We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great coffee and breakfast”
Review of Brasserie Baton

Brasserie Baton
Ranked #788 of 3,814 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, European, Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Spangdahlem, Germany
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great coffee and breakfast”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

My husband actually said it was the best latte ever! We went to breakfast here every day of our trip, because the price and food were great. Great coffee and pastries. Also it has a lovely view of one of the canals.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    83
    11
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A lovely corner where old−style meets young atmosphere”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

This quiet and young−spirit little place with its street facing bar stand, where you can spend a sleepy Sunday morning watching the goers−by and flipping through a magazines, it all comes up to a very pleasant experience. The soups and salads are pretty good as Brunch and the location, on one of the strategic corners, at the edge of the fashionable Jordan quarter, is a rare finding. On your way to a boutique shopping day? Don't miss this one for snack and coffee.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hanoch-R2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurth, Germany
Level Contributor
70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Breakfast was good, inexpensive, with great service”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We ate here for breakfast before we checked out of your hotel. We had a limited time to eat, and the service was great getting food out for 5 of us within 10 mins of walking in. Good food for a reasonable price. We only ate breakfast, so I can't speak for the rest of the menu.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Disappointing plain lunch”
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Mostly con's this time:
• the place is shabby, old or worn down en not very clean (dirty to be precise) it was also very cold and I mean inside and not at the terrace;
• the food is pre cooked. My husband ordered a croque monsieur; it was ready in 1 minute, or should I say microwaved and tasted accordingly.
• I had a tuna salad pistolet accompanied with some tired looking lettuce leaves and thick cut slices of tomato and cucumber. You get better quality in a supermarket.
• drinks were okay: just a bottle of mineral water and a coke.
pro's (only one this time):
• the location.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JosephineNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Quick and freindly service, great food and very fair prices”
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Stopped for a coffee and a bite to eat after a riding around Amsterdam and were lucky enough to find this gem. A good plate of food and a hot drink for less than 10 euro each. Nice location at canal crossing and tables outside warm enough in January (well it was when I was there). Service was prompt and with a smile, what more could you ask for.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yourekidding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brasserie Baton also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Brasserie Baton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing