We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Thai in Amsterdam”
Review of Thai Phutakun

Thai Phutakun
Ranked #69 of 3,964 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Genoa, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely Thai in Amsterdam”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I went with my boyfriend for dinner, the host was very kind with us, service was fast and food amazing. We had a delicious appetizer mix with fish cakes, spring rolls and chicken skewers. As main course we had a gorgeous pad thai and a green curry beef, both of them were high quality and very tasty! We surely reccomend this place to any good food lover!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank NatiReal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    129
    34
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great Place to Eat.....But I wouldn't say its the best....”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Me and my girlfriend booked this hotel last Saturday night in Amsterdam and I am glad we did as it's very popular with not many tables.

The hotel is close to the flower markets and quite easy to find.

Both from the outside and inside the place is nothing special but that is probably what makes it appealing as it's not set out to be a large chain.

We ordered Thai Fish Cakes and Chicken Satay for starters which were both good....The Satay was probably nicer as the chicken was cooked to perfection.

For a main we went for Chicken Green Thai Current and a Red Thai Curry........Both dishes were excellent and very tasteful indeed.

The thing I loved about this place is that the cooking is done by 2 older Thai ladies and it's very traditional indeed.

All in all I would recommend this place to anyone who wants a good value for money Thai meal. Given the choice of places to eat in Amsterdam I would try some place different for my next visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Honestreviewer73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average food but very kind people and nice atmosphere”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

People very kind and good atmosphere, being a small and quite cosy place. The food was not impressive, in particular any fish soup was really average (fish and squid did taste like nothing). I gave "very good" because of value to money (16 Eu/pp).

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gianlucarosso1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

We had thirty three, fifty and shared twelve. There were all excellent. Authentic. Friendly staff. Great location. Cosy inside. Highly recommded. Thank me later!

Helpful?
3 Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant”
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

This recommended to us by friends whilst we were travelling in Amsterdam and we weren't disappointed.

It's a tiny little restaurant, crammed full of tables, but that wasn't off putting. Our waiter was attentive & helpful & the overall service was prompt & thoughtful.

The food is delicious & well priced. We had the Thai green and red curries which were both packed full of flavour. They also give you extra chillis if you want to add some extra spice.

I'd definitely recommend if you're looking for a no frills, well priced meal in the middle of Amsterdam.

Helpful?
3 Thank AnnaRH23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Phutakun also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Thai Phutakun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing