We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renewed my faith in chain hotels Exquisite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Ranked #14 of 369 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Renewed my faith in chain hotels Exquisite”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Loved, loved, loved our stay at the Andaz Amsterdam. The staff could not have been more welcoming. And our room was ready for early arrival at no cost. We were only able to get a king bed using points, but after one night we were thrilled to be moved to a room with two doubles overlooking a beautiful garden. Bowie, Fleur and Manuel were particularly helpful - I wish I knew some of the other names as well. The bar was comfortable and reasonable. And there was a free happy hour every day at 5:00PM in the Library. I now wish we had tried their restaurant; it look very nice. A wonderful 4 night stay; was sad to leave.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aretha23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,893 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,498
    274
    76
    29
    16
See reviews for
283
926
93
264
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
La Bassee, France
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We had a business dinner organised at the Andaz Amsterdam Prisengracht during an international professionnal fair. This dinner was a success from A to Z. The location is perfect, the hotel is superb, the team is very professional and kind, the food is gorgeous... Do not hesitate if you have a business dinner to organise in Amsterdam this is a great spot.
Our dinner took place in the Studio 1 which is decorated in a modern and tasteful style.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DECITEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

as far as atmosphere and outstanding service go, the andaz cannot be beat (1 note - there are no bellmen, so be prepared to bring your bags into the lobby - from there 1 of the front office staff will happily take your bags to your room) - all the staff members are personally invested in making sure that your stay is as enjoyable as possible and we'd give them 6 stars if possible
the location of course is perfect on 1 of the picturesque canals of beautiful amsterdam
our only complaint is that the bath facilities are 'modern' in the sense of providing no real separation between shower and bedroom - so after stepping out of the shower stall, you will be in full view of the bedroom - there is a completely ineffectual curtain between that area and the foyer, but that does nothing to provide privacy for the person drying off

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2ruse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

This was our first time in Amsterdam and our experience was totally positive. Your hotel, suggested by our favorite travel agent Lucie of Voyages Vasco, punctuated our experience with the word excellent. The interior is a nice mix of vintage and very modern. The Andaz's location is superb, within walking distance of many attractions, but still quiet. It also gave us a front seat view of the fun & craziness of King's day on the Prinsengracht canal! The lobby, bar and library area are lovely and the round reception tables are both unique and efficient. Everytime we entered the hotel we were greated by very friendly and interested staff. Thanks also to Joyce for her excellent restaurant suggestions. If we ever return to Amsterdam, the Andaz will certainly be our first choice hotel!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed over Easter in the recently opened Andaz Amsterdam. The hotel was perfect to a point. Great rooms, super friendly staff and wonderful food. The hotel rooms are uber modern and extremely pleasing to stay in.

The hotel Is also in a great location to explore the City.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank alan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, California
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My partner and I were in Amsterdam for King's Day this year. We typically stay at a friend's place but this year we weren't able to so we booked a room at Andaz. It's in a really convenient location on Prinsengracht, just a block or two from 2 different major tram stops so accessing public transportation is easy. Or just walk! That's typically what we did. We arrived REALLY early after having taken an overnight train from Zurich and even though we were showing up at like 10:00 AM, our room was just about ready when we got there. We did have to wait about 20 minutes, but they gave us coffee and there's comfortable seating to wait in.

OVERVIEW: We were in a Canal View King room, which overlooks the Prinsengracht canal. The hotel's decor is really modern, very clean lines and a little bit of funky decor. The hotel is in a building that use to be a library so that factors into the decor pretty prominently. We really liked it and would definitely return. The lobby has music playing all the time, there's a lounge where they have coffee and evening cocktails, and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

CLEANLINESS: Absolutely spotless. Couldn't have been any more clean.

BEDDING: While the room that we booked was listed as a "Canal View King" the bed was definitely not a king sized bed. It was more like a queen sized bed. Regardless, the bed was very comfortable and had this very cool glass headboard which was super modern, while being very comfortable to sit up against while having coffee or surfing the internet.

BATHROOM: The layout of the room is whacky, and sort of kinky. There's a very nice toilet in its own room (complete with wallpaper that talks about various aspects of Amsterdam's history so you can learn a little bit while you're doing your business). Then there's the shower. The shower is a good size shower that's behind what looks like a mirrored wall. You open one panel of the mirror and step into the shower, which has a rainfall overhead fixture. The cool thing about the shower is that it's basically a one-way mirrored surface so while you're showering you can see what's going on in the room outside. Sort of kinky and voyeuristic if you're into that kind of thing.

LOCATION: As mentioned, great location right on Prinsengracht. Amsterdam is so small and walkable that if you're anywhere on the canals you're in a good spot.

NOISE: During the day there's a small amount of noise from the street or canal, but at night we didn't notice anything (of course, we didn't get in until late each night and had plenty to drink so we just kind of plopped down and were out until 11:00 in the morning!).

VIEW: Our room had two very narrow windows that did overlook the canal, but they weren't the types of windows you could sit there and look out for extended periods of time. Basically you'd walk up to the window, look out, say "oh, there's the canal" and that's it. I mostly had booked this room thinking that if during the day we stopped back in our room we could have a view of the canal where all the festivities were going on. That was pretty much of a waste because we were out sitting on the banks of the canal the whole day. If I booked this hotel again I probably wouldn't pay for the canal view again. We did note that on the emergency exit floorplan on the door it looks like some of the other rooms have better window arrangements. Our room, and several others along the front of the hotel, have large structural beams in them so you get one tall narrow window on one side, then the beam, then another tall narrow window on the other side. Judging from the floorplan it looks like some of the other rooms may have a better window arrangement where they're more central and next to each other.

RESTAURANT: There is a restaurant in the hotel, but we didn't eat there.

INTERNET: The WiFi was included and was pretty reliably fast.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 369 in Amsterdam
711 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 369 in Amsterdam
1,292 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 369 in Amsterdam
2,584 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 369 in Amsterdam
2,705 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 369 in Amsterdam
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Property: Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Address: Prinsengracht 587, 1016 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 369 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing