We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sjudoransj

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sjudoransj
Ranked #26 of 328 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Sjudoransj is located in the loveliest part of Amsterdam, nestled on a quiet street among what looks like a storybook village. It's walking distance to endless cafes, boutiques, galleries and all the wonderful sights of Amsterdam.

The room is bright, simple and delightful. A king sized bed with luxurious sheets and the fluffiest duvet ever ensures you'll get a good night's sleep. If you choose the breakfast option (which you should - for 7.50 euros it's a great deal), you'll enjoy a basket of meats, cheeses, fresh OJ, hard boiled eggs, yogurt and a variety of freshly baked breads. A long table on wheels rolls right up to your big pillows so that you can sit up and have breakfast in bed - truly heaven!

There is an automatic espresso machine in the room and also a big bowl of oranges - nice touches!

The small, clean, stylish bathroom could have used a little shelf in the shower for shampoo, etc., but other than that it was perfect. There was hot water and good water pressure.

Godfrey and Dennis are the sweetest, nicest hosts ever! They responded promptly to every phone call and text, and greeted us with a warm welcome. They ensured that we were happy and comfortable, even honoring our request for some fruit and an extra egg for our second morning's breakfast.

There are only two rooms, and I would be happy staying in either. One has a small balcony, and the other has a bit more light. Both are about the same size, and either way you can't go wrong.

I highly recommend Sjudoransj for a trip to Amsterdam. It has everything: great location, clean lovely rooms, a super comfortable bed, a delicious breakfast and great hosts. One caveat: If you have trouble walking up steep stairs it will be challenging walking up. The steps are very narrow (as are most in the Netherlands I've heard), so keep that in mind. I had no problem, but my mother would have. :)

Room Tip: Both rooms are great - would you like a small balcony or more light?
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    20
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
146
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kirchheim bei Munich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We traveling a lot in the world, but Sjudoransj B & B Amsterdam is really perfect. The bed is a dream :-)) The area where Sjudoranj based is in the middle of the nicest Amsterdam Jordaan. Godfrey & Dennis have a very good taste - for the room and bathroom there get from us a extra "Designstar" ( we are in the Interiorbuisyness)
When we come to Amsterdam again for sure we will stay at your place!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Great location, lovely owners, fab room, huge bed and absolutely delicious breakfast! Nothing was too much trouble and as a female travelling alone, I felt very safe and looked after. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending Sjudoransj!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R_E180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, Ile-de-france, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed at Sjudoransj (Dutch slang for Orange Juice) for 2 nights in November.
Dennis & Godfrey were wonderful hosts in this tiny B&B (2 rooms) in the heart of Jordaan, the hype neighborhood of Amsterdam.
We had the "Girl with a Pearl Earing" room (named after Veermer's famous painting to be seen in the Rijksmuseum) : a very nice room with a huge bed (2m x 2,20m), flat screen TV, WiFi, complimentary oranges & Nespresso coffee (& a kettle w/ selection of teas). Very nice bathroom with italian shower and all the amenities needed.
No need to say that everything is spotless.
Great breakfast served in bed w/ a lot of Dutch specialities.
We'll definitely make this B&B our "go-to" place when we go in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Ask for the "Girl with a Pearl Earing" room. It's on the back of the house & has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Key ingredient to making the weekend in Amsterdam a perfect city break. Great location, close to plenty of bars and restaurants, also the markets are close by too.
Luxurious bedroom and ensuite, + friendly host, couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Sjudoransj B&B is really something! The room(Van Gogh) was amazing. The interior design of the room had a nice vibe to it, the bed was sooo comfortable, very neat and clean and an awesome breakfast. The location of the B&B is great aswell! Nice and quiet but very close to the inner city of Amsterdam. Last but definitely not least, the great hosts Dennis and Godfrey. Thank you for making our stay so much better! We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Djovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Sjudoransj is a great guesthouse in Amsterdam and comes highly recommended. The interior is contemporary and done in great taste, from entering the foyer all the way to the room. The hosts, Godfrey and Dennis, are extremely friendly and helpful and do their utmost to make the stay an enjoyable one. The room itself is beautiful and the bed is extremely comfortable. The linen are exquisite and makes for a great nights sleep. The bathroom is very functional and stylish with more than enough room. A great plus point is the Nespresso machine to make a wonderful cup of coffee. This guesthouse comes highly recommended

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank nunke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#136 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Jordaan
Eelhouse B&B
Eelhouse B&B
#40 of 328 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Jordaan
WestViolet Bed & Breakfast
WestViolet Bed & Breakfast
#48 of 328 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Amphora Apartment
Amphora Apartment
#31 of 227 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Jordaan
Noordermarkt Apartments
Noordermarkt Apartments
#117 of 227 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 328 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sjudoransj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sjudoransj

Property: Sjudoransj
Address: Goudsbloemstraat 91/1, 1015 JK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 328 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Fresh orange juice ...good coffee...comfortable beds....fine linen...luxury bathrooms...fluffy towels...design...attention to detail...really nice hosts...deli breakfast...fresh flowers...affordable...privacy..." Sjudoransj is a new upmarket Bed and Breakfast situated in the middle of Amsterdam's buzzing Jordaan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sjudoransj reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing