We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Becoming disappointing, unfortunately”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fletcher Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #132 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
63 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Becoming disappointing, unfortunately”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here many times for work (location is perfect for my office but not convenient if you are visiting Amsterdam on a trip for pleasure) and haven't had an issues. Beds are comfortable, staff has been friendly, the shuttle is very useful.
However, the last two times, I've been disappointed, in particular, my last trip. The trip before last, standards had already dropped. One receptionist looks pained to be in the hotel business and is far from friendly, I ordered room service at 9pm which arrived at 11pm, after I'd called to remind them and when I wanted to go to bed.
My most recent trip was a disaster and has out me off this place, unfortunately. Myself a group of my colleagues ate dinner here one night... Service was awful and so slow. They messed up our whole order, not a word of an apology and not even a smile and in the end, food was cold. We had to almost walk out of the restaurant just to get their attention to get the bill.
Same moody receptionist.
My TV didn't work so I called to tell them (saying that maybe it was me being stupid and not be able to figure it out). They said they would send someone and they did - 45 mins later (which was 11pm) and the way she talked to me like I was completely stupid when actually the remote wasn't working and neither were a few of the channels. She proceeded, in that slow "you obviously won't understand me" voice, to tell me how to change channels on the TV (ok... Thanks). Not convenient when the bed is not right next to the tele. She said she would try to find batteries and then come back. She didn't but I put that down to be late and she she wouldn't want to disturb me... Next evening, no sorted TV.
The good thing I can say about this trip is that my airport shuttle fell through and the kind gentleman at the reception took me to the airport in their own shuttle, which I really appreciated.
Will think twice about staying next time, which really is a shame.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Luxxie1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    382
    172
    47
    38
See reviews for
65
473
26
214
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Spent 3 nights at the hotel last month attending a conference with work colleagues.

Quite a frantic few of days so didn't really spend too much time in the hotel but once you have got over the quirky design (the views are great (12th Floor) & the shower really is in the middle of the room) the hotel doesn't really feel like it has anything more to offer that any other upper middle end business hotel.

To balance everything was as you would expect:
Service was fine, although the request to reset the safe (which had been locked open by the previous guest) was not attended to during the entire stay.
Beds were comfy - a worry every time I visit any hotel
Small gym on the 17th (?) Floor has everything you need except a pool (given the shape of the building perhaps a circular one round an entire floor would work...or may be not. No trouble however finding a free machine at 6.15 in the morning
Breakfast was disappointing in a typically European way from a Brit's perspective - no Black Pudding & the streaky & sausages are not what you would expect in the UK, to balance the Earl Grey was most welcome.

All in all a reasonable stay with no major gripes, location wasn't an issue as lifts were arranged to venues but quite frankly the logic for staying at the Fletcher when not on a business trip is beyond me (unless of course having the shower in the middle of the room is a must).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldmanjez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Not the friendliest of faces when you come in, I think it pains the front desk staff to do more. Anyway, its clean and newer, bed is a bit soft but the restaurants and views are awesome. I like the breakfast spread too!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jym D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

it does look good from outside and the rooms are nice clean and friendly. the staff very professional and helpful, but this does not justify the price also the location not very friendly, no car you are in trouble as I have not seen any tram, metro or train passing by. not even sure bus
also the car park way to expensive. not like in city centre.
I have mix feelings

But for sure if you are passing a week end in Amsterdam not the best location, on a budget not the best place

Room Tip: the higher the better for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nick3317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Great views from the room, bar and restaurant. This was a business trip stayed just for one night, room with a clear cylinder shower cubicle smack in the middle is strange, could be awkward if you had to share. All round experience was good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naresh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed 1 night with my boyfriend. We loved the design of the room and the idea of having a shower in your bedroom. We also admired design of reception, restaurant and sky bar.
We had a drink at sky bar overlooking Amsterdam – I recommend it.
Room was clean and comfortable but very cold because heating was working only with your key card plugged in the slot. 2 complimentary coffees and 2 small bottles of water in the room. Shower was not leaking. Wifi was working properly. Had no king size bed but 2 single beds put together.
Hotel is situated in an outskirt of Amsterdam but provides a free shuttle to metro station Holendrecht twice an hour. You can reach Amsterdam Central in 20 minutes by metro 54.
KFC and Burger King are across the street.
Staff was polite and friendly. Had no problems with payment.
We enjoyed the stay and recommend Fletcher hotel to those who do not mind staying outside the city centre.

Room Tip: the higher the better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geeg15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
6.1 mi away
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#122 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
7.5 mi away
Citiez Hotel Amsterdam
Citiez Hotel Amsterdam
#163 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
8.5 mi away
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
#128 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#62 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
4.5 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#43 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
6.2 mi away
Mercure Amsterdam Airport
Mercure Amsterdam Airport
#158 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fletcher Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fletcher Hotel Amsterdam

Property: Fletcher Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Schepenbergweg 50, 1105 AT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fletcher Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This futuristic shaped Fletcher hotel is located within a 2-minutes' drive from the A2 and A9 highways. It offers free Wi-Fi and modern rooms with a flat-screen TV, work desk and a magnificent view. Train Station Bijlmer is only 4 km away. The shower is in a glass cylinder column in the middle of the room. Fletcher hotel provides breakfast, lunch and dinner in its Skyrestaurant Pi restaurant which has a panoramic view over Amsterdam. Drinks can be enjoyed in the Skylounge Pi. Guests can make use of the fitness centre or relax on the terrace if permitted by weather. The 24-hour front desk offers service when needed. Amsterdam Schiphol International Airport, Amsterdam Arena and Amsterdam South Axis are all within a 10-minute drive away from Fletcher Hotel Amsterdam. The city centre is 15 minutes' drive away by car and the hotel offers a shuttle service to station Holendrecht at a surcharge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fletcher Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing