We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful surprise.”
Review of Cafe de Doffer

Cafe de Doffer
Ranked #443 of 3,956 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Dutch
Neighbourhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Reno, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delightful surprise.”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The restaurant is in a bar. Tiny tables, tons of people. The people watching was lots of fun - it's on a shopping street so there's a lot going on. We had spring rolls so we could sit at a table until dinner was served. They were home made and delicious. For dinner my husband had Texel lamb and I had duck breast in Medeira. We were so surprised! The dinners were fantastic!! Service was friendly, the atmosphere is old-time and great. Very reasonable prices. I highly recommend Cafe de Doffer!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HikingGrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    66
    11
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Buzzy local spot”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Great for a beer away from the stag parties. Where the locals go. Good selection of beers and nice ambience.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank paddypadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Welcoming with tasty local food”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We found this place by chance and were made to feel immediately at home. Friendly efficient staff and simple decor. Busy but not too busy. The menu was local and unpretentious. I had seafood salad followed by duck breast and my husband had pastrami followed by the house satay. Excellent chips too - with a bottle of Italian house red - 62 euro. We'll be back, I hope.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hjb50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Brown Bar”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Visited at lunchtime, looked dead from outside but really busy inside. Good value filled rolls and other lunch meals, good selection of beer. Friendly staff and lovely atmosphere, some tourists but mainly locals meeting up for lunch and informal business meetings. Recommended.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“I doff my cap to you!”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Like many I stumbled upon this trying to get off the main drag whilst on my own on a work trip. Cozy, friendly but cool staff. Good food too. I had pea soup special and the house duck salad. Both delicious. Would come again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank LondonGastronomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe de Doffer also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Cafe de Doffer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing