We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hostel”
Review of Belushi's

Belushi's
Ranked #296 of 4,358 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$14
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating
Neighbourhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

After having many issues with the hostel next door (durty nellys), my bunk mate told me that Belushi's was a fun and hip hostel/restaurant/club that was confidently located next door. I had come in late, but they got me a bed in an all girls room. The sheets were clean and a new towel was provided each day, in addition to a soap bar and a plastic cup. There is also a hair dryer and straighten provided in the room for free! Not something I have ever come across. The shower was much nicer than Durty Nellys; there was plenty of hot water and a dry place to put clothes. The drain was not very efficient, so some water filled up in the bathroom. I would suggest bringing shower shoes, but that's the case anywhere you go. There are a lot of good drink deals for people staying in the hostels and being 21 it was easy to meet people my age. They give out free maps and the location is right in the middle of the red light district, so it's a few minutes walk from Dam Square where many tours leave from. For being in the middle of the action the bedroom was quite quiet and I had no problem sleeping. The wifi kind if sucks in the girls room, but you can get it right outside In the hallway. They have both an in door and out door place to smoke. They were very accommodating.

Thank Globetrotter232323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom N, Assistant Manager at Belushi's, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words! We are happy to read that you enjoyed yourself so much! - Belushi's Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

132 - 136 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

Firstly, the music in this bar is great if you love a mix of classic rock and grunge. However, I found the food a little disappointing. Both myself and my husband ordered burgers, oddly when the food arrived we weren't given a knife and fork, my husband had to queue at the bar while his food went cold to ask for the utensils. We also noticed that there were other customers having to do the same. You do get a mountain of chips with the burgers, which is great but overall my food seemed to be missing something. Also, there's no drinks menu and no cocktails which I was surprised by.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PerkyBoingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard P, Manager at Belushi's, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Hey there,

Thanks for taking the time to get back to us. We really appreciate your feedback and we can learn a lot from your experiences with us. Your ideas help drive the improvements we make in our bar and restaurant for the benefit of future guests.

We are very sorry that you were not brought cutlery with your burgers; this is completely our mistake and we sincerely apologise for the inconvenience. A lot of our regulars do like to get stuck in with their hands but we certainly appreciate that this does not suit everybody. We take great pride in our 100% Angus beef burgers and many consider them to be the best in town, which is why we were concerned to read that you felt something was missing. We would be very interested in getting some more feedback from you in this regard and will contact you directly for this.

Lastly, we were really pleased to see that you enjoyed the music in our bar. The management team here, and all the staff, are big music fans, and it really makes our day when we hear that our guests have enjoyed our soundtrack. We know that good tunes create a good atmosphere, and that can make all the difference to somebody’s visit.

Cheers for now,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We found this place on trip advisor and on our last day in the city we decided to give it a try. The place was busy and it took a while to find a table, but this must mean it's popular.
We each had a chicken burger and it was very good. The music is great - much better than the music played in other bars locally. There is a designated smoking area of the restaurant, which is closed off from the rest - very courteous! And the garden looks lovely, but it was raining when we went!
Reasonably price, good food and ideally located in the city.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PetaLou82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

myself and 7 others went twice here for food during our week long trip to Amsterdam purely because some member's of our group had been to the London and Edinburgh one.

Food is great and you get a great portion size at a great price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank browneyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard P, Manager at Belushi's, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Hey there,

Cheers for leaving us a nice little review. We appreciate the feedback and it's good to know what we're doing right ; )

Great that you've also been to other Belushi's the UK. Make sure you look us up if you end up in Barcelona, Paris or Berlin too. Same big portions at the same small price.

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We were staying at the attached hostel and for the first day we decided to try and go out and about to find the best places. Turned out we already had! At the weekends the bar is packed and has a great atmosphere and energy. During the day, sports on tv, the food is fantastic, nice sized beer garden and really friendly staff. Couldn't really ask for anything more. Plus an added bonus; if you are staying at the hostel, there are a load of drinks and food deals to take advantage. Really not a place to miss.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MrJames_IM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard P, Manager at Belushi's, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Hey there,

Thanks for taking the time to write us.

It's great to read that you went out and explored what the city had to offer but even better to read that you found out you already had everything you needed on your doorstep.

We actually have our great 2-for-1 beer and spirit specials on for everyone who passes through our door, but we go one step further and extend these promotions around the clock for our hotel guests.

Great to know you enjoyed the vibe,

Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Belushi's also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Belushi's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing