We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay in Amsterdam.”
Review of Hotel Espresso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Espresso
Ranked #129 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent stay in Amsterdam.”
Reviewed 10 February 2013

I stayed here recently with three other friends and we slept in the room that sleeps four people. We had a very enjoyable stay and the hotel was very easy to get to. Would definately recommend taking a bus from the airport as it was four euros and appeared by far the cheapest way to get to the city. We did not have the breakfast as it did appear abit overpriced so I cannot comment on the food.
The staff are extremely helpful and it is never too much trouble for them to assist you in directions/recommendations. The room and bathroom was clean. Beds were very comfortable. Hotel itself was nice and quiet, well all slept through with no noise distrubing us.
We used the bikes nearby which were a great way to see the city and the thai rest. closeby is amazing. A very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Be aware - the room we had that slept four people did not have a window. Good heating/cooling contro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C_xUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    417
    128
    29
    19
See reviews for
171
351
23
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Stayed at Hotel Espresso for 3 nights over my birthday. On arrival we were told that the hotel didn't have our booking but the receptionist quickly found us a room.
Room we had was modern, cosy and very clean. Maid service everyday and breakfast was more than adequate. Buffett style with plenty of choice and replenished quickly.
Location is great, 5 minute walk into town so close enough but nowhere near the nightlife. Would definitely stay here again if we did return to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahraison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Good place to stay in Amsterdam. Just 300 meters from the Leidseplein, were all the bars are.

Nice renovated modern hotel with all the comfort you need. Good breakfast, clean bathroom. Friendly staff.

Beds are a bit soft but that is of course personal for everyone. Sheets are new and clean.

I stayed with my wife after a party eith some friends. A couple of nice restaurants are close by like Momo, the hippest place to be (make reservation).

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Umbra989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Comfortable rooms, helpful and nice staff and practice location. Nearby the Van Gogh Museum and the Leidseplein Square with bars and Pubs and nearby the great stores. Good bed wi-fi in the rooms, good breakfast. Enjoy the bike ride.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thais M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2013 via mobile

This new hotel had great rooms, great and friendly staff, was modern and in a fantastic location. All amenities were close by and a short tram trip took you into the centre of the city. We got a great room rate, probably due to the season, cause going on past experience it was worth heaps more than we paid.

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
istanbul
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2013

hotel was new and comfortable also location is a plus, you can walk anywhere you want. very close to leidseplien and museums...
staff was very friendly and helpful...
and free wifi available in the room....

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sertac b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ribeirão Preto, São Paulo, Brazil
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

I am always skeptical about "new hotels" with "modern concepts", but i should say that Hotel Espresso was a great finding! The staff is really nice and helpful, the rooms are comfortable (with perfect heating system), free (and good) wi-fi in the rooms, good breakfast, excelent location and the silence - oh, god, the silence - it was one of my best sleep nights in years!! i felt young again and ready to walk around Amsterdam under snow and going to the University!
All my best to Hotel Espresso

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#68 of 367 in Amsterdam
737 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#137 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,416 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#81 of 367 in Amsterdam
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#127 of 367 in Amsterdam
662 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#52 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,302 reviews
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#83 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Espresso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Espresso

Property: Hotel Espresso
Address: Overtoom 57, 1054 HC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Espresso 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Lastminute, Odigeo, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Espresso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing