We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique Hotel, Good Location, Helpful Staff”
Review of Sir Albert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sir Albert Hotel
Ranked #36 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Boutique Hotel, Good Location, Helpful Staff”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed at the Sir Albert for 3 nights as part of a package deal.

Location
The Sir Albert is in a great location to explore the city. Just far enough away from the main shopping\bars\attractions for it not to be busy and noisy but not far enough that you have to take a taxi or tram to get anywhere. It's about a 10 min walk to the main shopping district and there are plenty of places to eat and drink close by.

Check In
This was quick and easy, the staff very helpful and attentive. Was given a map of the city with various attractions pointed out which was very helpful.

Room - 322
The room was a good size with modern decor and had nice touches such as remote controlled lighting and a coffee machine, kettle and well stocked mini bar (prices not too bad). The 'rain forest' shower was particularly nice! Only issue was that we had an adjoining room on one side and noise can be heard through the connecting door, so it depends on how noisy the neighbours are as to whether this is an issue. Good TV with a couple of English channels and lots of hotel info.

Restaurant
We didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on the food quality but will say that breakfast did seem a little steep. As with other reviewers, we found that there were plenty of places to get breakfast nearby at a fraction of the price. Must mention a nearby place called 'Bagels and Beans' which did great breakfast deals and really nice bagels and coffee. Also, there is an Irish pub a bit further on which does a full English.

Other
Hotel has free wifi throughout and a nice lounge area with open fire to relax in after a long day walking around the city. I would recommend going to The Heineken Experience, House of Bols, Rijksmuseum and try to do a canal cruise. Would also recommend booking a shuttle bus to and from the airport as this was cheaper than getting a cab.

All in all this is a really nice hotel and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank portmancp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    824
    378
    92
    27
    16
See reviews for
105
765
54
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We had a junior suite on the third floor, we stayed for four nights on a sightseeing, long weekend.
It was our first time together in Amsterdam and this was a very good place to be for us: central, in the de pijp area, but enough away from the actual centre to be peaceful at night. We walked everywhere apart from having cabs from and to the central railway station (we came by Eurostar and Thalys). We walked every day, from the Sir Albert and back, to the Rijksmuseum, the Van Gogh Museum, Rembrandts House, markets and shops and other attractions.
Breakfast was great, a buffet and a cooked menu, I enoyed the full English. We didn't try the Japanese restaurant in the evenings but we did have room service: a really good burger and chips even if it did come in a paper bag. The room was very quiet, the bed very, very comfortable and if having a bathtub actually in the bedroom with us seemed a little strange at first it did play its part in making the fullest use of the space available. I preferred the ample shower room. The staff were very friendly, notably Tim who gave us lots of helpful advice while he helped with our cases.
This was a very clean, modern friendly hotel, very quiet and in a great spot for exploring Amsterdam on foot. Thank you.

Room Tip: Guests told us that the 4th floor rooms were a bit small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnMealyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkhotelamsterdam, General Manager at Sir Albert Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
On behalf of Sir Albert I would like to thank for the amazing review you've left. It was really a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your stay at his private mansion.
Therefore Sir Albert hopes he has the honour to welcome you back someday in the future.
He ask me to send you some greetings.

My kindest regards,

Barbara de Jong
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv District, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed three nights for a convention at the RAI. It's a 20-30 MINUTES walk to the RAI. Got a room at the 4 floor, it was nice, clean and modern. There was some noise from the street, but not too bad. would definitely go back.

Helpful?
1 Thank SimonTriper
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Stayed at Sir Albert regularly over the past few months and is a good option when visiting on business. Out of the main centre, but right in the heart of the de pjip suburb, with plenty of good bars and restaurants.
The rooms are clean, nicely furnished but small. The normal boutique room is great for one person, two might struggle if you have lots of luggage.
Plenty of UK tv channels and free as well as pay Wifi. However both options are fairly duff.
The restaurant is really good, although very very busy.
Staff are excellent and really helpful.
Overall I would recommend but they do need to sort out their wifi!

Room Tip: Back of the hotel is quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichardBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Sir Albert. A great combination of modern and warmth,The staff were very friendly and most helpful. Our room was extremely modern with all mod cons including a great walk in shower. It even had WiFi switching for the lighting. Whilst in a relatively quiet part of the city there are plenty of restaurants close by to choose from. There is even a Coffee Shop just opposite! Also good tram services into the centre and about a 7 minute walk from the Rijksmuseum. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to our friends and family.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front on the 3rd floor. Although trams were passing below they were not at all i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19Kevin40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed the experience of the Sir Albert. First class room and facilities, excellent staff, and I enjoyed the experience of the De Pjip area. Easy access to town, but some excellent bars and restaurants in easy walking distance.

I would absolutely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanmcn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I booked this through last minute.com as one of their secret hotels, It was a really good price so i wasnt expecting much. But wow i was impressed. The location is Average ... 30min walk or bout 4/5 stops on the tram to the centre/dam square. But the De Pijp area is a nice experience too, really nice bars and restaurants and the market.
We were greated at reception with a glass of champagne, easy of check in, and escorted to our room. It was my partners bday which i had mentioned in the booking not thinking anything off, and they wrote a happy bday message on paper and the tv, and left balloons on our bed. The bed was so big and comfy and the bathrobes and slippers were a treat, as was the double ended bath and luxerous shower. So helpful as well, the best hotel ive stayed in so far.... and ive stayed in approx 50so far this year

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel De Hallen
#29 of 368 in Amsterdam
846 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#25 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,055 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,473 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#16 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,286 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Albert Hotel

Property: Sir Albert Hotel
Address: Albert Cuypstraat 2-6, 1072 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp , Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sir Albert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Amsterdam, Sir Albert is a luxury boutique hotel with the finest design and boutique accommodations. Walking distance of Amsterdam's Museumplein and the vibrant Leidseplein, plus attentive, friendly and faultless service at all times. Sir Albert Hotel is located in the central area "De Pijp". Home to literati, artists, fashion designers, entrepreneurs and the city's most famous market, the Albert Cuyp. De Pijp is also close to the Royal Concertgebouw, for lovers of classical music. Sample Sir Albert firsthand by staying in one of his 90 guest rooms and suites, all created by international award-winning designers BK Architecture. This makes Sir Albert a unique luxury boutique hotel in Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sir Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing