We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Guest-Houseboat
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$307
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$247
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$352
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$271
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$556
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$445
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$258
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$205
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$276
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$262
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$227
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$315
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$278
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$323
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
XO Hotels Park West(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
32
11
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
11
2
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This is our second time staying in one of the guest house boats. The other time we were across the canal and we were equally impressed. We booked the boat through homeaway thinking it would be the same one in the pictures, but she had a different one available that was equally as nice. The view from both boats are incredible, and both are beautifully decorated and come with two beers and a bottle of wine. there were also some yummy waffle cookies to enjoy. Last year, we came on an early flight from new york and we were lucky nobody was there the night before, so they met us at 6:30am for checkin! The area is fantastic and the hosts make you feel very welcome! We can't wait to go back again sometime.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We were arriving in Amsterdam on Sept 3, and a lot of the hotels were either fully booked or really expensive (even booking 6 months in advance!). I found the Guest-Houseboat online and decided to try it out. We were not disappointed. We actually stayed in a houseboat owned by the same owners, across the Brouwersgracht. It was comfortable and relatively spacious, with a nice terrace to watch boats, swans and ducks go by. The location was great - a short walk from the Centraal train station. Paul greeted us to let us in and show us the amenities, which included a small kitchen and some free coffee, beer, orange juice and snacks. He also shared a wealth of information about the neighborhood (there is a fantastic sandwich shop nearby, as well as a couple of supermarkets). The only downside - it was a bit warm during our stay, and the houseboat does not have air conditioning (although it does have a ceiling fan). Other than that, we had a lovely stay, and would recommend this unique experience to everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VinceInLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Staying in a houseboat was a great experience. It was located in a very beautiful area, the Jordaan is the Greenwich Village of Amsterdam. 10mins walk from the station and 15mins walk to the central touristy parts to the east. Café's (breakfast or lunch) are all around and Markets on certain days.

The room was very spacious and nicely segregated into the bedroom and the living room area. It had all the usual conveniences, but with a full kitchenette - fridge and a coffee-maker. The WiFi & TV was a great plus. It even had a ceiling fan to keep us cool at night. Good security with lockable windows and a safe.

The owners were very helpful and accommodating.

Waking up and then having a coffee on the little balcony (for two) over the canal, with occasional ducks swimming by, is a very pleasant way to start the day!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickgylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Unique and cool. We loved staying in the houseboat, for us the Jordaan is the best area in Amsterdam, you really feel like you're away from the more commercial side.
There are some great cafes and bars around too. The folks who own the houseboat(s) are helpful and take the time to make sure you're happy and settled.

Thank fidgetyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I feel so lucky to have stayed at the guest-houseboat. It was perfect and wish I could have stayed more nights! Studio room was good size for one or two, very clean and comfortable.The location is excellent (in the Jordaan district and close to central Amsterdam). Right on the canal, it's relaxing to have such a wonderful view of the waterway and the swans that come right up to the deck. I will definitely plan to stay here on my next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjgilman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews