We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More Hostel than Hotel”
Review of Hotel Isis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Isis
Ranked #256 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We booked a deal through Kayak with this being our hotel for the Easter Weekend. From arriving at Amsterdam Central Station we made our way over the water on the free Ferry. Straight away we were concerned as we were the only tourists going in this direction. We had to walk through a large housing estate, passing skate parks and generally totally out of the tourist area.

Finally finding our hotel (I'm afraid the entrance didn't shout luxury) we were checked in by a very friendly man and given our room key. We went to our room which is not to a standard I've stayed in since I was a kid on a cheap budget school holiday. Very tiny with two thin cupboards balanced in between the two windows. Our only side table was a fridge with the cord stretched up to just about reach a socket. The bed was shoved into the corner, above the bed were loads of holes hacked into the wall. It did look clean but incredibly basic, definitely not a 'Hotel' I was prepared to stay in for a holiday, More like a Hostel.

We left 5 minutes later and refused to return spending all day looking for new accommodation. Very very disappointed. I blame the travel company for offering this as a Hotel. I'm sure the accommodation is suitable for travelling individuals on a budget.

Room Tip: A Hostel more than a hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clare S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

Our room was dirty and very, very basic, the towels were dirty too...It also smelt bad. The hotel has no elevator and you need to carry the luggage by the stairs. We couldn't stay, so we left, no matter that we payed for 3 nights.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Ivelina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We received the loveliest welcome from the hotel staff who allowed us to check in 4/5 hours early. We were offered a choice of room, smoking with a balcony! The hotel was very cute, bright and welcoming. The room was lovely, bright and large with a surprisingly big bathroom with a good shower and we had very comfortable beds! The two of us stayed for 2 nights, and expected to not spend all of our time in the room... However because it was such a lovely hotel/room, we decided to spend our evenings there on our balcony relaxing. The residential area around was quiet with a children's park, a coffee shop around the corner, food shops and a supermarket... also just a 2 minuet walk to the free ferry into central Amsterdam which ran all the time up until 12am. They included optional breakfast, 24 hour staff, fridge, towels, hair dryer, maps, bedding.

This hotel exceeded our expectations for the price that we paid and we will be going back there to stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mgracewander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We only stayed for one night -- booked it to save a little. If youre not tight on budget -- reconsider. The room was dark, small, no a/c, it's located in a questionable neighborhood... People in the neighborhood was loud even at 2 am.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Miggy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The main benefit of the hotel ISIS is its location. It is just accross the chanell which is right behind the Centraal staion. Al you need to do is a 10 minutes trip on a free ferry (which added extra charm to our trip to Amstardam) and 5 minutes walk after that.
The hotel itself is not so good. All the time there I smelt a strong smell of cheap detergents. So it is good just to spend a night or two there (not more).
Anyway, considering cost of the hotel and its location I would rather choose it one more time than looking for other options.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Maxim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

My sister and I were already in Amsterdam when we booked this trip and in fact booked it about an hour before we checked-in.

Considering the price you pay to stay at this hotel I would say you get more than a satisfactory amount for your money.

This hotel is located in Ijplein which may look far on the map but in fact is no further than your average hostel in the centre (and here you get your own room for the same cost)! You come out of central station and there is a free ferry service that runs about every 7 mins (until late) and take 3 mins to cross to the other side. From the ferry it's another 5 minutes walk.

The area it is situated in is a very safe residential and quiet Islamic populated area. It's quite nice being away from the hustle and bustle of the centre and there are a few restaurants around that looked good.

The hotel itself was very clean. It's a bit awkward to lug suitcases about because there were only stairs but then the kind staff did offer to help us take it up. The hotel is family run by an Egyptian guy who is ever so lovely (and an ex-weightlifting champion) and all the staff are very nice.

The rooms themselves are very basic but clean and white like standard hotels. Rooms come with a mini fridge and TV.

As nice as the place is, there are still a few downsides to this hotel. a) the single beds are more narrow than your average single bed (but still better than a hostel bunk) but also move quite easily, b) occasionally the toilet gives off a horrible sewage smell and c) the housekeepers are elephants. You will not be able to lie in because you can here beds being scraped around and non-stop banging. This is something that really annoyed us but we couldn't be bothered to complain.

There's a vending machine in reception and also chargeable coffee and a microwave available for use.

All in all I would definitely return but maybe request a room on the top floor!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Nice hotel, low prices and good position.
Ten minutes walk to the ferry and very polite staff.
I would come back there! The hotel also rent bikes, and there is a little market near the hotel.
The room was little but had all the essential.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Wolly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Floris Hotel
Floris Hotel
#280 of 338 in Amsterdam
114 reviews
Joy Hotel Amsterdam
#246 of 338 in Amsterdam
17 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Wilhelmina
Hotel Wilhelmina
#98 of 338 in Amsterdam
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Amstel Riverview
Amstel Riverview
#162 of 338 in Amsterdam
119 reviews
Q-Factory Hotel
#116 of 338 in Amsterdam
28 reviews
Vondelpark
Las Vegas Bed and Breakfast
Las Vegas Bed and Breakfast
#250 of 338 in Amsterdam
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Isis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Isis

Address: Spreeuwenpark 17, 1021 GS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #256 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: £59 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Isis 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Isis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing