We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Effortless Style close to the cultural hub of Amsterdam”
Review of Sir Albert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sir Albert Hotel
Ranked #36 of 369 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Effortless Style close to the cultural hub of Amsterdam”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Not try hard, the unique design touches and understated luxurious touches is a welcome breath in a world of so called boutique hotels. Cozy area near reception for aperitifs as well as the uber hip Izakaya den next door are great for both friends, couples and even solo travellers wanting to enjoy the hotel during days of rain and cold weather.
The beautiful staff are charming and willing to go the extra hand without being over bearing. The Illy machines in the room and the welcome Prosecco complete the experience.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuzdelMundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    828
    381
    92
    27
    16
See reviews for
106
768
54
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Linz
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Top Hotel in a central location.
I can really recommend this hotel. Friendly service, free WiFi, comfortable lobby, modern interiors. The rooms could be bigger. Above all, I hope more hangers in the closet.;))

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ckone_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

When my partner and I stayed for a long weekend at the Sir Albert, the hotel had only been open a few months, and two of the floors were still under construction. Despite this, the hotel was terrific! The staff were not just good at their jobs, they showed a genuine interest in their guests, and did everything possible to make us feel at home. The design is very high quality, with a few notes about the guestroom that could be a bit annoying. We were in a standard room, lovely and comfortable, but an unusual design of the toilet/sink/shower. The toilet and shower were in individual small cubicles, both comfortable, the shower with a very good rain shower fixture. The sink was in the guest room itself, which was a bit awkward. There are a few little annoyances - like the blue indicator light on the mirror that seems fine during the day, but is surprisingly bright in the room at night. All of the finishes are dark, including an all-black closet, with no light, which makes finding things a little difficult. Similarly, the corridors are lovely with very low and dramatic lighting, but makes it difficult to find the door lock for the swipe cards. The "do not disturb" electronic sign was difficult to understand, which led the staff knocking on our door several times. All of these issues were small annoyances, and shouldn't put anyone off staying at the hotel. It is an unusually good boutique hotel, and deserves praise!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank architrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Spent 2 night recently in May and this is a lovely new hotel. It is not in the City Center but the tram station is right outside and takes only 10 minutes to the center, Dam Square. The hotel is 3 minutes walk to the famous Albert Cuypmarkt market. The rooms are modern and clean as it is a new hotel opened this year, 2013. Lovely lobby and great customer service. I will not hesitate in staying at this hotel again for my next visit in AMS.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank World_Traveler_Log
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed for three nights in the Sir Albert Hotel and had a great time. The Hotel is very modern and trendy. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Anything we asked for they were very happy to get. The breakfasts in the morning were delicious. Our room was a deluxe one, very modern with a fabulous bed. The one thing we didn't really like was the fact that there was not a separate bathroom. While there was a separate toilet and shower the washbasin was in the bedroom. Although it was very trendy and looked well we would have preferred a separate bathroom. Other than that the hotel is fabulous and in a good location.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sunseeker0069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

This new boutique hotel deserves 5 stars. We stayed here for my husband's birthday trip for 2 nights and had wonderful wonderful time.

The hotel is not in the centre of the city - which is perfect for us as we didn't want to stay near young travelers who are coming to the city to party. The area is a lot quieter than around Dam Sq area and actually have more nice bars, restaurants. So it's not for hen night groups but definitely recommend for couples who looks to have a romantic weekend.
Still the hotel is only 5 min away from the Sq on the tram.

We were so pleased to have the warm welcome from the hotel staff when we arrived.
They sat us down at the reception with welcome drinks and answered all questions we wanted to ask. You will never get this kind of welcoming from American style hotels.
The staff of this hotel are great. They are polite, friendly and helpful.
The room is great too. A lot bigger than usual boutique hotels'.
One thing though... all boutique hotels have this problem... the room can be dark and hard to put make-up on or shave so I will bring a mirror with a light next time lol

The hotel has a Japanese restaurant which seems always busy - unfortunately we didn't have a chance to try but looks very stylish. And surprisingly - although the restaurant was busy, we couldn't hear any noise from the room - which is amazing!

The hotel works so hard and deserve to have good reputation.
Hope it keeps up the great work till we visit again hopefully next year!

And lastly - the bed is so comfortable and good breakfast. Try their butter, it tasted sooo good!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Size3_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Sir Albert was not just good it was excellent. The staff were delightful and so helpful. It was seriously trendy and everything is brand new and very stylishly put together. Perfect for young couples it is in a trendy part of Amsterdam.
We stayed in the cheapest room which was good value for money, very comfortable and stylish. the shower is amazing but there was no bath which is a negative for bath lovers. Still you could not fault the room and the very comfy big bed.
The highlight of the hotel was the Izakaya fusion restaurant which was expensive at about £70 per head however the food was out of this world with delicious sushi/gyozas and amazing fresh warm madelines to finish.
What an amazing place - if you are wondering whether to book - book now!! Would def stay at the other Sir hotels when they open.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natalie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel De Hallen
#29 of 369 in Amsterdam
849 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#24 of 369 in Amsterdam
1,055 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 369 in Amsterdam
2,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 369 in Amsterdam
1,151 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#16 of 369 in Amsterdam
1,290 reviews
Sir Adam Hotel
#26 of 369 in Amsterdam
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Albert Hotel

Property: Sir Albert Hotel
Address: Albert Cuypstraat 2-6, 1072 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp , Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 369 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sir Albert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Amsterdam, Sir Albert is a luxury boutique hotel with the finest design and boutique accommodations. Walking distance of Amsterdam's Museumplein and the vibrant Leidseplein, plus attentive, friendly and faultless service at all times. Sir Albert Hotel is located in the central area "De Pijp". Home to literati, artists, fashion designers, entrepreneurs and the city's most famous market, the Albert Cuyp. De Pijp is also close to the Royal Concertgebouw, for lovers of classical music. Sample Sir Albert firsthand by staying in one of his 90 guest rooms and suites, all created by international award-winning designers BK Architecture. This makes Sir Albert a unique luxury boutique hotel in Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sir Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing