We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean&cosy place with good location”
Review of Hotel Espresso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Espresso
Ranked #124 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed at Hotel Espresso for one night as a group of friends. Being a group of four, we selected a two-room combo, which was ideal for our needs. Though the rooms are quite small, the cleanliness and comfort are striking. The staff was very welcoming, the neighbourhood was nice, and the location was great too! Transfer from the airport was very easy. The breakfast is charged extra; 9,5 euro per person, which is quite reasonable. The lovely smell of fresh coffee welcomes you in! Bonus: good value for money. Why not go there again?

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank estellabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (944)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

394 - 400 of 944 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2013

Loved the bed at the hotel, it was amazing! It was a great price for the location, and it was located pretty close to the 8th stop on the boat tour I was taking so it was really easy to get to and from. You can stroll through the park and it had a great local corner market for basic snack essentials. As a solo girl traveller, I never felt unsafe or questionable, even at night. I loved the darker modern decor, and the room was spacious and clean.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Convenient location on Overtoom - tram station near by, within walking distance to centre of town. Not spectacular but basics were OK.
My room facing the back was quiet but dim, not relieved by the dark brown decor - carpets, curtains, furniture; bed on the soft side.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SOASIAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Relatively inexpensive and still a decent stay in Amsterdam. The hotel location is good, easy to get around and there are sightseeing tour stops nearby. There are also fast food places, a drugstore and a pharmacy, ATM machines, breakfast bars/tearooms etc around it, which I've found convenient. The staff is very young and chatty.

The rooms are apparently newly furnished and very tasteful, the carpet hasn't gone icky yet, the bathroom was also really clean. We as a young-ish couple booked the deluxe room which is still quite small but not as bad as most non-luxury hotel rooms in this city. The upgrade only cost us about 10 euros extra per night and I personally thought it was worth it. There is an elevator and a vending machine in the lobby.

What I didn't like was the beds, they were fresh but the mattresses were too soft and kept sliding off the bed-frame (the mattress doesn't sit inside the frame but on top of it, so it moves to the side creating a huge gap between the two mattresses) the sheets keep coming off because there is nothing to hold them there and the pillows were awful, but I think almost all European hotels have awful pillows

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuliaCaesaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed 1 night. Great location! Really nearby Leidseplein were everything happens (restaurants, bars, discos). Very nice staff. Really quite and great to sleep. De bed and the pillows are to dream on!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valensoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The location is nice, the price is good for the location, the rooms are clean and modern. Like most hotels in the region, the rooms are tiny.

Across the street is a fantastic Indonesian restaurant, Kartika. And two doors down is a very good Thai place. Also across the street is Starbucks, though you should of course skip it, and instead visit one of the dozens of authentic coffee bistros.

Easy walking to Rijksmuseum, Vondepark, Stedelijk Museum, and other attractions.

Internet access, however, is abysmal. I'm on the second floor, directly above the lobby, and only have intermittent connectivity that is, at best like dialup and at typically non-existent. The front desk reports they have only one wi-fi router for the entire building! If you're here for business, I would have to recommend you stay away from this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CBrew21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Have just returned from two night stay in this hotel and have to say I was very impressed.
The hotel is a good stroll from the city centre but also far enough away so that we weren't disturbed by the antics of, unruly usually Brits abroad types. From the moment you arrive to that when you leave it's just a relaxing experience. Usual comment re size of room, three adults sharing, but for city location good. Staff pleasant and helpful. Hotel was clean and looked cared for, not beginning to look slightly tired. Free coffee a big bonus as it meant I could read and relax whilst waiting for mates to join me. Would I stay here again? Yes, of course.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank ChippenhamAardvark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#134 of 376 in Amsterdam
699 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#130 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,514 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#149 of 376 in Amsterdam
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#45 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,440 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#93 of 376 in Amsterdam
978 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Espresso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Espresso

Address: Overtoom 57, 1054 HC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £77 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Espresso 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Espresso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing