We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay.”
Review of Hotel Espresso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Espresso
Ranked #110 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay.”
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Loved staying at this hotel, it's easy access to both Schipol (bus 197) and Centraal Station via Tram #1). Room and bathroom were both very clean. Our room faced the street and we only heard minimal traffic noise. Reception was very helpful, booking a restaurant for us and giving us directions. I would stay here again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mlim20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    409
    120
    27
    15
See reviews for
166
341
22
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Modern hotel within a short distance to centre of the city. Rooms are comfortable with usual amenities. Bed a bit on the soft side, would recommend this hotel.
There is no parking apart from on the public road, you will need to pay till midnight, otherwise you can leave the car with Park and Ride located on the outskirts of the city.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toothfairy723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2013 via mobile

Really nice hotel, very good location - there's a direct bus (nr 197) from Schiphol Airport, aprox. 35 min journey. Good connection with the city center too - 5 min walk and you are in Leidseplein Square. Very good facilities, clean rooms, clean towels, continental breakfast and 2 lovely and very helpul reception staff - girls, keep up the good work!!
Overall a pleasant experience and I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cosmin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Just returned from my first visit to Amsterdam and by good fortune ended up booking the Hotel Espresso. My sister-in-law and I spent five days in the hotel and found it to be well run, perfect location for the whole of Amsterdam, very helpful staff and manager. Breakfast was excellent.
Cases were safely stored after booking out and on collection several hours later found to my amazement that my new shoes which I had left by accident under the bed were bagged up and placed with my case. Well done everyone involved. We had a great time and felt looked after and safe in Amsterdam. Two maturing ladies from Edinburgh, Scotland.

Room Tip: Remember to take warm clothing in the winter - quite cold but with the right clothing perfect weathe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

My partner and I stayed at Hotel Espresso for a long weekend, we arrived early and our room was not ready, the receptionist offered us a safe place for our bags plus a complimentary coffee before we left to explore Amsterdam. A great start to our holiday! The room was very clean and tidy with a safe and beds made daily with clean towels if required. Approx. a 15 minute walk from the lively part of Amsterdam but this was great!! We had breakfast one day and that was sufficient, the receptionist was a constant help with nothing been too much trouble!! All in all it was a great place to stay and we would HIGHLY recommend it and will certainly be returning!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013 via mobile

Located about 6-7 min walking from Leidseplein is a good option for those who want to avoid the busy centre- not our case! Lovely new clean hotel with good size rooms for Amsterdam. Easy access for prams and disabled, we stayed at ground floor but we noticed there is a lift. We stayed 4 days and they only came to clean once after me asking so for two days.. They never changed the bedding or the towels and there are no windows in the rooms- at least in our room. The problem with the double beds we had is that they are in fact two single beds together so the mattresses kept pulling apart but they are soft and comfy and so are the pillows. Other than that the breakfast is good with a good selection and the staff is very polite and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salvador74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Stayed here for a long weekend in March 2013. I was looking for a comfortable hotel that was not too expensive and as close to the historic city centre as possible.

The Espresso is a little outside the main historic canal region but this was no problem since it was only a 15 minute walk into the town or better yet jump on the tram that stops just 100 yards from the hotel.

This hotel was new in late 2012 and so only 6 months old when I visited. What it looses by being out of the very centre it makes up for being so well fitted out. It was clear that a lot of effort, expense and thought had been given to the communal areas and the bedrooms. Everything from wallpaper, carpets, fabrics, furniture, and general design is more 4 star than 3. So often you find small hotels have an impressive reception and then find room that are distinctly shabby, not the hotel Espresso!

The hotel location is on a main street. Our room 003 was set back a little way and we found noise not to be a problem. There are several nearby by restaurants and shops.

To reach the hotel from Schiphol airport take the 197 bus to Leidseplain (€4 at time of writing). The hotel is a 5 minute walk. Also before leaving airport go to Tourist Information and ask about bus/tram passes. They are available for unlimited journeys for fixed length of time 24h, 48h, 72h etc.) As well as being good value they make travelling around Amsterdam very convenient.

Tram line 1 stops 100 yards from the hotel and takes you into town.

Hotel staff were always very friendly, engaging and attentive.

My only niggles are (I stayed in room 003)

- Mattresses whilst good quality are of the foam type and I found them not so good for my back
- Shower head bracket was loose so would not stay up. (But the shower and bathroom are otherwise excellent)
- Hotel website http://www.hotelespresso.nl could usefuly contain travel information such as I have included above!

In short could not recommend this hotel more highly.

Tip: There are lots of places on the well trodden Amsterdam tourist trail, but if you have an interest in modern architecture take a trip out to java-eiland (north Amsterdam) to see the amazingly funky inspiring redeveloped dock land area (you can get there by riding tram 10 to the end of the line (Azartplein)

Room Tip: Rooms at front facing street may be a bit noisier
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael51773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#71 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#82 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#117 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#53 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#119 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#136 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Espresso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Espresso

Property: Hotel Espresso
Address: Overtoom 57, 1054 HC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Espresso 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Espresso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing