantastic touch. Also, non alcoholic mini bar drinks are free ... Again something not expected and a treat! Location wise it is great! Very close to the stylish 9 streets shopping area and a 15 walk to the central old town.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alexhomme_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#4 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,464 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#5 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Property: Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Address: Prinsengracht 587, 1016 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Hotels.com so you can book your Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing