We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel to stay in Amsterdam.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Ranked #14 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel to stay in Amsterdam.”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Located in one of the most prestigious districts in Amsterdam, Hotel Andaz Hyatt is absolutely the right place to stay.
The location of the hotel is perfect: it’s far from the crowds, but close to all the important attractions in the city.
Andaz is a carefully decorated design hotel. The stylish built and decorated common areas and rooms are comfortable, relaxing and unique.
Most of the rooms view the canal and provide all the facilities to enjoy the great atmosphere of Amsterdam.
The team is perfect. Besides giving you information about every single attraction in the town, they do their very best to reserve your table at the best restaurants in the city or book the best trip to discover Amsterdam and the nearby towns.
The “library room” reserved for hotel guests is a perfect place to spend some time after or before an enjoyable day in Amsterdam. Coffee, wine, snacks are available in this room and most hotel guests benefit from this complimentary service with pleasure.
We will surely use this “value for money” hotel on our further visits to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Feray K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,442
    263
    70
    27
    15
See reviews for
256
895
92
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for four days in early April. Everything was perfect. Room great, service even better. The charm and friendliness of the staff was amazing. Would stay here anytime. Loved everything. Wish I had time to visit the spa. Will be back and will stay in these a hotels again!!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank joanne7575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-AndazAMS, General Manager at Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Joanne7575,
It was great to have you as our guest recently. Thank you for your nice review.
We will make sure to have you visit the spa next time you come.
Hope to see you soon again.
Toni
General Manager - Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Just stayed at Andaz for 4 nights, outstanding service from concierge to dining , great location , fantastic rooms, fun , quirky, ultra modern hotel, would highly recommend it, excellent for children, free happy hour, outstanding coffees and biscuits available throughout the day, cannot fault this hotel in any way

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BelleSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-AndazAMS, General Manager at Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear BelleSouthAfrica,
We are very happy you liked your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
Let us know if you are coming back to Amsterdam anytime.
Toni
General Manager - Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

The Andaz is making a name for itself as a hip boutique style hotel chain. The one in Amsterdam is full of young energy. The decor is fun and trendy: whimsical "Alice in Wonderland fused with classic Dutch" . The rooms are sleek and accommodate those who are not physically challenged - there are platform beds that tend to be a little low, lighting is more of a "mood" type so it can be considered dimly lit in the bed area, and the bathroom is partly in the open space near the bed (sink and vanity). That said, the room is very chic and comfortable if you are ok with that type of layout.
The lobby has luxurious seating and a wonderful view of the street and canal. The library offers a nice place to relax before the day gets going and a European style expresso/coffee self serve machine is there for guest use, and fresh baked muffins and fruit are offered complimentary. In the afternoon complimentary wine and crackers are offered in this area. So it is also a great space to wind down after a busy afternoon. The restaurant is above average offering a farm to table style of menu. The prep kitchen is in open view and it adds to the lively atmosphere of the hotel. Staff is exceptionally friendly. They are young and eager to please. If you are looking for Old World charm and sophistication this is not your place - but if you are looking for chic with a young twist, this place is for you.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cyclechick62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-AndazAMS, General Manager at Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear cyclechick62,
Thank you for taking the time to write your detailed review about our hotel.
I am very happy you liked your stay. It seems you fully immersed into the Andaz spirit.
Hope to see you soon again in Amsterdam.
Toni
General Manager - Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Your cab pulls up, and the same person who shows you to a seat in the lobby brings you a coffee, checks you in, and shows you to your room. The decor is really fun. Luxurious but anything but stuffy. Quiet. Wonderful linens. But what really sets this place apart is the SERVICE. The desk staff couldn't be better. Great directions, wonderful restaurant recommendations, and genuinely friendly. When they heard that my partner and I had gotten married, they sent a bottle of champagne and flowers to the room. I don't often "splurge" on a really good hotel, but Andaz Amsterdam is so worth it.

Room Tip: We asked for a room facing the courtyard just because it's SO quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tucsontravelertom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-AndazAMS, General Manager at Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Tuscontravelertom,
first of all, congratulations to you and your partner!
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in Amsterdam.
I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that my team was able to leave such a positive impression.
Hopefully we will see the two of you at an anniversary trip here in Amsterdam.
Toni
General Manager - Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Love the rooms, comfortable, quiet and very stylish. Love the little stories and anecdotes to be found all around the hotel. Andaz serves the best hotel breakfast to be had in very smart surroundings, with open kitchen and an amasing backyard, devoted to Alice in Wonderland. The location is perfect for a stroll around the nine streets. Bar drinks and snacks way too expensive in comparison to surrounding places. Apart from pricy food, this is definately one of the very best hotels in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hildur O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-AndazAMS, General Manager at Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Hildur O,
It was great to have you with us recently and, thank you for taking the time to write the nice review. I am very happy you liked the hotel and also the restaurant food. We are very proud to use almost only locally sourced ingredients and show to our guest what Holland has to offer.
Looking forward to welcoming you again soon.
Toni
General Manager -Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Andaz Amsterdam for two nights in April and enjoyed the hotel immensely. We were proactively greeted outside on arrival by a gentleman who would help us all through checkout. The Andaz philosophy is not to divvy up tasks (Concierge, door man, front desk, etc.) but to empower all of their front office staff to play all different types of roles. So the person who met us at the door and helped with our luggage, checked us in. The person who we inquired about bicycle use was the one who brought the bikes up from the garage. I really liked this way of running things.

We were in room 317 which looked out into the interior covered atrium, which was a bit odd. Our stay was on points so we may have gotten the bottom-of-the-barrel room, but you may wish to ask for a room that faces the outdoors even if it is not canal view. This being said, the room was nice. The bed was comfy and all needs were met. The hotel is uniquely designed, which is great, but after about two days the novelty slightly wore off and the giant fish painted on the wall (wallpaper?) began to get old. If you like a basic traditional hotel, this place may not be for you.

The hotel offers five bicycles for guest use on a first come first serve basis. We tried them out for morning and they are fine, if not great. One of our seats wouldn't stay at the set height and the tires were low in air on both bikes. Although good for a short jaunt around the neighborhood, if you want to go further afield or use the bikes for a longer time you may just wish to rent a bike. You can probably count on them being better maintained.

We did not eat at the restaurant on site or try out the bar but both looked to be quite popular. The Andaz is in a great neighborhood. There are tons of botique shops, cafes and restaurants right around the corner and you are not too far from the more hectic Leidesplain. The hotel is roughly a 30 minute walk from the main train station or, if you are coming from the airport, the end of bus route 197 is 15-20 minutes away.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sundinkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-AndazAMS, General Manager at Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear sundinkc,
Thank you for your recent stay with us and also for your nice and informative review.
I have taken note of your comments and we will act on the bike seat promptly. For your next stay, try one of our large garden or large canal view rooms. We also have 16 different fish around the selection of rooms in the hotel. So, for sure, next time the look is going to be different.
Let me know when you plan to come next time.
Toni
General Manager - Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#13 of 367 in Amsterdam
612 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,235 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 367 in Amsterdam
949 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#16 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Property: Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Address: Prinsengracht 587, 1016 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing