We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not so impressed”
Review of Hotel Espresso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Espresso
Ranked #119 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“not so impressed”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

The staff at the reception were really not professional. When we checked in we asked whether there is a parking garage or a different place where we could park and we were told that the parking garage was full. We then asked what other place they recommend us we could park (in the booking information it was indicated that there WAS parking) and the receptionist decided to answered the phone. After about 10 minutes of her talking on the phone we were still waiting in front of her thinking that perhaps she is trying to find out where we can park. Since we do not understand Dutch we only later realized that was not the case: she was answering to another customer! We found that really unprofessional to simply forget about us. Another incident that we found surprising was on the morning next when my family if five was sitting at a table in the lounge and having coffee (complimentary in the lobby). We asked one of the reception staff who passed by what time is the check of time and he indicated that we should free up the table which is for the _paying_ breakfast customers. Looking around there were plenty of free tables, so his comment was really not necessary and totally unprofessional.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank DanaAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    415
    125
    28
    17
See reviews for
168
347
23
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights this July (2013). Pretty good location - though not right at Leidseplein station, only a couple blocks away. I liked that it was off the beaten path but an easy walk from the tram. Really close to the Van Gogh museum and the park. 15 min tram ride to central station. We liked the hotel too. Very clean. Smallish room but not too bad. Bathroom pretty small too - especially the shower. Free coffee in the lobby was great. Breakfast seemed expensive (9-10 euro) but it was really good and convenient. We didn't do it the first morning but realized we would spend that elsewhere anyway. The staff was friendly and helpful though one woman led us astray about the canal boat rides.

Overall a solid hotel and few if any complaints but not a tremendous deal price wise for location and what you get.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel and found it perfect for our needs.

It is located a few minutes walk from Leidseplein with its may bars and restaurants. It's also within walking distance of Museumplein where the Concertgebouw and the van Gogh museum are located. Tram no. 1 which runs to Leidseplein and on into the city centre to the central station stops very close by, and other tram lines to other parts of the city are just round the corner.

The hotel is modern and very clean. Though our room was small it was very comfortable and well equipped. There was a large shower room with an impressive shower, a wardrobe, desk, and hairdryer. The room also had a kettle with tea and coffee (though no milk) which is often absent in hotels in continental Europe. The flatscreen television had a number of channels in various languages - including BBC1 and BBC2.

In the foyer free tea and coffee (including milk here) were on offer 24 hours. Free wi-fi is available throughout the hotel.

The staff were all extremely pleasant and helpful, and checking in and out were handled efficiently in a friendly manner. We did not take breakfast as there are many cafes where a coffee and pastry can be bought at a good price in the local vicinity.

There is no bar or restaurant in the hotel, but there is a vending machine with a variety of drinks (including beer) and snacks in the foyer. There are plenty of places to eat and drink locally and the staff are happy to provide recommendations.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2013

First of all I must be clear, I was a girl traveling on my own, so I needed that extra cosiness or romanticism to feel at ease, well, I didn't get it here, there is definitely nothing romantic or old looking about this hotel, everything is quite modern with a nice elevator, AC that keeps the room at a good temperature, a shiny bathroom with clean towels, hairdrier, bodywash/shampoo and a flat TV with some shows in English. The room was quite small but fine for the purpose, the bed is comfortable but the WIFI signal and speed in my room left a lot to wish for. In general the hotel is clean and the staff is friendly, one can buy breakfast for about 10 Euros extra a day, and if one has a train or airplane later during the day they will very nicely take care of the luggage.

Even though the hotel is not located in the city center, is not far from it, so the location is excellent for a tourist planning on sightseeing!! The tram 1 stop is almost in front of the hotel and that will take you to Dam Square and Central Station. The Leidseplein is walking distance just around the corner, and if your plan is to go to the Museumplein is also excellent just another 10 minutes walk!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YoliC23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahore, Pakistan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The hotel is centrally located. It's about a 7-8 min walk to Leidseplein and a 10-12 min walk to Museumplein. Tram 1 stops very close to the hotel and goes to all the main stops as well, if you don't want to walk. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. You can also buy museum tickets (except for Anne Frank House) here to avoid the queues at the museums. There was free wifi in the room which was super-fast (which is great for serial photo uploaders like me!) The triple room size is pretty small though.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AyeshaA-F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tromsø, Troms, Norway
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

My fiance and I took our first trip to Amsterdam in June of 2013 for four nights, and we found the Hotel Espresso to be a very nice hotel and a convenient location for our base of exploration. The hotel is just around the corner from Leidseplein, featuring an unlimited number of bars, restaurants, and coffee shops for your enjoyment, along with tram lines to most areas of the city. But if you don't mind some walking, Amsterdam is also very accessible by foot, and in fact we only took the tram once during our stay. Despite being so close to Leidseplein, the area the Hotel Espresso is located in is very quiet and residential.

The hotel itself was immaculately clean, which is a huge consideration for us. It was quite warm during our stay, and the air conditioning was up to the task and kept the room at a comfortable temperature. The English-speaking staff at the front desk was very friendly and accommodating. The bed and pillows were also quite comfortable, a fact that can make or break your vacation due to the potential for too-little sleep. The room itself is small as others have noted, but this really made no difference to us.

There were a few negative aspects that I will mention, but none of these were extreme. First, the hinges on the doors for both the bathroom and the door to the hallway were ridiculously loud. There is no possible way one of us could enter the bathroom in the middle of the night without waking the other. This could be easily fixed with some oil. Also, the view outside the window is not the prettiest: mostly the backsides of somewhat run-down houses and businesses. In fact, the house next door was having work done by 2-7 men every morning, including jackhammers, shouting, etc. This was pretty annoying at times, although there isn't much the hotel can do about it, I expect. I also found it strange that we weren't given a 'do not disturb' sign for our door. It didn't end up being much of a problem, as the cleaning staff came by usually in late morning/early afternoon, but it still made me a little anxious since we can be late sleepers. I did notice later that other rooms had do not disturb signs on their doors, so maybe we were just overlooked somehow.

All in all, we were very happy with this hotel, taking into consideration the fair price and the great location. When we go back to Amsterdam, we will definitely consider staying at the Hotel Espresso again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2013

This hotel was a little gem! Me and a friend stayed here for two nights when going to a festival. The staff were very helpful. The rooms were comfortable and exceptionally clean. Breakfast had everything you needed and stayed open to 11:00am, plenty of time for a lie in. The free WIFI worked with great reception wherever you were in the hotel. The location is great, away from the hustle and bustle but only a 15 min walk into the city centre. I would highly recommend this hotel to any looking for a place to stay in Amsterdam and will definitely stay here again myself.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie_A_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#69 of 367 in Amsterdam
727 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#138 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,406 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#86 of 367 in Amsterdam
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#89 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,219 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#54 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,289 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#127 of 367 in Amsterdam
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Espresso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Espresso

Property: Hotel Espresso
Address: Overtoom 57, 1054 HC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Espresso 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Lastminute, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Espresso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing