We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YES. YES. YES.”
Review of Sjudoransj

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sjudoransj
Ranked #26 of 328 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“YES. YES. YES.”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

What a great place to stay. The bed was mega-comfortable and everything spotlessly clean, the hosts were great, very friendly and informative and we loved the decor and hallway. The area is very bohemian and funky, lots of interesting shops, restaurants and bars, just around the corner we sat in a square overlooking a big church and had the best homemade apple pie and cream we ever tasted, recommended by the host Denis, he was absolutely right. He also recommended a restaurant just around the corner and the food was superb.

The road where the B&B is situated is very quiet, but near all the interesting parts of Amsterdam. The breakfast was varied and plenty of it, loved the delivery system, even when there was no fresh milk in the breakfast carton, Denis went straight out and bought me some immediately. Tea making and coffee machine in room, Nice bathroom. Would not hesitate in coming back here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jezjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    21
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
147
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Sjudoransj is set in a fantastic location - perfect for all the main sites, fabulous restaurants and beautiful scenery. Godfrey and Denis where great hosts, really helpful and welcoming. There are some great touches like the breakfast presentation!

I would recommend this place to anyone who comes to visit Amsterdam and wants a stylish, friendly and well located place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Katy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This is a top bed and breakfast which is competitively priced. The owners went to great lengths to avoid things that annoy you in other b&b's and hotels. We were there for a flash visit with leaving early: the train station is at walking distance (15 mins), as is the city center. This a super location that gives you the night rest and energy to explore amsterdam. More than highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gszijlstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Sjudoransj B&B is a nicely updated bed and breakfast in a wonderful location. My husband and I stayed in the Van Gogh room, and unfortunately, we found it to be quite noisy. This room faces the front of the building and on the first floor is a cafe/bar. We couldn't hear people inside the cafe, but rather when people would go outside to smoke or when leaving, their voices were crystal clear in our room above. Because of the old windows, we also smelled smoke in the room from people down below. Now, to be fair, we are light sleepers, but although we loved the Jordaan neighborhood and the location of this B&B, the other room might be a better option.

We also didn't find the B&B to be run in an organized, professional manner as we have found and appreciated elsewhere. One thing that was very frustrating was a misunderstanding about payment. Although the room had been held by a credit card number and the confirmation e-mail mentioned that “[i]t would be appreciated if you could pay cash when you check in,” we were told at check-in that we could pay whenever. Per the e-mail and lack of communication from the host, I incorrectly believed that I could pay via credit card since I was never expressly told that cash was required. So the morning of our check out when the taxi was due any minute we found out that cash was required. My poor husband ran quickly to the nearest ATM a few blocks away. Unfortunately the taxi had to wait on us due to the last-minute hassle. All in all, we would not have minded paying cash upfront upon check-in. However, this needs to be communicated better.

Overall, with some improved communication and new, insulated windows, this could be a great B&B.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank jill1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
godfrey h, Owner at Sjudoransj, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Jill

We are disappointed to hear that you did not have the kind of experience at Sjudoransj that we pride ourselves on. (Especially since we were on holiday during your stay and therefor did not have the opportunity to meet you personally).

Our building is indeed more than a 100 years old which unfortunately means that you would on the odd occasion be able to smell smoke if somebody was smoking a cigarette in front of the building
or hear people talking when they walk down the street.
Fortunately the cafe on the ground level is not a bar but a brunch room that is open for brunch over weekends and sometimes host private dinners in the evening.

Unfortunately you do not elaborate as to why you feel that Sjudoransj are not being run in a professional and organised manner. However, as far as the difficulty with payment is concerned, and without trying to shift any blame, was it not your obligation as guest to make sure that your understanding of our e-mail and our accepted method of payment was correct? We have personally never stayed in a B&B as small as Sjudoransj that accepted credit cards.

The above having been said we have pursuant to your complaint and despite the high cost associated therewith applied for a merchant licence to be able to accept credit cards as a method of payment in the future.

Kind regards

Godfrey & Dennis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Wow what a find!! Located in the perfect location for access to the centre of Amsterdam. The area it's located has lots of interesting shops and a multitude of cafés bars and restaurants. Our hosts were very welcoming and certainly helped to make out stay very enjoyable, with their knowledge of their fine city. Thank you Godfrey and Dennis.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This was by far my best b&b experience ever. Tasteful decoration, excellent location, wonderful breakfast, warm welcome, and the list goes on! Every bit of our stay a true delight. Consequently, I would recommend this place to anyone visiting Amsterdam who wants to do away from hotels!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandre G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was the greatest B&B experience I ever had. The host, Dennis, was warm and friendly. The room was lovely, stylish, clean and tidy. The bed was so comfortable and Dennis came and make up room every day.
If you are finding a place to stay in Amsterdam, Sjudoransj would definitely your choice and please don't forget their bed breakfast and fresh orange juice!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cblue_mm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#136 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Jordaan
Eelhouse B&B
Eelhouse B&B
#39 of 328 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Jordaan
WestViolet Bed & Breakfast
WestViolet Bed & Breakfast
#46 of 328 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Amphora Apartment
Amphora Apartment
#34 of 226 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Jordaan
Noordermarkt Apartments
Noordermarkt Apartments
#116 of 226 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 328 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sjudoransj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sjudoransj

Property: Sjudoransj
Address: Goudsbloemstraat 91/1, 1015 JK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 328 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Fresh orange juice ...good coffee...comfortable beds....fine linen...luxury bathrooms...fluffy towels...design...attention to detail...really nice hosts...deli breakfast...fresh flowers...affordable...privacy..." Sjudoransj is a new upmarket Bed and Breakfast situated in the middle of Amsterdam's buzzing Jordaan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sjudoransj reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing