We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fletcher Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #135 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Looks very different from other hotels the outside. The bedrooms are quirky, with the shower cubicle in the middle. However the arrangement doesn't work well and the rooms are not comfortable. The outside of the hotel has a "spotty" facade surrounding it (difficult to describe so look at the pictures), but this blocks the view from the small round bedroom windows. We were on the 15th floor, but had no real view.

Worst problem was the restaurant: undercooked fish, painfully slow service, inaccurate descriptions on the menu, tables not made up after customers had left, too much salt, poorly balanced dishes (no carbohydrate, so I was still hungry at the end) and expensive. We did complain (twice) and our aperitifs and water were removed from the bill, but this was hardly compensation and we still payed more than 130 Euro for two (two courses each and a bottle of wine).

Location is convenient for the A9 and A2, so if you are travelling by car the location useful. If you are trying to see Amsterdam, this isn't a good location.

Bedrrom was 93 Euro per night, which is reasonable but I can't give say the hotel offers good value since the restaurant is so overpriced.

Room Tip: They are all the same. A view over the ZiggoDome is slightly more interesting that the view over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingCelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,044)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 1,044 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013

Hotel has one of the most interesting and modern designs, especially the shower in the middle of the room is interesting. Pleased with the overall appearance, breakfast is good and the dinner on the top restaurant is very good. However, the hotel lacks some personality and is somehow "cold", also from staff at reception. The area around it is also very quiet at night and not a good place where to go. Good if you are there for business and plan on staying at hotel but if your are looking for some entertainment in the evening outside of the hotel go somewhere else.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same - the higher you get, the better the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tobi2902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Rooms are fine - very modern, if small. Other service awful. Breakfast - not a single table clean or laid, dishes piled up, wait on food top ups. Understaffed? Not a single knife or fork to be had.
Hotel too remote - small shuttle bus service had to be "booked" (they dont tell you until you try to get on and its fully booked) - and they charge for it. I stayed due to proximity to Ziggo Dome - but it was not really walkable. Staff were nice enough - more an invisible management issue. Not a good experience. I did receoive small reduction in bill, to be fair but I'd rather have comfort and enjoyment.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank GlasgowCitytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We expected 4 star comfort from this spectacular and fairly pricey hotel at over 300 euros p/n for a three night stay. We wanted to experience an"ultra modern" European hotel - the showers in the middle of the room, sweeping views, in-house cocktail lounge and comfort after lots of car travel. We can say the bed was the best we had in 6 weeks, the room was spacious and quiet, the towels were fluffy and new, the elevators were efficient(we were on the 15th floor) BUT the annoying things were numerous. No tissues , no gowns, no hooks to hang items on, poor lighting, lack of privacy with the toilet arrangements. The coffee sachets, only two per day, provided a weak cup at best; one small bottle of water the first night only; no refrigerator or minibar. There was only one plastic key card per room - this caused some logistical issues for two people as the card operated the elevator and the room electrics so if one of us had to go elsewhere in the hotel using the key to operate the elevator then the other person was left without power in the room! We overheard other guests seeking a second key card too but to no avail - it was hotel policy!! Reception staff helped with good information and a shuttle to the station but seemed constrained by resources and "policy". What a shame that all these little things added up to a poor impression of hospitality.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Helen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

I travelled for business recently and stayed 3 nights at the hotel. The hotel has a contemporary design, is very clean and obviously new.

This is a business hotel, it's far from the city centre, a good 15 min walk to the train station and I would not like to be walking back from the train alone at night.

The staff and the service were for the most part unfriendly and unhelpful. The default answer was no. I asked for an iron in my room I was told 'no'. I asked why 'because we have none'. So I had to ask again in the morning. It's not hard to say 'we don't have at the moment can you phone again in the morning'. Just one example I could go on.

In downstairs bar I waited for 20 mins to get served and eventually went inside to order it myself. Apparently it's not usually busy at that time so they weren't expecting so many guests. Strange!!

However at breakfast a friendly gentleman welcomed me each morning. The night porter was also very friendly.

BTW the breakfast is extra and fairly pricey.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jibberjabber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We had a five night stay at this hotel - it looks spectacular and the rooms are very clean and modern. The staff were a bit deadpan - we turned up to find the booking company had cancelled our reservation unknown to us but luckily after flashing the cash they had it renewed. So - on to the room - it was great until I realised the double bed was actually two singles stuck together!? That would have been fine but it was actually adorned with 2 single mattresses, single duvets and the cushion like pillows - puzzled!! So as a romantic break for a couple (although we didn't let it get to us) that's not the most romantic thing to be faced with!! Then there is the lovely feature of the glass covered shower in the middle of the room - very cool but a 4* hotel with no dressing gowns or slippers upon exiting said shower....a bit of a let down! The toilet in the corner of the room was nice although the toilet paper was cheap and rough - I must be too spoiled as I buy Andrex at home and would expect a decent toilet tissue in a four star hotel. Every room is adorned with a Senseo coffee machine (I presume) which was great (although my partner would have like some tea - they don't really cater for the British it seems!) then after the second day they never bothered replenishing the coffee pods! These were the silly things that let the Fletcher Hotel down - but apart from that it was a lovely hotel with a great rail connection to the rest of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We came for our honeymoon (not your typical honeymoon) as we were on a budget. The staff when we arrived seemed like they just couldn't be bothered with another tourist couple. After we told them we were paying in cash on arrival the lady on the front desk decided to try and charge our card 708 euros. The stay was only meant to be £380!! When the card didn't work she then accepted the cash. This was the start of how the hotel meant to go on. The rooms are absolutely beautiful big bed very clean tea/coffee, nice lay out. We had made a note on booking that this was our honeymoon and had asked for champagne to be in the room on arrival (willing to pay obv) but nothing, not even a smile off the reception. After being here for a few days they took our card details and charged our room 300 euros just for asking if we could go upstairs for a meal. So I spent over 2 hours worth of phone calls to the bank at an international rate to be fair the staff were brilliant and I finally had someone who wanted to help and she faxed the bank for me to try and clear the matter up for us. So we went up to the restaurant for a meal on the day all our money had gone from the bank we had no choice as we had been left with nothing, so had to charge it to the room. The bill for 1 course 1 bottle of wine and 3 drinks.....142 euros. My husband complained today to the hotel manager who was lovely to him and understood the fact this had put a stress on our week, she sent up a bottle of wine and gave us a voucher for 2 free drinks at the bar...we came back down to our room and they had put some petals on the bed which was lovely. On another note....it is a crap journey into the city center takes about an hour total but your just with the locals and it felt like everyone was always staring at us on every train and bus as were out in the sticks they must not get many tourists here and I didn't feel safe coming home to late and getting the train and the 10 min walk back in the dark after a few drinks so we didn't, if your here to party here is not the place.Plus there is nothing about other than a kfc and a burger king which was okay for about 3 days, after that theres nothing about just a motorway that you have to cross to get to the fast food and a load of offices there is no shop about even to get a coke etc. if you make the mistake about walking the other side of the train station you will end up in the ghetto. If you want to see the fun side of Amsterdam get a hotel a in the center it is honestly honestly worth it even if the hotel standards are not as high as here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#111 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,521 reviews
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,961 reviews
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
#127 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fletcher Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fletcher Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Schepenbergweg 50, 1105 AT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £76 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fletcher Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This futuristic shaped Fletcher hotel is located within a 2-minutes' drive from the A2 and A9 highways. It offers free Wi-Fi and modern rooms with a flat-screen TV, work desk and a magnificent view. Train Station Bijlmer is only 4 km away. The shower is in a glass cylinder column in the middle of the room. Fletcher hotel provides breakfast, lunch and dinner in its Skyrestaurant Pi restaurant which has a panoramic view over Amsterdam. Drinks can be enjoyed in the Skylounge Pi. Guests can make use of the fitness centre or relax on the terrace if permitted by weather. The 24-hour front desk offers service when needed. Amsterdam Schiphol International Airport, Amsterdam Arena and Amsterdam South Axis are all within a 10-minute drive away from Fletcher Hotel Amsterdam. The city centre is 15 minutes' drive away by car and the hotel offers a shuttle service to station Holendrecht at a surcharge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fletcher Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing