We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“calm and very good !”

Sugar & Spice Bakery
Ranked #526 of 3,853 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighbourhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Choisy-le-roi, France
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“calm and very good !”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

While traveling in Amsterdam for 3 days, and after visiting the Buddhist temple in the same road, we needed a place , calm , ans where we could eat something healthy and drink a good tea.

We have found the right place! It's tiny, and very warm. The chef is friendly, and the cake we orderder was really good. We also appreciated having a wifi connection to look for the next steps of our day.

I highly recommand this place to anyone who needs a little bit of calm during the exhausting visiting days, with HEALTHY, FRESH and HANDMADE products.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AskHell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    22
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
103 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Cute little cafe, warm and friendly service”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This was our little oasis away from the madness of the red light district of Amsterdam. Cute little café, relaxed atmosphere, very friendly and helpful staff members, great lattes and cakes on hand. We could have spent more time here ,if not for the sightseeing we had to do. Very relaxing indeed!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank airbus777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“The kind of bakery cafe that every neighborhood needs”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We take the train from Haarlem to Amsterdam every weekend to do our farmer's market shopping and are always in the mood for a coffee or lunch afterwards. But after living here for several years, we've tried almost everywhere around and haven't found a place that suits us or our tastes well, even the better coffee places. Luckily a friend recommended this cafe and we went 2 days ago. Everything was lovely, the place was clean, cozy and very welcoming. We had fresh mint teas, (served with a tasty little brownie sample), and shared a hummus and grilled vegetable sandwich, which was lovely. We ended up buying a brownie, a slice of pear, pecan and chocolate cake and a bottle of Merlot! Next time I'll try the coffee after reading other reviews...this will be our regular go-to place on Saturdays.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“WOW WOW WOW ..”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Calm oasis in amsterdam !! THE FOOD, oh the food , was excellent . We got the yummy platter... Every bite was soo tasty. Cheese cake TOO DIE FOR. HUGE SUPRISE IN A SMALL PACKAGE.. What a delightful space. Owner is EXCELLENT chef warm & enviting host. More like walking into some ones home.what a find... Not what I expected in heart of amsterdam ... Hope to eat there again on our 3 day stay.THANK YOU, American southern lady

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Memphislady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fresh food, great coffee!”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Was looking for a small meal to eat before flying out of Amsterdam when I saw this cute little coffee shop. I had a wonderful sandwich and a great Latte and my kids enjoyed the cheese cake. I wish I could have come back to eat their croissants because they looked so good. The staff was very friendly and pleasant. The atmosphere is very relaxing, quiet and homey.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mafungo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sugar & Spice Bakery also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Sugar & Spice Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing