We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean and nice”
Review of Hotel Espresso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Espresso
Ranked #130 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Munich, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean and nice”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I stayed for a week for business.
My room was clean and silent, the wifi was provided for free.
During all the day you can take coffee, cappucino or tea for free in the lounge room.
The breakfast is quite good but maybe a bit expensive.
In front of the hotel there is the tram 1 to arrive to the center and 5 minutes walk (Lindspein) there is the bus (197) from the airport: the ticket costs only 4 Euros, very cheap.
I used to reach the center, Dam Square, by walking: it is about 25-30 minutes.
I suggest this hotel.

Room Tip: There is only one tree near the hotel, when there is enough wind the branches hit the windows at lea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    418
    132
    29
    20
See reviews for
173
352
24
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lee, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. Staff was very accommodating and pleasant. Within walking distance of Rijksmuseum and van Gogh, Leidseplein center of tourist attractions and many sidewalk cafes great for resting weary feet and people watching. The tram to/from Centraal rail station runs in front of the hotel.
Yes, the room was rather small, but then how much time does one spend inside in such a great city as Amsterdam!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Rooms compact but all facilities and, really clean comfy beds.
Staff friendly and knowledgeable. Breakfast a little chaotic with 3 staff doing checkout and stocking breakfast bar
Ramp at front and lift to facilitate disabled access.Tram stop 200 yds away
Also free Wi-Fi in rooms & reception

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Barry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We decided to spend our 3-day Amsterdam stay at the Espresso after reading some Tripadvisor's reviews.
The hotel lies just outside the external canal, so that one has to cross a large two-way avenue to access the central and touristically interesting part of the town. On the other hand, Van Gogh and Reijksmuseum are just a few minutes walk southward from the hotel (bring your GPS to Amsterdam!) and tickets can be bought at the reception.
We had a superior room on the fifth floor, very quiet and with comfortable pillows. The room was really small and disposed of few storing space, and as we were on an intercontinental travel some of our clothes had to remain inside the suitcases. There was a flat-screen TV and room illumination, air conditioning and water pressure were correct. There was no minibar, but there is a vending machine downstairs. Wi-Fi is free and excellent and we could have three or four devices connected simultaneously without the need to keep record of complicated passwords. Breakfast is just average, but it's worth having it included, since there are very few options nearby. The breakfast room turns into a pleasant coffee lounge during the rest of the day, where one can sit and get complimentary coffee from the machine at any time. Reception personnel is helpful and attentive.
If you are looking for a decent, clean, friendly hotel for a short stay and don't bother to do some walking, the Espresso is perfect; but if you want a fancy hotel in the city center then you had better check somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggar, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night while visiting Amsterdam. It's location is great, only a few minutes walk to Van Gough museum and centre. Room although small was clean, modern and well presented. Staff were friendly and helpful and the buffet breakfast hit the spot!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rho66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Expresso for 4 nights. We were on the 6th floor - the room had a nice view of the city. The biggest plus of the hotel is that it is close to (walking distance) all the major attractions - the shopping district, the museum district, Vondelpark, the red light district. We walked everywhere from the hotel. The room was clean, small and basic. Compared to the prices of the other hotels (eg NH, Marriott, etc), this was much better value for money. If you are after a basic place to stay in (it had a bit of a "hostel" feel to it - very rudimentary / basic furniture and service) - then this is the place for you. There is also access to free coffee and teas in the lobby anytime.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grooveshark02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed here for two nights last week and enjoyed our stay greatly ! Free coffee from the espresso machine downstairs when ever we wanted it and a decent continental breakfast if you fancy it in the morning.

Yes the rooms are not massive but to people complaining about size, hey, it was clean well decorated and had a great shower!

Good location, pleasent staff, free wi-fi i will be coming again.

Room Tip: we stayed in 506 quiet central room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#82 of 368 in Amsterdam
948 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#126 of 368 in Amsterdam
668 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#139 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#77 of 368 in Amsterdam
752 reviews
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#87 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,238 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#153 of 368 in Amsterdam
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Espresso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Espresso

Property: Hotel Espresso
Address: Overtoom 57, 1054 HC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Espresso 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Lastminute, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Espresso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing