We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Word of warning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #32 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Word of warning”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

If like me, you don't have a visa credit card. ....do not give this hotel your visa debit card for the booking in deposit. We stayed from the 28th feb to the 3rd March and I am still waiting on the money to be transferred back to my card. ..its now over month and a half since the visit to the sir Albert and even though I was informed at the time of booking in I would receive the deposit back in cash format at time of checkout. Upon checking put I was then informed the money would have to be transferred back to my card which would take 2 weeks. I've phoned this hotel on numerous occasions regarding this money but to no avail. This process is taking longer than I could have ever imagined.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Aoife L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    768
    356
    80
    21
    12
See reviews for
90
715
50
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel as a weekend city break. Although located outside the inner city, the hotel is very close to all the museum's and in a residential part of the town. I found the hotel very comfortable and the staff very helpful. They had lots of useful ideas about where to eat and what to do. The rooms were very comfortable if a little compact. It was one of the most comfortable hotel beds I have stayed in. It was also great to stay somewhere that has FREE fast internet. It is about a 15-20 minute walk into the city or less than 5 minutes on the trams which run right outside the door. It is also very close to the Albert Cuypstraat Market as well as some nice bakeries. WE didn't try the hotel restaurant but one of the other guests said it was very good. If you want somewhere a bit more up market in Amsterdam then this is so much better than one of the chain hotel's.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear David W,

It was a pleasure for Sir Albert to note how much you enjoyed your stay at his Private Mansion. Customer care is amongst Sir Albert’s highest priority and it is always gratifying to receive such praise.

We definitely recommend the IZAKAYA restaurant for the next time you are in Amsterdam and we hope that you will stay with us again soon.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicenza, Italy
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Visited Amsterdam for a quick weekend trip and stayed at the Sir Albert Hotel. What a pleasant surprise at the cordiality provided by the hotel staff. The room was clean and the bed was wonderfully soft. Amenities were of first quality. The bathroom/shower room was a new experience for us, as they were two small separate closets. Nothing wrong but different. No bathtub, again no problem. Service was great and we felt very comfortable for our two day stay.

Room Tip: the room was quiet, decor modern. I think you will be fine with whatever room you are given.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robertthetraveler194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Robertthetraveler194,

Sir Albert greatly appreciated your kind comments regarding to his Private Mansion and staff.

On behalf of Sir Albert I want to thank you for taking the time to write a review for his Private Mansion and we hope that we may have the pleasure to welcome you again.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We had a great stay here. We got a weekend break here via the Mr & Mrs Smith brand. That way we limited our choice to more boutique style hotel. A great choice as it well away from the real heart of tourist land - yet only 10 minutes (tops) on the extremely frequent tram services. It is also 10 minutes walk to the museums. The area felt like being in Amsterdam, not the centre of a tourist trap, with the local market on the doorstep and loads of bars and restaurants in the locality.

If we had a complaint it is, like others, that the rooms are small (the black floors, a glass probably won't help) and we also struggled with the air con/heating. The rooms are well equipped (haven't seen a stocked mini-bar for ages, plus the obligatory over-priced food items, and a special "adult" item, in a tray), with a coffee maker, kettle, iron, safe and TV (awkwardly positioned in the corner). But from the check in (our room was ready at 11am!!) to check out (not until 12.00, lovely on a Sunday morning) we were well looked after.

Last note, the Japanese restaurant was fully booked for the Friday (and only a few places for the Saturday) so if you want to eat in the hotel, book ahead. However, we were glad we didn't because there are plenty of other eateries around.

Room Tip: We had room 339 (four floors so we guess that this applies to all the 39s). Which looked liked it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul_michele_smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear paul_michele_smith,

Sir Albert was very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam. And he apologize for letting you down on some of your expectations.

You can always let Sir Albert's staff know during your stay if you experience any issues in your room so we solve any issues right away.

On behalf of Sir Albert I want to thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor and we are looking forward to welcome you again soon.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
311 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Dear God, this was overpriced. Having stayed in small hotel rooms in London & New York this was a genuine shocker. The wall was less than 18 " from the end of the bed. The wash basin was in the bedroom & a separate loo & shower cubicle. Two of us & not enough bathroom accessories - shower gel just enough for one etc.
£215 for the night! On the plus side it's right by the 16/24 tram lines so very easy to get about & 10 mins walk to the Rijksmuseum & Van Gogh Museum.

Good bar but again overpriced restaurant. I'd forget the 'trendy' & go for something more reasonably priced.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarristerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara J, Eigenaar at Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear BarristerLondon,

On behalf of Sir Albert I want to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

We like to offer our sincere apologies for the disappointment you have expressed. You can always let us know during your stay if you experience any issues in your room or in the hotel so we solve any issues right away.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
142 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

I loved the Sir Albert. I would go out of my way to stay there again, if I ever got the chance. From the attractive, if slightly masculine, décor (black and chrome and leather) to the spa-like shower; from the fast and free wireless internet to being extremely convenient to public transportation and the major museums, the Sir Albert is really classy. The staff is friendly, professional and really interested in being helpful (for example maintenance came up and reconnected the wheel on my suitcase and the front desk clerk told me the budget way to get to the airport (bus #197 for 5 euro, catch it right outside the Concertgebouw.) Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum as well as Concertgebouw are about 6 blocks away (follow the tram line outside hotel, going to the left. Dam Square and the oldest and largest flea market are to the right on tramline #16 or #24 (2.80 euro) There is a "red light" establishment two doors down on the canal-side street, which is either interesting or easily ignored. It is not intrusive. Do watch out for bicycles on bicycle lanes, which are clearly marked in red color or red brick. Bicycles have absolute right of way and they take it! They may be coming from behind as well as from right or left. Seldom do they ring a bell to warn you. The attached restaurant, Asian fusion, is spendy but there are a number of more informal cafes with lower prices nearby. And the bed is super comfortable and "well dressed".

Room Tip: I loved my first floor (not ground floor) corner room overlooking canal but it probably was not the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear normajBoise_Idaho,

It was a pleasure for Sir Albert to learn how much you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam. On behalf of Sir Albert I want to thank you for your kind and lovely words regarding to his Private Mansion and staff.

Your review will be very helpful for others that stay at Sir Albert Hotel and Sir Albert hopes that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a fantastic short break in Amsterdam and Sir Albert was the absolute perfect hotel to do this from. Sir Albert is just a short distance out of the main centre (which for us is absolutely how we prefer it) but it is itself in a great area of Amsterdam with loads of great local restaurants and bars. The staff were all extremely welcoming and couldn't do enough to help us. They were keen to tell us about the best places to visit and were very helpful with letting us know how to get back to the airport via bus (because the trains weren't running). We were on a but of a budget trip this time so stayed in a Deluxe double. We would have liked to upgraded to a suite but the deluxe really was a good size and have good facilities. We weren't really in there that long anyway! Just down the road from the hotel you have a great bakery (really beautiful cakes and breads and breakfasts with the queue coming out of the door on Saturday morning! There is also another restaurant Le Garage just down the road that we didn't visit but have heard is good. Having ventured into Amsterdam central we were very pleased we didn't stay right in the thick of everything. This really was perfect. The hotel restaurant though expensive is an absolute must visit - the sushi was truly the best we ever had. Great hotel, great location, great city.

Room Tip: Opt for a suite if you can and ask if you'd like a bath. We were at the front of the hotel firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelintravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Michelintravels,

It was a pleasure for Sir Albert to learn how much you enjoyed your stay at his Private Mansion and also discovered his neighborhood. On behalf of Sir Albert I want to thank you for your kind and lovely words regarding to the hotel and staff.

We hope that we may have the pleasure to welcome you again at Sir Albert’s Private Mansion.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel De Hallen
#28 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#25 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,331 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#30 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#15 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam

Property: Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Albert Cuypstraat 2-6, 1072 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp , Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Amsterdam, Sir Albert is a luxury boutique hotel with the finest design and boutique accommodations. Walking distance of Amsterdam's Museumplein and the vibrant Leidseplein, plus attentive, friendly and faultless service at all times. Sir Albert Hotel is located in the central area "De Pijp". Home to literati, artists, fashion designers, entrepreneurs and the city's most famous market, the Albert Cuyp. De Pijp is also close to the Royal Concertgebouw, for lovers of classical music. Sample Sir Albert firsthand by staying in one of his 90 guest rooms and suites, all created by international award-winning designers BK Architecture. This makes Sir Albert a unique luxury boutique hotel in Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing