We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, close to Amsterdam Centraal”
Review of Tulipana Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tulipana Residence
Ranked #289 of 337 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Very clean rooms, very clean bathroom (although shared - expect to share it with people in 3 other bedrooms). Took me about 7-10 minutes walk from Amsterdam Centraal, which is very good. I can walk practically everywhere in central Amsterdam from the guesthouse. You have to take note of the building number (112) which is just beside a Scientology shop/church(?) and above a Chinese beauty/massage shop. You just ring the bell and the owner should be there to let you in. I think the owner is not in the guesthouse 24-7 so you need to let him know the time you will be arriving.

They have a small kitchen with tea,coffee,kettle,a fridge and a stove (although I didn't see any pots and pans to cook with?). I love the rooftop - we made our own breakfast and coffee in the morning and have it on the rooftop, I just loved it!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shrrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
There are newer reviews for Tulipana Residence
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

We were 2 sisters travelling in Amsterdam for a few days and we booked a twin room at Tulipana. The premises are clean, there is a nice bathroom but with only one toilet inside to share with the other guests (3 other rooms) so it is not really convenient when you are on a schedule. What really surprised me is that there is no furniture whatsoever in the room or the "kitchen", I mean there is a bed in the room and a fridge in the common premises of course but no chairs, no table, no closet (even the smallest one), nothing else! And the owner tells you that if you eat or leave some food in the room you will have mice...So you can store your food in the fridge but the only way to eat it is standing up in the kitchen. It was OK to sleep here but it is not really friendly or comfortable and like the guy said in the previous comment the owner offers you to pay less with some weird trick with the booking.

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank Celaeno B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My fiance and I spent 3 nights at Tulipana and would definitely recommend it! our room was very clean and spacious enough for the two of us.The bathrooms were also very modern and always tidy and towels provided were amazing quality. It was a little tricky to find at first but once you get there it has everything you need (between the Scientology church and a nail salon). It's close to everything and the tram literally stops a few meters from the front door and central station is just down the road.

Because Tulipana only has a few rooms we didn't have noisy neighbors which is also great when traveling. The basic kitchen was also very handy and saved us eating out.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

This guesthouse is a 5 minute walk from central station and 3 minutes from Dam Square. The rooms are small but if your only using it as a base then it's really a great place to stay. The place was very clean and you have use of the small kitchen area and fridge if needed. The stairs are steep and it's on the fourth floor, but you are in Amsterdam after all. If your after a clean, central and cheap place to stay then I thoroughly recommend the Tulipana Residence.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goinawayjuly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

A great stay, among the best options in the city! Situated only a few steps from Dam square, on a big, safe even late at night, street and very close to the central station too. Our room was the biggest with double bed and minimal decoration, very clean and comfortable. The bath is outside but in good state of cleanliness, besides everything is new! Adding the friendliness and great attention of the owner you have the perfect match in a very good price too, compared to others in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmeVouX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

I stayed at Tulipana for one night with a friend and had a great experience. I highly recommend it for a number of reasons: the location is great- very safe and easy to find once you've been there (we were 2 girls traveling alone, so this was important); it's extremely clean and comfortable; our room was quite; very friendly and helpful owner.

My friend and I had to reschedule our stay and were nervous about extra charges. Luckily, the owner was very friendly and happily worked with us. When we first arrived at the hostel we weren't sure where to go because there wasn't a large sign or anything. But, we rang the doorbell (the red door) and were let in. The walk up the steep stairs (it's Holland, after all!) made me a little nervous because the hallway looks a little shabby. But, once you get to the apartment it's very clean and modern! I had no hesitation feeling clean and welcomed. In fact, most things are new! I would have loved to spend more time there, one night was definitely not enough.

Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rhonda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank GioLav95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TuliResidence, Owner at Tulipana Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#329 of 371 in Amsterdam
188 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#113 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,212 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Citadel
Hotel Citadel
#112 of 371 in Amsterdam
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Hotel Cafe Corner House
Hotel Cafe Corner House
#153 of 371 in Amsterdam
425 reviews
Centrum
Hot Spot Fascinating Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulipana Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulipana Residence

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 112, 1012 SH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #289 of 337 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: £95 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Tulipana Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing