We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice little locals bar”
Review of Cafe de Toog

Cafe de Toog
Reserve with
Cafe de Toog is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,998 of 3,805 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: US$12 - US$21
Cuisines: Dutch, Bar, European, Cafe, International, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Cafe de Toog is a typical dutch bar-restaurant, located just from the busy Leidseplein and very close to the Vondelpark. Cafe de Toog offers an extensive beerlist, decent wines and great wholesome food for fair prices. The menu consists of dutch classics, burgers, steaks and much more, all for an affordable price! The typical dutch bar is decorated with paintings of famous dutch artist Herman Brood (de Toog used to be his local pub) and old photos from the neighboorhood. Get of the beaten touristic track and visit Cafe De Toog!
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice little locals bar”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Although de Toog is pretty close to the Leidseplein and very close to the Vondelpark, it is not touristy. Good mix of young and older locals. Good beer selection and reasonable food. Atmosphere is laid back and easy. Food is the tradional Dutch eetcafe fare, burgers, sate, salads or a steak. Prices are very moderate too. A place were friends meet for drinks and stick around for a bite to eat. If the weather permits, there is a very nice terrace in front.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcel5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    11
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice meal and good service!”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Slightly tucked away on a sidestreet, we tried this restaurant because it was near our B&B and were not disappointed with our choice. The waiter was friendly and helped translate the Dutch menu for us. Food and service were both good.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank traveltandem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Neighborhood Hang Out”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

This bar is just about 2-3 blocks from Suite 259 which is where we stayed. The food is simple and fresh. It is Dutch food, but not the heavy somewhat tasteless kind we had at other restaurants. Our waiter was very friendly. In fact, his boss had to remind him to not spend so much time chatting with us. (It was also remembrence day and it was amazing to see everyone stop all they were doing to share in the two minutes of silence. We watched the ceremony on tv and I think the whole country took part. Very moving.)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice place to hang”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Cafe Toog is in a beautiful neighbourhood, serves value for money food (but don`t expect fine dining) and has a nice terrace. This is a fine place to hang when youve visited the vondelpark and are looking for a place to eat or drink in the early evening sunshine..

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vos1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pavia, Italy
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A drink with friends, not for dinner.”
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Even if it is not the easiest place to find, with a map you can find your way with no problems. The atmosphere is not formal and there are lots of young people around. The place is not so new and a bit rustic, but if you are ok with that, than I can suggest you a stop by.
Bad thing is that when I went there the waitresses/bartenders were more interesting in chatting with friends/boyfriends than to serve customers. And paying a plain burger (with fries and salad) 15 euros in such a place is not worth it. Ok if you want to hang around for a drink, but nothing more. I don't think I will go again if I return to Amsterdam

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Spery_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe de Toog also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Cafe de Toog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing