We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing room and comfy bed.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Ranked #15 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I would definitely stay at the Andaz again. Practically everything was within walking/biking distance. The hotel and staff were wonderful. Different layout for a room. Interesting artsy decor. Very clean. Loved my stay here. Be careful if you ride a bike in Amsterdam...it was quite an adventure. Nothing quite like it. Happy that I survived without incident. I MISS YOU AMSTERDAM!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teetime42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,088)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,287 - 1,293 of 2,088 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

Contemporary, hip, and comfortable. Wonderfully located, great staff. Bikes for free rental. Overall, a fantastic experience - I highly recommend the hotel for any type of visit to Amsterdam. Breakfast is also great!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janyyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed at the hotel Andaz for 3 days and absolutely loved everything about this hotel!
Our room was great (room 334), comfortable beds, great amenities loved the design, the shower is great and the free mini bar (non alcoholic) is a real bonus!
Had a hot stone massage at the spa which was very pleasant - the spa only has a sauna but I would recommend it for its treatments.
The highlight of our stay was probably the breakfast at the Bluespoon restaurant - the variety is huge and the quality is impressive (smoked salmon, French & dutch cheese, many different breads, eggs cooked to perfection, typical dutch pancakes, cold cuts, granola, pastries - everything you could wish for... and more!). The service was efficient and very friendly.
We also had dinner at the Bluespoon, and once again it was a 10/10 (go for the crab & avocado salad followed by the beef tartare, delicious!!)
Also the 5pm-7pm "Happy Hour" offering red wine, crisp French white wine (for free) and olives in the library was very nice and unusual.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone planning a trip to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Wake up early if you want to borrow one of the hotels 5 bicycles - they are electric blue, have supe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Violette7390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Andaz doesn't give much away from the outside, other than the giant model of a fairy tale young king visible through the heavily smoked glass window. Once you're inside the lobby though the style of the place, (by designer Marcel Wenders) is immediately apparent: crimson tulip shaped chairs, giant bells hanging from the top of the atrium into reception and a video installation based on Botticelli's birth of Venus.
Rooms are equally stylish but maybe a bit too quirky for some: not everyone may like the washbasin in a curtained off part of the bedroom itself, though with the shower and WC separate. Our room was well appointed: flat screen TV, music system, coffee/tea machine, efficient air conditioning and a comfortable bed. It's probably worth paying the extra for a canal view though the windows aren't panoramic.
Breakfast was either a buffet with a perfectly adequate choice of cereals, pastries, fruit , meats and cheeses or freshly prepared cooked selection.
Guests get free wine and snacks in the library from 5-7.00 PM,
Dinner in the restaurant was the biggest surprise and delight, featuring mainly produce sourced in Holland with its place of origin shown on the menu. We had white new season's white asparagus with smoked eel and the best grilled lobster I've had in years.
The location is very good for exploring Jordaan and the Western canals and it's not that far to walk to the museum district or the old town. It's certainly preferable to staying in the centre of town.
All staff, not just front of house, were enthusiastic, helpful and friendly and worked hard to engage with guests.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the canal (rather than the garden) have a nicer view and the excellent sound instal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dr_Bill_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed for 4 night last June. We loved the unusual design, both the lobby and the guest rooms have a unique look with great attention to details (we loved the wall paper in the toilets with bits of Amsterdam history). Even though the room wasn't especially big, it had a wonderful feel to it, thanks to the imaginative design. Very comfy beds! The location is quite central. We had several meals in the hotel restaurant which were quite good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank se9834a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Amazing location, beautiful bedroom, warm service and very design hotel! There is also a spa which is a real plus for the center of town. The staff is very friendly and amenities in the rooms are very well thought of!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Astriddeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Andaz in February 2014 for 4 nights! When we got off the taxi and walked into the reception area, we were both wow wow wow!! This hotel pulls out all the stops in being stylish! Rooms
Decorated very nicely with Nespresso machines - fab idea! Their breakfast is just gorgeous! And we loved the complimentary wine in the evenings! Your staff are very friendly and a great asset too! Great location too! Next to 9 Strata! Well done guys!! Xx

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Alexhomme_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#11 of 376 in Amsterdam
921 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,443 reviews
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#12 of 376 in Amsterdam
568 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 376 in Amsterdam
2,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Address: Prinsengracht 587, 1016 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £229 - £445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Call Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht your home for a truly unique Amsterdam experience. Located in the heart of the city’s historic canal ring, the five star luxury-lifestyle hotel offers an authentic and truly personalized taste of Amsterdam. Even after transforming from the city’s Public Library, into the hotel it is today, you will find the magic of storytelling around every corner. Reflecting its lively surroundings through the adventurous design of world-renowned local designer Marcel Wanders, the hotel offers not merely a place to come home to and relax, but a place that will energise and inspire, enhanced by stylish & spacious guest rooms & suites and Bluespoon, an awarded neighbourhood drinking & dining destinations. Arrive a visitor, depart a local ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing