We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best tapas in the world!!!”
Review of Pata Negra II

Pata Negra II
Reserve with
Pata Negra II is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,134 of 3,853 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
amsterdam
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Not the best tapas in the world!!!”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The service leaves a lot to be desired, The tapas are of a poor quality, possibly due to the fact that the owners are not Spanish, and very expensive. The bar also seems to have a problem with hygene. One visit was one too many.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chistorra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    40
    16
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Spent a long weekend in Amsterdam and decided to eat here as it was close to our hotel. Had pre-booked a table and on arrival was busy, but had a spare table for two outside, which we were given. Then that was it for the next 30 mins....no menus or offers of drinks until we eventually made an obvious point of signalling a waitress. This set the tone for service for the rest of the meal. When we eventually ordered, the food came out rapidly however we wish it hadn't! The lamb chops very fatty and dry, the prawns were clearly frozen and old, meatballs of tasteless mush (unsure how they kept their shape!) and very greasy chorizo. We also got an additional chicken dish that we hadn't ordered which was actually not terrible and the dip that came with the bread was a particular highlight!
Overall very poor and every other meal we had in Amsterdam was far far better!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oliver B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Awful service”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We tried to eat here one night but it was so packed that we reserved a table the next day for that night. The male we booked the reservation 'served' us that night.

Restaurant is a Tapas affair, fairly pricey. We were sat for about 15 mins before a drink order was taken. Then another 15 before our food order, a waitress offered us a basket of bread, but this never came, despite her offering our bread to tables around us, who she had already served bread to! We ordered 6 dishes, 4 only came out. The service was appalling and majority of the staff were rude and ignored us! German families received top class service may I add.

The food we did receive was very tasty and I am sure if we had a full meal, and good service it would have been very enjoyable. From what I gather, this restaurant has a very good reputation and features in some guidebooks of the area, but I was severely unimpressed!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good spannish tapas”
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

We came here exausted from walking and cycling all over the city and found this spannish tapas place, with wich we were delighted. The service was not the fastest one but the staff were always kind. Couldn't have choosen better place for an early end of the day.

Helpful?
Thank Manuel C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ready made processed tapas, very disappointing!”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Previous reviews sold this to myself and a friend but we found food bland and very slow service in a cramped environment!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitty_kat1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pata Negra II also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Pata Negra II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing